We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place !!”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just come back from another New Year break at the Carlyon Bay Hotel and had a fabulous time. We have been to the hotel many times and it just seems to always do it right. It is such a comfortable place to stay for the whole family. The food is excellent, the staff just can't do enough for you and they treat the children as real paying guests which makes a pleasant change from many hotels we have stayed in. The new year entertainment is great and there is loads to do for the entire family. The golf course is very well maintained and the views are spectacular. I struggle to fault the hotel and it is a credit to the Brend family and hotel management that they have created such a gem of a hotel to stay in. We will be going back without a doubt and well worth the 5.5 hours drive from Essex.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed overnight on 28th December. My husband asked for an upgrade because our pool facing view was not the most picturesque at this time of year. The hotel obliged and we were not disappointed with our dual aspect view of the sea. Both rooms however were lovely, albeit the first had a kingsize bed and the later twin beds that were joined and were a bit annoying if I'm being brutally honest. The hotel was decorated lovely and was very festive. Meals were lovely, staff were friendly and the spa was most welcome after the Christmas stresses! Would love to return sometime...

Room Tip: Would advise booking a sea facing room to maximise experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoubyCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Carlyon Bay is a very good hotel. For the price it ought to be. We stayed recently, and it was all extremely good. The room was immaculate, comfortable and well equipped with a lovely seaview, which would be stunning in the Summer.
We used the pool and sauna etc which was all top quality and very pleasant.
The dining room tastefully decorated for Christmas complemented the excellent food.
The staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble, and they are all very friendly and efficient in all areas.
An excellent experience.
We found out that these top notch staff, who are such a credit to this hotel, worked very long hours at Christmas and were not paid a penny extra for working 9 hours plus on Christmas Day. Most are on minimum wage as well I expect. Considering what this hotel charges over the festive period, I find this very mean indeed.
Shame on you Brend Hotels. These people are the lifeblood of your business and to treat them so shabbily at Christmas, its a miracle they are loyal to you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badcat110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time with us over the Christmas period, however I do feel I must correct one of the points that you made. I would agree that our staff are our biggest asset and we are very lucky in having so many key people in our team. We do have a special Christmas payment scheme in place, in that any of our people working on Christmas and Boxing Day receive an additional day’s holiday for both days fully paid, which is in effect double time payment. You may also be relieved to know that all of our staff rates of pay are indeed above the minimum wage.
Although from the outside perspective the concept of working Christmas can seem alien, it is very much part of a working life within the hospitality industry, something which all staff in the industry are aware of and except as part of their day to day work. Whereas the work can be challenging, as you have experienced there was a great atmosphere and enjoyment to which hotel staff are part of.
Because of the working commitments our round of Christmas cheer happened before the main Christmas day. On the 17th December all the staff were invited to attend the Staff Christmas party including a meal, drinks and entertainment, and in addition received a lovely gift from the company (this amounts to 1200 people throughout the group).
I do hope this sets the record straight for you as we never like to think the reputation of the company is questioned in any way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Carlyon bay hotel sells itself as the best hotel in Cornwall. All I can say is that it can't have much competition. The hotel itself is very nice with a superb location. The staff are wonderful and you do get the feeling that nothing is too much for them. Although we had dinner paid for, the menu wasn't great so we ended up paying for something else anyway. In a way I'm glad we did as the food was excellent. The room was sold as a "Superior" but it's just the same as you would get at a motorway service area. The bed was comfy, the room clean so I can't grumble. Our daughters booked my wife and I a room as a Christmas present and we were over the moon with it. However, if it were my own money and choice I know there are better hotels in Cornwall so I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights on 13th and 14th December with a group of friends for a Christmas Party weekend. The hotel was very clean and rooms were comfortable with everything we needed. We had experienced a slight problem with the booking of the rooms, each couple seemed to be quoted different deposit amounts and final total amounts, but this was sorted by one of our party to everyones satisfaction. The first night of our stay we dined in the Taste brasserie and we had a lovely meal with first rate service, would highly recommend eating here.
Breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly. The second night was a prebooked meal followed by a party, again the meal was very good and the evening was a pleasant one.
We fully enjoyed our weekend stay. The only problem encountered was one of our party seemed to get another rooms drinks added to their bill on the party night which took a lot of sorting out when booking out. Other than this a good stay all round.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Only stayed one day, but will come back again, superb hotel cannot fault anything. Room ,service,food,staff,spa,location all top line. Loved it. If you are in to golf you should try this hotel.
Brian C

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Booked and paid for a side sea view, arrived in our room and the sea was nowhere to be seen! After a word with management we were moved to a beautiful superior room with a dual aspect sea view.
Dinner, breakfast and service was exceptional.
Pool and spa facilities were very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AD1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.6 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,436 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $177 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing