We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Break”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 13, 2013

stayed for a 2 day break,1st & 2nd. May on Spring Deal D.B.B. Room very clean & comfortable ,rear facing ,quiet.Hotel facilities are very good,especially the pool & spa.Dinner in the main restaurant was very good,however despite dress code being "smart casual"some male diners felt that it did not apply to them! Why are they allowed in when not complying ?Sheer arrogance & disrespect to the majority!Breakfast was buffet format,good choice & managed by a chef to keep selections fresh.Well kept gardens & grounds with superb sea view.Overall, a very enjoyable short break,& would certainly return despite "casual"diners!

Room Tip: Consider upgrade to sea view if weather good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davieslyndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,304 - 1,310 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just stayed for two nights in this hotel. On approach it looks a bit drab but the doorman complete with hat coming out to the car park to assist with luggage soon reassures. We were visiting family so didn't eat here or use the spa. But on check in we found our room was on the first floor with access to one of those communal balconys. Now!! This may be some people's cup of tea....doors opening onto communal patio area and people on patio able to see in your room if you haven't pulled the venetians!! Not our idea of privacy AT ALL. I am still unsure in my travels why hotels do this?! To me it just seems wrong. However we mentioned this issue ...plus..the bed was joined as a double and we had requested a twin. In a heartbeat it was sorted....another room 302 with front and side view found and we settled in....bed arranged to be separated whilst we were out. Third floor more private all round. I should say we were told we were in a sea view deluxe and the room was clean and great facilities but both were on the small size for a deluxe.
When we left to go out on Saturday night I left a note for the housekeeper that I was cold and had recently had surgery. When I got back the room was toasty warm and a stand alone radiator had been put in th room and was on.....fantastic service...thank you. Also had room service drinks twice and each time arrived within minutes. The staff are fantastic at delivering service...I noticed this throughout ....can't be faulted....and ......a star itself has been given for the gold star 'ritz' standard customer service as follows! On the last night a Sunday my blackberry died on me and I realised I hadn't got a charger. We spent a happy hour trying to find a 24 hour supermarket which was actually open 24 hours in cornwalland failed! Dejected and concerned re our drive the following day without communication my husband casually asked the room service waiter if there was such a thing as a blackberry charger in the hotel. He reappeared within minutes.....with a charger we could use overnight!!!! So ....gold star....a blackberry charger being delivered to the room at 11pm on a Sunday night............I think that sums up the personal service offered here. Give it a go and avoid balcony if you are a private person and I can't see many problems here......give it a go!! It only lost a point due to the rooms being small for deluxe category and we would have upgraded but it wasnt suggested and we were told these were the biggest in the hotel so if room 302 is one of the biggest they are all quite small!!!service OUTSTANDING.

Room Tip: Floor one with low window sills to enhance th eview mean you are fully visible to walkers. Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normajeanNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Worth paying the extra for a deluxe sea facing room however beware if you have a first floor room (especially 107) on a Friday or Saturday that the evening entertainment is just below and is very loud. Good choice of restaurants, food is well presented and tasty, excellent service and rooms very clean and to high standard. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPRtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice rooms, comfortable beds, spotless, great views all make this a nice place to stay. Reception staff not over- helpful and a request for a few postcards of the hotel to send to friends was refused unless I paid for them! Don,t think they realise the importance of customer service and free publicity in the digital age!
Nice golf course and excellent tuition from the resident Pro.

Room Tip: Sea view is worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksFizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the carlyon bay hotel as a birthday and anniversary treat. Upgraded to a sea view room which was really lovely with views across to the gribben and rope haven. The effort of the walk up to the gribben from menabilly is worth the trek even in extremely windy conditions! Back at the hotel the staff were friendly and helpful. Having Llewelyn helping us choose wine at dinner was great fun! The pool was relaxing as were the heated stone loungers which we dozed off on! A massage in the spa was another treat. We found there were guests of all ages not just older guests. The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. We would have loved to have been staying longer! Take a look at the folder detailing the hotels history - really interesting!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room! Third floor rooms will keep you fit!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have recently returned from a short stay at the Carlyon Bay and it was worth every penny for our stay. The location is great, food lovely and service second to none. We felt very well treated and all staff were most attentive. We slept well, ate well and felt totally relaxed - what more can you ask for??

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidabsummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

nice restaurant, lovely views, friendly staff and good service, was dissapointed that there was no price on the T.D.H. Menu so did not know how much it was going to be until we got the bill, food was good but desserts are overpriced at 9 pound each, especialy the fruit salad as it was so small. probably wont be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank adam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
4.6 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $180 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing