We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long weekend break”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 24, 2014

returning visitor to the Carlyon bay hotel. hope to be there again in August if they have the right deal. Its a nice family run hotel in a great location to visit around Cornwall. Nice golf course too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Would definitely recommend this smart hotel. All staff very welcoming. Having decided upon a deluxe superior room was very disappointed to have a kingsize bed. Hubby and I fully expected a room of this standard to have a superking bed which we have at home and love. In hindsight we should have immediately rung down to reception to check if any rooms had larger beds which apparently some do. Loved the plentiful towels in bathroom. We love to enjoy a daily shower and wallow in the tub and it was a pleasure to have plentiful large dry towels. Loved the canapés that were delivered every evening before dinner and the chocs that appeared on our pillows when we returned after dinner. The pool in the spa was delightful and the water a lovely temperature. I had a couple of treatments which were great. Will definitely look out for another special deal in autumn.

Room Tip: Inner facing rooms are small but fine if you are passing through or going for the golf. Superior roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SteveZ9942VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Staff were all amazing ..waiters out of this world
was upgraded to so lovely sea view room.
Food was lovely and breakfast was amazing. Eyes bigger than my belly and when I ordered fish of the day for breakfast. Was surprised to get a lovely piece of perfectly cooked salmon. Loved it.
Spa was lovely and my partner had a full facial treatment for just over an hour and she said it was lovely.

only thing stopping it getting 5 stars was room had door separating us from room next door which a lot of hotels have ..but we were next to noisy drunk family which made me shout out ...SHUT UP!! once during the night. but didn't ruin the overall stay.
oh we would have liked some of those slippers so we could have used for the Spa.
perhaps we should have just asked as saw people wearing them.

Room Tip: ask for room which doesn't open up into bigger room for families..in case you get noisy neighbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stuart Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

A most comfortable and homely hotel, with friendly, well-trained and attentive staff.

The room we have had on each of our last 3 visits was most comfortable and well appointed.

The dining room is comfortable, bu depending on the table allocation can be either too close or cooped-up behind screens.

Food in the main dining room is good, but predictable: breakfast is the best meal of the day.

The lounge area is most comfortable, and gives plenty of opportunity to meet other guests, who by-and-large are interesting to talk to.

However, the hotel is, first, a golfing hotel, and any non-golfer guest must be prepared for the loud replay of holes won or lost that day, as each hole is analysed by each member of the many groups of people that that have come to the hotel solely to play golf.

The hotel's tariff has increased considerably over the years, and I believe it will lose many regular guests who are not golfers.The cost includes a free game of golf on each day of their stay, with no reduction for a non golfing spouse who accompanies him/her.

There are many holidays available for considerably less than the rate charged by the Carlyon Bay, and it could well be possible that purchasers will take the viewpoint that to travel such a long distance to an expensive hotel is not as attractive as the many alternatives that are on offer, both in the UK, the Channet Isles and the near continent, as well as the many cruises that seem to be gaining in popularity recently.

This is a pity! I felt comfortable at the Carlyon.

To sum up, in spite of my negative comments, The Carlyon Bay Hotel is worth recommending to any potential guest.

Perhaps I have reached the age when I have lost the excitement in going to hotels that don't give me the comfort and feeling of well -being that I can have by staying in my own home

Val B

Room Tip: Sea-views are good; and we like spacious and comfortable accommodation. But, if you do not intend s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The accommodation was very overpriced, we had a small room that was smaller than some rooms you would expect in London. Restaurant was very good. Bar could do with more staff as waited for bar food and drinks for an hour

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murraysk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here last year and paid for a superior room with access to a balcony which was shared with several other rooms, lovely views over Carlyon Bay and the manicured lawns of the hotel. The hotel room was however rather underwhelming for the enormous £300 per night price tag. Quite small but nice and bright with large windows overlooking the same sea view as the balcony, small TV small bathroom and all a bit dated and well used. Restaurant was sumptuously decorated and furnished and quite suited the old British Empire golfing types who were dining there, breakfast was good too as was the service provided. All round a pleasant stay only marred by the cost of the room, stayed in much better for half the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b1ggv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Overall, we enjoyed our stay over Easter, subject to the caveats below. We are long-standing clients of the hotel, love the location, and have never had a disastrous experience, but then one shouldn't, for the prices charged! The rooms were all spotless and the food pretty good, though the wine list is tired and in need of upgrade (if u do enjoy your wine, despite the impressive, leather-bound list, the choice is limited and some of the vintages poor years; something i've raised before). The single rooms the children stayed in passed muster and we thought decent value for money; one of which had access to the terrace. Rather oddly, the State Room, in which my wife and i stayed and the dearest room in the hotel, has no terrace access, and no reserved parking. In fact, the only perk is a 20% discount on wines over £40 a bottle, from the (tired) wine list, so we thought it average value for money.

The bigger disappointment however was being locked out of the Golf Club and changing rooms, after completing our game, at before 7.30pm, in broad daylight. We had to wait around 15 - 20 mins for the clubhouse to be re-opened, after ringing the hotel. This has happened to me before, over the years, around Easter time, and it is disappointing for both hotel guests & members alike. I was offered a bottle of wine gratis, apologies for the inconvenience and told this would not happen again, but have been told this before. Finally, my bill, which was not insubstantial, required a number of re-counts, due to incorrect charges; again, this happened to me last year, when an error caused the hotel to attempt an over-charge by about £500, after we had settled the bill rendered, and left ! This was dropped subsequently & an apology offered (though no discount, or goodwill gesture beyond that). We also suffered very slow service at breakfast on 2 of the 3 days we stayed, with long waits of 20-25 mins for toast, tea & coffee. Thus, as a long-standing and regular patron of the hotel, i am still a fan on balance, but find attention to detail poor, for a hotel priced at this level. If you are all keen golfers, the hotel is better value for money, of course.

Room Tip: Rooms over the dining area on the 1st floor are a little noisy. Rooms in the wings quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,400 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $186 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing