We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated or was it me?”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sticklepath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A bit dated or was it me?”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Not quite right for me. Old building, recently refurbished room, but was a bit put out when being asked to pay before seeing the room. They already had a credit card number so was there the need, then they charged the wrong price! Nice receptionist was sorting it out when some guy in the office chipped in about having been given a free room upgrade and this sometimes is the reason. Hadn't been given a free upgrade, so even more put out. Breakfast good, nice sea views, good afternoon teas but I guess they didn't do it for me.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GFM_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    344
    113
    35
    25
See reviews for
266
770
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just had a weekend break here and it was first class. Rooms appear to have been renovated since our last visit a couple of years ago and we fresh and comfortable, we had a lovely sea view. All the staff were helpful and charming, it was half term and busy but nevertheless dining was enjoyable and the food delicious, even the hotel manager was serving in the restaurant both evening! We had a complimentary round of golf on their amazing course, nippy but worth it for the views. Not the cheapest place to stay but overall we felt it reasonable value.

Room Tip: It's worth extra for a seaview room, all rooms are not huge but comfortable, I realise the reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggiegolferws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a real gem of a hotel, me and my partner stayed in one room, my mother and sister in law in another. There is ample parking at this hotel which was brilliant, I was pregnant at the time and the thought of having to park elsewhere and drag the bags was somewhat daunting!

Check in was smooth and fast, we and my in laws were appointed rooms on the same floor which was very convenient and we were helped with the bags which I always think is a great service.
The room was large and spacious, but was right next to the lift and main stairwell and because I'm a light sleeper I asked if me and my partner could be moved the next day - this was sorted quickly and without a fuss, the lady at reception was incredibly understanding and polite which was a joy. The room she did explain was admittedly smaller, but oddly I preferred it, it was a lovely room with lots of character, beautiful colour scheme and well away from the main stairwell and lifts! My in laws room was further down the hall and lovely also.

The bar is beautiful and serves the most delicious cream teas. I also had a spa treatment tailored for mums to be which was gorgeous, and the therapist was lovely.
The main restaurant has won awards and you can see why, the food is stunning. Breakfast is great eggs done to order, which was wonderful as I was quite paranoid when pregnant! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff!

Pool is great, well maintained and in the summer months there's an outdoor one too!

There is the odd bit of evening entertainment too which I think is a nice touch and we never had any problems with any noise because of it.

It really is a beautiful hotel, with cracking staff and a lovely setting. Would love to return!

Room Tip: Do ask to be put away from the main stairwell. Rooms at the front of the hotel have the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

this hotel is a gem the staff are very good the food is to rooms are very clean the view from are room was amazing the room 114 duchess suite good for kids if you want to see fowey mevagissey
eden thiss is the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

February is not the ideal time for a holiday in England. However, we spent three days D B & B at this excellent hotel which enjoys a fine location on the cliffs overlooking St Austell Bay. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and conducted to a third floor room, which appeared to have been recently refurbished and overlooked the sea. The food was of a very high quality and accompanied by a wide rangeing wine list. Canned music in the public rooms was a little overpowering at times

The standard of care and service at this hotel is what we have come to expect from a Brend hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel is well placed for visits to the Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan. Charles Town is wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelt0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent a two-night DB&B break here having been recommended by family. The accommodation was superb, all the staff totally professional, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are decorated to a high standard and the food was high quality with great choice. The weather was not too kind to us but the Pool, Spa and treatments made up for this. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Book rooms away from the Spa end inland facing as the A/C goes all night. We were kindly upgraded t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljk341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here during the post Christmas period for the 4th year out of 5. The staff are very helpful. The food is excellent and the rooms are warm and very comfortable. We love the swimming pool and spa area. The whole expierence is so relaxing. We love the walk to Charlestown (take your boots if in winter) and the beach is nearby.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the winter the inland facing rooms are more sheltered as the sea view rooms do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
644 reviews
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
17.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing