We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth the visit”
Review of Griggs Restaurant

Griggs Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 152 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Griggs' Restaurant is set in the heart of Cornish countryside and is adjacent to our Country Store. Offering a large dining area and cosy sofa's for a relaxed feel as well as the option to dine al fresco on our balcony while you enjoy some stunning rural views of the surrounding farmland. With ample free parking and good public transport links, access to the restaurant is via a short flight of stairs or by lift.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been in Griggs 3 times now when visiting family. I have not been disappointed by either the quality of the food nor the friendliness of the staff.
The last visit just before Christmas I had the Squash and pine nut rissotto, not a combination I would normally choose but I love rissotto, it was superb so I would certainly recommend trying something that you wouldn't normally choose you might be surprised!!.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank thecakemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and equally so that you enjoyed our rissotto. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 456 of 465 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have visited the Griggs Restaurant twice now, both times for light refreshments and out of the peak service times. Whilst I have no complaints whatsoever about the standard of the food, I think the service aspect needs a little fine tuning. It is peculiar to be shown to a table in an almost empty restaurant area, also, if you are going to offer waitress service, please make it clear to customers that they are then expected to make their way to the counter to pay, a system which I found odd when there were no less than four waitresses standing behind the counter doing their best to look busy whilst waiting for the lunchtime service to begin. This is not always easy as a parent trying to keep an eye on wayward toddlers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GB_75_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you did not completely enjoy your experience with us earlier this month. We appriciate your comments and have taken what you have said on board. We endeavour to show every customer to their table to offer a more personal service and offer table service consistantly throughout the day at our restaurant, whether busy or quiet. We hope this will not put you off dining with us again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We popped down to Griggs on the quiet Saturday evening between Christmas and New Year. Service was quick and the staff were very friendly. We shared a bread board and nachos between 3 of us and they were great size portions. The fish & chips and Thai prawn curry went down a treat and my brother's portion of macaroni cheese with wild mushroom topping was so generous that he couldn't finish it, despite trying. There was a good selection of puddings to choose from and the drinks were fantastic value for money. We'll be back next time we pop home for a weekend and we're looking forward to trying the Grigg's breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kernowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we really appriciate your lovely comments and are pleased you enjoyed your evening with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope you will enjoy our Cornish Breakfast which is served from 8 - 11am Monday to Saturday. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Visited today and ordered 2 burgers and a children's meal, the food was beautifully cooked and fresh and well worth the money, will definitely be having the burger again! Only downside was the speed of service, im guessing the demand was too much today. Took over half an hour for the mains, which wasn't ideal but ok. Unfortunately, we waited 30 more minutes for out daughters ice cream and had to ask for it twice (only because by this time she was getting restless and was screaming the place down. Not to the amusement of the other diners!) chefs seemed rushed off their feet. Can't fault the fault at all and the girls seeing we're great, but perhaps hire another chef? Anyways, we will be returning anyway as the burger was so good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are sorry to hear that you did not completely enjoy your visit with us. We endeavour to serve all our customers as quickly as we can, however on this busy day im sorry we did not quite meet your expectations of us. We have taken your comments on board and now serve all our ice creams from behind the counter as opposed to from the kitchen which has help speed up our dessert serve time. We appriciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Thought we'd try this place out as we'd heard good reports from friends. We were not disappointed. The menu is quite large and varied, prices are similar to other places in the area. I just had the ham, egg & chips, but the quality of the food was very good and the service was very prompt and friendly. There's also a good choice of drinks, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic.
A great place for a snack, full meal and/or just coffee & cake.
The one downside I can envisage is if it's really full as the ceiling is very high and the noise just reverberates, so could be quite noisy........ Having said that though will definitely return.
A big advantage is that it stays open all day from 08.00 through till 17.30 so you can have breakfast, brunch, lunch, and/or afternoon tea. At present, in addition to the day shift, it's only open Friday & Saturday evenings up to Christmas, but think that might change in the New Year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gogif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we really appriciate your comments. We try and keep our prices competitive, and as much of our menu is home made, it means that we can keep our prices lower. We currently open every Saturday until 11 (9 for food) and also offer a large evening Specials menu which is not offered during the day. Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griggs Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
Polgooth, St Austell
 

Been to Griggs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing