We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
677 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just spent a lovely Dinner Bed and Breakfast break at the Carlyon Bay Hotel, St Austell.

The rooms were immaculate and the maid service impeccable. Our choice of food was impressive, well cooked and presented. This was a wonderful break (despite the weather) thanks to all the staff and the environs of the hotel, including the inclusive use of the Spa.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms obviously are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    333
    105
    35
    25
See reviews for
255
745
29
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent a wonderful few days at this hotel recently and would recommend it to anyone. The staff were the friendliest I have come across and the service, impeccable. The food was gorgeous and they have 3 different restaurants but I only eat in the Bay view restaurant which was a smart and beautifully decorated room with lovley views of the sea.
My room was clean up to date and spotless, with a good variety of teas/coffee and choc with good biscuits too! I had a massage in the spa which was very nice, and the pool was a lovely temperature and a good size.
Thank you to all at the Carlyon Bay hotel for my wonderful few days and for making me feel very special while I was there!
Well done
Thank you to

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the bay so that was 209 and I would recommedn that side of the hotel, altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed in the Duchess Suite, while attending a wedding elsewhere in St Austel. Staff were very pleasant and welcoming and nothing was to much for them. Would highly recommend this hotel for a quality peaceful stay, great views across the bay and fantastic standard of service.

Room Tip: upgrade to Duchess or executive see view suites as they are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonbelgraviaplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a lovely two night stay at this hotel, and wow-wee it's beautiful!!!! From the moment you step through the front for you are greeted friendly, welcoming and helpful staff from the concierge, the receptionists, waiters and waitresses even the house keeping staff we eager to chat and make you feel welcome. I have visited Brenda hotels before and I would say this if by far the best! They pull out all the stops and nothing is too much. Every tiny detail is carried out perfectly and effortlessly. The room was spacious with THE most comfy bed ever! We had a sea facing room and the view was truly breath taking. The weather was pretty iffy while we were there but even that didn't ruin the scenery. Make sure you spend a least one afternoon in the spa as its beautiful and the staff again are so friendly and helpful, and from the moment you step foot in there, you immediately feel relaxed and calm,
The food in the restaurant was second to none. We were on room breakfast and dinner which allowed us to try out the divine four course menus in the evening! One word AMAZING! The breakfast is set up as a buffet so you can help yourself to allow for a quick service. They also offer a more relaxed service and are happy to serve you at the table if you prefer.
All the staff was caring and attentive and catered to every need we had. Would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking to explore st Austell, and we will be returning in the summer months!

Room Tip: If you can get a sea facing room. Although it can get a little stuffy when the sun hits the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slemilliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. I was greeted by the friendly and helpful concierge, and found the reception staff checking me in and out were pleasant and efficient, if not overly friendly. The hotel seemed very plush, and I was delighted that my small but comfortable single room had a lovely sea view. The room was spotlessly clean, so a big thanks to the cleaners. I was also delighted to find that the room service breakfast included fried bread and baked beans among the other various ingredients that you could select. The breakfasts were delicious and delivered on time by very courteous and pleasant staff. Also, they delivered exactly what I ordered. My usual experience with room service breakfasts elsewhere is that, usually at least one item of food ordered isn't there, or there's some cutlery or condiments missing, etc etc,, so I was delighted with the care taken here !
Overall then, a lovely stay. My only niggles were, firstly, that when I arrived at the hotel for the first time ever, it was dark, and there didn't seem to be any illuminated hotel sign, and, as a result,I ended up driving in to the rather cramped golf club forecourt nearby, but I eventually found the hotel. Also, the bedroom walls seemed rather thin - I could hear the televisons from adjoining rooms. Also, any guests or cleaners chatting in the hallway could also be heard very clearly.Also, on check out, my bill included a charge for food and/or drinks in the restaurant which I had never used, (not relating to the breakfasts0. These are just minor niggles though - I thoroughly enjoyed myself overall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Friendly and clean we are treated with such genuine friendliness and respect nothing is too much trouble the menu and food are fantastic . The spa is well equipped and clean there are many tourist attractions not too for away

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitafox1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have just returned from the most 2 fab nights at this beautiful place! thoroughly enjoyed the wondreful food , breakfast and evening meal if any one complians they are mad! homemade scones! handpicked staff,we cant wait to come back! it may be raining, but its cosy, and still lovely! Well done Carlyon Bay Hotel, and thank you x

Room Tip: all clean and good in every way1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
17.8 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing