We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Quality Family Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Quality Family Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Found almost by accident by my parents a few years ago we (3 couples) spent a long weekend at the hotel at the beginning of June. We had a wonderful time. The hotel itself, the setting, the food, the facilities all excellent but all beaten by the staff. They were all delightful and some despite being very young displayed an unexpected maturity. A very big thank you to everyone there for helping make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    337
    107
    35
    25
See reviews for
259
754
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

just had a very enjoyable stay (weekend of june 7th) at the Carlyon Bay Hotel St.Austell, very friendly arrival, greeting, and efficient reception staff, the hotel facilities of golf, spa, tennis indoor and outdoor swimming pools are superb. dining has always been good but this trip the food exceeded our expectations it was marvelous. take advantage of the weekend specials, Wonderful cliff top location with stunning views.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerB730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a gorgeous place to stay! The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. The hotel had a lovely 1920's elegance about it and the views from the back go the hotel are gorgeous. The leisure facilities are good with heated beds, sauna, jacuzzi a lovely outdoor pool overlooking the gardens. I also recommend having a facial- they are excellent! We wish we had taken the children with us as there was so much for them to do and enjoy. There's croquet on the lawn and we had a delightful afternoon tea! In the evening there was a pianist and several couples danced. We ate in the Taste restaurant and the food was some of the best we've had!
We had a beautiful stay as a couple but I would also recommend it for families.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms on the first floor are lovely. It is a shared balcony but the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Have just returned home after some days away. Carlyon Bay Hotel was one of the hotels we stayed at during our `wander' through Devon and Cornwall. We aim to stay at the hotel at least once each year and have done so for many years. It never fails to please. Standards are as high now as years ago. Meals, rooms and service are excellent and its position on the clifftop is unparalleled. I can't see how anybody could find anything to complain about. Having a golf course to hand has always been a plus point for my husband, and I'm quite content, nowadays, to relax in the hotel using their facilities and reading the paper from cover to cover.

Room Tip: We always sleep like logs at Carlyon so would be unable to say which room was better than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The spa at Carlyon Bay Hotel is excellent and well run by Jill. She is lovely and all the staff are friendly. The massage I had from Jill was superb and my husband also had a nice massage from one of the other staff. The facilities at the spa are clean and it has good facilities.
The hotel itself was average and over priced we thought. The rooms are tiny and the walls are paper thin and we could hear conversations in the next room and when someone went into the room next door we got a fright each time as we thought someone was coming into our room. We paid extra for a sea view and were disappointed that the photos on the website had somehow misrepresented the view we felt. The sea view was nice but you had to look over a mini golf course first. Our room was above the cafe and even although we were on the second story the noise coming up from guests sitting outside was loud and unwelcome. Some of the restaurant staff were really good and others were somewhat unfriendly although the service overall was good. The reception staff were also formal and not very friendly. The spa was excellent and well worth a visit however.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not above the cafe and one that is not adjoined to another room via a locked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thejohnnyyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, i was very pleased to hear such wonderful feedback on our spa, i will be sure to pass your comments onto Jill and her team who work very hard maintaining a high level of cleanliness and service for our residents. You comments with relation to your room have been taken into account and we value your feedback. We are always looking at way of improving the level of standards that we deliver.
We hope do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have been regular visitors for some years and on each visit we find the hotel improved in some small way. Our children (now aged 5 and 11 years) enjoy all of the amenities and activities. My wife and I enjoy being pampered and eating well. We like the balance achieved in welcoming and entertaining children without the feeling that the hotel in a child's activity centre. Some family hotels seem to be dominated by too many noisy children. The Carlyon Bay is perfect. Staff are excellent, always friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely but our family enjoy a small double with an adjoining small bedroom with bunk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

stayed in the hotel mid May with French friends. Despite emails prior to visit my friends were not given a sea view room but after discussion and 30 minutes of waiting this was put right. This should not have happened. Staff vary from wonderful to non commital. Reception is very good, rooms are clean as expected in a hotel of this calibre. But although I have travelled extensively with my job its the first time that I had a room where the phone was out of order, other sloppy things like no emplacement laundry bags. However Restaurant is outstandingly excellent, food and service first rate. Service in the lounge varies from very good to poor and slow. Spa is wonderful but the staff are completely disinterested - never present nor helpful; we the guests worked out how use the jacuzzi and helped each other. You get the feeling at this hotel that it needs a really on the ball maitre d'hotel. Beautifully situated and overall when you first arrive its wonderful but there are definite management flaws unfortunately. Would I recommend it and would I return ? - with reservation I would recommend it (restaurant certainly it is excellent) and yes I would return but would be clear stipulating what I want. Its a pity because it could be excellent but it needs to get its act together

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea if possible - view is wonderful and we foudn the rooms very quiet. I was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
It is excellent to read such wonderful feedback with regards to our restaurant and food. I was also very pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our spa facilities. However I do apologise for any inconvenience you may have been caused on check in and I am glad that this was resolved quickly for you. However we cannot guarantee complimentary upgrades at the hotel, we would always advise pre booking your required room type. Your feedback will be passed onto our staff, as we are always looking for ways of improving the level of service we deliver.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing