We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a massage here”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had a massage here”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Didn't actually stay at the hotel, but booked to have a full body massage at the spa there. Wasn't actually too expensive and it was very very relaxing, in a lovely large therapy room with a star-effect ceiling and the staff were very nice. From what I could see of the rest of the spa area (pool, gym etc), it was very very nice, with lots of nice touches to add a little luxury.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank wakingdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for leaving your review about your recent visit to our spa, i was very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. The twinkle light ceilings have been a great feature for our therapy rooms adding to the relaxing ambience of the spa. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel for a future visit, where hopefully you can explore more of the hotel and facilities available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    350
    116
    36
    25
See reviews for
272
784
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We got married here on 26th may 2014, bank holiday Monday. Everything went perfectly well on the day with the help of our excellent wedding planner (senior assistant manager) Marta Supranowicz who could not have been more helpful both on the day and in the run up. This is a fantastic venue for a wedding with the stunning sea views and the very helpful and friendly staff. The food was a very high standard with plenty of it and the fact that we were able to give our guest a choice of starter, main and dessert was a bonus.
We moved over to the golf club for our evening reception which continued with the excellent service and even better beautiful sea views.
We highly recommend this hotel for weddings as it totally made day extra special.
Thank you to all the management and staff involved

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulAmy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Firstly i would like to congratulate you both on your marriage; i was so pleased to hear that your recent wedding celebrations went perfectly well. Marta is extremely dedicated in ensuring each and every bride and groom have the day that they have always dreamed of. I know that Marta will be very touched to read your comments, as will the rest of the management and staff here at the hotel. We wish you both many happy years together and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for future celebrations. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The location is superb and was very close to the beach and city centre. We had a wonderful time all through our stay (7 nights). The food was delicious and service was great. We cannot fault the hotel and will definately recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
I was delighted to hear that you have had such a pleasant stay with us, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We were thrilled that you found no faults with the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014

It is not often a hotel can be described as caring, but when on my recent visit I arrived with a back injury, the staff were so kind, helpful and understanding that I must commend them. The hotel had families staying and yet there was so much to occupy the children that they were a pleasure to have around. The hotel facilities are excellent and everything in wonderful order.
A happy hotel full of happy customers. Excellent restaurant.
This is indeed a four star hotel, and the Brend Group of hotels, most of which I have been to are all well run and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: You don't need a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAW174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for such wonderful feedback, i was delighted to hear that you have been so well looked after during your stay with us. We aim to provide a great balance for our residents, with plenty for everyone to enjoy. Families are well catered for especially during the holiday periods when we have our supervised Funzone available, this also gives parents a fantastic opportunity to enjoy some peace and quiet in one of our relaxing lounge areas. Your reference to “A hotel full of happy customers” is very pleasing to read and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2014

A superb setting overlooking the bay with a stunning view but not ideal for a beach holiday as not so readily accessed as you may think and no amenities. We have visited this hotel several times and always found the staff friendly and exceptionally helpful, the food excellent, the hotel very clean and well maintained and always received a warm and friendly welcome with excellent leisure facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
I was delighted that you enjoyed the stunning views over the Bay, they are fantastic. Thank you for leaving your review. We do offer free buggy rides to our beach of Carlyon Cove, bucket, spades and fishing nets are all available down there and picnic lunches are available to purchase from the hotel, free picnics are available for children. There are also toilet facilities on site however there are no shops or restaurants. The reception team are always on hand to advise on local attractions, best beaches and popular restaurants. I was very happy to hear that you have always received a warm and friendly welcome here at The Carlyon Bay Hotel and we hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The position and traditional style of the hotel suggest that the experience of staying there will be exceptional but in fact there are a number of disappointing aspects which inevitably leave the impression that it is overpriced. Golfers have an advantage with the free daily round.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying when there are weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RicMar321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, the hotel is beautifully positioned and we are very lucky to have such a unique cliff top setting. I was disappointed to read that there were a number of disappointing aspects during your stay. Here at the hotel we have a very dedicated management team who will do whatever they can to ensure guests have a pleasant and memorable stay with us. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Carlyon Bay Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roldan, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel overlooks Carlyon bay near St Austell, the views are amazing and you can walk along the coastal path directly from the hotel. The whole hotel is kept in excellent order, especially the gardens where there is a small 9 hole pitch and putt golf course which is good fun and free to play. All the staff especially the restaurant staff are very friendly and can not do enough to make sure you are well catered for. The food was also of excellent quality and service was quick and efficient even when the restaurant was completely full.

We were only there for 2 nights mainly to play the golf course (also excellent), so did not see much of the surrounding area, in the evenings there was enough to do at the hotel (snooker, table tennis, entertainment).

The only negative was that we had a room with an interconnecting door to another room, and one night our neighbor's were chatting and watching tv until 1.30am, and we could literally hear every word.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not connected to another via an interconnecting door, it is like your neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Your feedback is very valuable to us, so thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was very pleased to read that you felt the hotel is kept in excellent order and i will be sure to pass your comments on about how well our gardens are kept to Neil, our gardener – he will be thrilled to hear this. The views from the hotel are stunning and if you want to get a even closer to the cliff edge the coastal paths provides fantastic walks, just 30 minute stroll to the port of Charlestown. Your comments with regards to your room will be passed onto our management team so we can make improvements where possible. Thank you for your wounderful comments and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing