We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand hotel with a wonderful welcome”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent a few days in Cornwall recently and my birthday was spent at the Carlyon Bay hotel. The position is perfect and from the moment you are greeted by the friendly doorman you really feel at home. The furnishings in all the rooms are luxurious and the views spectacular.
The food is delicious and reasonably priced and the facilities are second to none. I even got a candle in my bread roll to mark my birthday.
The staff are all really friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The indoor pool is quite a good size but not as big as the outdoor one. The Spa treatment range is extensive.
In summing up the hotel I would thoroughly recommend it for a memorable stay in sumptuous but slightly faded grandeur.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UTFDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,277 - 1,283 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay in the West Country and stumbled on the Carlyon Bay Hotel by chance. We had not booked but were lucky enough to find that there was accommodation available. Although only staying for a couple of nights we found the hotel amazing value for money. The staff from start to finish in all areas of the hotel were the most helpful and obliging you could ever meet. The food in the taste restaurant exceeded our expectations but unfortunately we did not get time to eat in the Main restaurant but I am sure if the breakfast was anything to go on, this would also be great. The room we had with a sea view was spotlessly clean and spacious and the 'turn down' touch at night was lovely.
We will definitely be returning to the hotel for a longer stay where we can enjoy the amenities that we did not have time to on this occasion.

Room Tip: Sea View Room well worth any extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

food golf spa all excellent fantastic value we were very lucky with the weather we will be going back if you are a golfer a very testing coarse but views to die for staff very friendly and helpfull hotel fells like 5 star iv stayed at some well known hotels not in the same class but the price is a lot more

Room Tip: upgrade for not to much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dealerw188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is not just in a great location it is a pleasure to stay there, the staff are friendly, genuine and helpful especially the lovey doorman in his top hat and tails!!! There is a pleasant pool and spa area. All the rooms are clean and modern. You even get a turn down service at night with a chocolate on your pillow!! There are a couple of nice places to eat which are a little pricey but the food is of a high standard. Breakfast is plentiful and freshly cooked. It's a winner in my book.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank stormtwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

First I was surprised how beautiful that place were. Unforzunately it was a very Old School Place. Us was not allowed to eat in the Restaurant because we dis not wear any tie/suit. Then we had to eat in a dark Pub-like room there with a another Menu. The Food was not really Good and the People there looked like from a catalogue from the 50s. It is a Residence for Old People and only few were under 65. the Hotel wants to be a deluxe five star hotel but it definitively is not! I was very sad to have choosen that hotel. I was very disappointey by that garden (a small place with only one little flower), the terrace (only few tables) and mostly by the service (they were very unkind and arrogant). The only consilation was the view over the bay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grigeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, however I must say I am surprised by some of your comments. To hear that you were very disappointed by our small garden with only one little flower, I am unsure as to whether you have reviewed the correct hotel. The Carlyon Bay Hotel is set in 250 acres of private grounds and gardens and this year we have planted over 3000 bedding plants.
The dress code for the Bay View restaurant was relaxed over 12 months ago, ties and suit jackets are not essential however we do not permit any sportswear or ripped denim. Alternative relaxed dining is provided in our Taste Brasserie or our Green Bar. The table d’hôte menu from the Bay View restaurant is also available in the Green Bar.
Your review will be discussed with our management team, we appreciate customer feedback and find it an integral part of our staff training. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

just had a very enjoyable stay (weekend of june 7th) at the Carlyon Bay Hotel St.Austell, very friendly arrival, greeting, and efficient reception staff, the hotel facilities of golf, spa, tennis indoor and outdoor swimming pools are superb. dining has always been good but this trip the food exceeded our expectations it was marvelous. take advantage of the weekend specials, Wonderful cliff top location with stunning views.Highly recommended.unhealthy breakfast but generally decent

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retailfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Found almost by accident by my parents a few years ago we (3 couples) spent a long weekend at the hotel at the beginning of June. We had a wonderful time. The hotel itself, the setting, the food, the facilities all excellent but all beaten by the staff. They were all delightful and some despite being very young displayed an unexpected maturity. A very big thank you to everyone there for helping make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
4.6 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $180 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing