We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb setting. A bargain for the golfer.”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A lovely setting, generally helpful staff except dining room, excellent breakfast, free WIFI....... but a few niggles stop it being a 5 star rating on this occasion.


These are:
1. Really hard pillows, despite guff in the hotel information about superb pillow options. I asked for a change but the new ones were no better.
2. Spa was excellent with really nice pool, but very pokey men's changing room
3. No flexibility over where to sit in the restaurant and although we were with 3 other people we could not sit with them for Sunday breakfast despite asking.
4.Paid an extra £20 per night for sea view but windows were small and given it was winter this was not worth it. Room was not big enough to sit in to admire the view anyway
5.Some agro in the booking process about the deposit that had been paid, which had to be sorted out and took time to do so.

The price included a round of golf a day, which we did not use and full use of the Spa, which I used for half and hour. If one were to make full use of these and had an inland room for £65 pp. per night then it would be a bargain, and certainly 5 star, despite the niggles.

Room Tip: It is not worth paying the extra for a sea view if you go in winter and are out during the day. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeCoucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family has been coming to the Hotel for over 25 years and myself 15. Every time we come to stay it feels like a second home, the staff are brilliant and the food is exceptional! From the moment you arrive at the hotel you are greeted by wonderful staff who treat you like royalty. The whole of the Carlyon Bay staff are brilliant and the hotel is a pleasure to stay in!

Room Tip: A sea view just makes those early mornings beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack_lawry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been before and have found the staff most welcoming. We had a blip this time when we arranged a family visit for my parents 60th Anniversary, they wanted all 6 of us to accompany them but after we had booked it our son had to postpone. They didn't make us feel uncomfortable about it at all and rearranged it for a different weekend. We had a fantastic weekend and my Parents were made to feel special. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

As you arrive and are greeted with a warm smile from the doorman in the pouring rain you know that you are going to be looked after the rooms were lovely and warm the breakfast is very hot and plenty of choice !! In the evening you had choice of restaurants and bars the golf course is superb then of course you have the spa and swimming pool very good

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank SeanGills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This visit was just for lunch and afternoon tea and we chose Carlyon because it is always so reliable both in terms of service and comfort and the quality of the food. The comfort remains and the lunch was of a reasonable quality but the service, apart from the porters whose impeccable courtesy and welcome never fails, felt much less personalised than usual, particularly at tea-time. It was fairly difficult to attract a waiter or waitress's attention to take our order and when we did, the young waitress was not particularly helpful and the 'Victorian Sponge' that we all ordered was in fact a very sweet and creamy gateau. We left with our usual high opinion of the Carlyon slightly tarnished, sadly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

From the time we got there we were treated very well. The staff were excellent, especially the porter Barry who was faultless. Bar was fine. The restaurant was busy on the Saturday night, food was well cooked and very tasty. The mussels were fab :) Recommend staying there, will definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pdub456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have been visiting the Carlyon Bay Hotel for over 20 years as part of a golfing society and privately as a couple. It never disappoints, but where the actual rooms are concerned, you do get what you pay for. The rooms at the back of the building (sea view) are considerably better than those at the front (overlooking the car-park). The views from the back rooms are stunning all along the coast line and these rooms appear to be larger and better equipped - but obviously cost more. Probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in where cleanliness/housekeeping is concerned.

All staff are helpful and efficient and considering the numbers the waiting staff had to serve over the last weekend (golfing society) they coped fantastically well with politeness, good humour and efficiency. Food was up to its usual high standard with imaginative and tasty dishes, but I do feel the Amuse Bouche course is perhaps a little too adventurous with so many diners. It is very difficult for waiting staff to get through so many large tables - and the Amuse Bouce course just seems to take up so much time - wonderful for individual guests but not so for such large parties. Only a personal view.

Food in the golf club house is marvellous and the staff are friendly and welcoming. If guests play golf, Carlyon Bay is exceptionally good value for money as there are no green fees. What you save could easily be spent in the 2 wonderfully stocked pro shops - especially the ladies!!

This really is a comfortable and friendly hotel where one can sit for ages in the lovely lounge just enjoying doing nothing, admiring the view or passing the time of day.

Entertainment provided at weekends (Friday and Saturday) is usually very good - the acts do seem to play to their audience rather than just what they want to do. 11.00 p.m. cut off at does seem a bit early - maybe 11.30 would be more acceptable to people wanting the entertainment and those who have retired to their rooms. In all the years we have been visiting, (and we have had different rooms), we have never had any problem with noise from the entertainment area - and it did used to go on later than 11.00 p.m.

It is such a pity the beach is still in such a mess. Whoever is responsible for the fact that the beach has looked like a building site for at least 10 years now, needs to get their act together and return this area to what is should be, i.e. a beautiful Cornish beach, not millionaire style appartments totally inappropriate for the surroundings. The mess is a hideous eye-sore and so disappointing for visitors who have never seen the beach as it was/should be. Fortunately the beach cannot be seen from the hotel.

Carlyon Bay is a lovely comfortable base from which to visit other parts of Cornwall. There are so many sea-side towns/villages or in-land attractions - just a weekend is not enough. The head door-man, John, is fantastic - helpful, friendly and a font of all knowledge.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are stunning and worth the extra for longer stays. Avoid rooms in centre - by lift, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
15.3 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $146 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing