We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The local fish and chip shop”
Review of Holmbush Fishbar

Holmbush Fishbar
Ranked #55 of 149 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The local fish and chip shop”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

On the rare occasions when I have fish and chips, this restaurant is surprisingly good for takeaways. There is nowhere to sit and eat.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BennyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    20
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Busy”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Always a queue outside, but worth the wait fish and chips are very good. Staff work hard and always chatty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Serena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall -England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fish & Chips are great when hot and succulent! We are very disappointed . We have just had our second experience of warm soggy fish and chips from here - Advert states 'Freshly Cooked' but this perhaps means cooked an hour before and kept warm in cupboard until sold. Want to support you but why don't you only cook fish & chips to order between peak times. Giving out £30 worth of warm dried out fish is not going to enhance your trade or reputation because next time, unfortunately, means we will go somewhere else. Scampi (cooked to order) was hot and OK.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Englishweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“food”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

food always fresh and hot recommend to anybody you sometimes have to queue as it is so popular. keep up the good work

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacksamuelTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleurtuit, France
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Haddock, Super Scampi but rubbish Fish Cakes”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Been calling in here for years now though not on a particular regular basis as I don't live in the country but normally a couple of times each time I am. Normal fare is Haddock & Chips (with, of course, the obligatory mushy peas) but this time we went for the usual plus Scampi and I ventured for, as they looked really good, a fishcake. The Haddock was really well cooked and excellent. The batter was light and not at all greasy. The Scampi was a good portion (10pcs) and the mushy peas were tasty too. The fishcake however was a mistake. Completely tasteless, not seasoned and tasted more of bland potato than of fish. Was a shame and I'll certainly avoid them in future. Shows you that you need to believe the old motto, stick to what a place does best, so it'll be Haddock and/or Scampi & chips with mushy peas in future. Yes they're not cheap but then quality never is and gone are the days that fish & chips was the poor mans meal. A few years back 2 portions of Haddock & Chips and mushy peas cost £11,50 they now cost £14,10........... Not cheap but well worth the outlay..........

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gogif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holmbush Fishbar also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Holmbush Fishbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing