We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Carlyon Bay
Nearby Hotels
The White Hart(St Austell)
$154
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel(St Austell)(Great Value!)
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,673)
Filter reviews
1,673 results
Traveler rating
1,111
376
119
37
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,111
376
119
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursebrend hotelsgolf clubgolf breakbrend groupround of golfsea viewmain restaurantindoor and outdoor poolspitch and puttthe clifflounge barlovely hotelwine listtennis courtsevening entertainmentdeluxe room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,405 - 1,410 of 1,673 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A little dated in terms of decor, but very, very clean with wonderful views of the sea.
Ask for room 107 or nearby, as it is central and has the best panoramic view and also a shared balcony. The inside rooms looked to be small and with no view, which is part of the reason for coming.

The Table d'hôtel menu had a limited choice, but both my own and my wife's food was very good indeed.

Visit Fowey, Sams' restaurant for great seafood and its just a nice place to,visit. Also, The Eden Project for a great day out.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank nicoslindos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent my third consecutive Christmas at the Carlyon Bay Hotel. As always, a lovely Christmas atmosphere, excellent dedicated staff and a most attentive Manager who leads from the front. The staff respond very positively to his relaxed leadership style.
Hotel was immaculately clean throughout and the indoor swimming is excellent. The food and the dining room service was very good. The entertainment provided during the festive period was very enjoyable.
Two of our friends came with us this year and we have all four booked again for Christmas 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marquand332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked for 2 nights last minute, and on arrival were met by welcoming doorman and receptionists, who immediately advised us that we had been up-graded, great start ! We had a sea facing room, not the biggest but very clean and well presented, as was the whole hotel.
We booked BB&ED, and the meals were excellent all served by the most attentive staff, so much so that we booked another night.
Golf tee times were booked for 2 days, and despite some dreadful weather just prior to our visist, the course was in good condition, with inclusive golf, a real bonus. We took advantage of The Spa which was spotlessly clean and inviting.
The hotel has a warm family feel, and the staff are great, we have been before and will go again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I returned with friends for a One Night Stay and was able to enjoy the Festive Menu which was offered by the Hotel. It was a wondeful night. The staff were so attentive, the food was excellent
and my room spectacular. Three of my frends had not visited the Carlyon Bay previously. All enjoyed themselves and are going to be returning again in 2013.
Thank you to you all for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawlishswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We arrived for two nights for the weekend before Christmas. On arrival on the Friday evening we were met by a friendly and smart doorman who came and took our suitcase. Check in was quick and the receptionist was polite and booked us a table as we were on the dinner, bed and breakfast rate. The doorman asked if we would like him to take our suitcase and show us to our room but we were happy to find our own way.

We had booked the convertible side view room which was advertised as being more spacious that the inland rooms with garden views. I had also read in other reviews that the inland facing rooms were very small. Our room was about a standard size of most 4 star hotels I have stayed in, we had a minibar, robe and slippers, a small box of quality chocolates, complimentary toiletries and bottled water. Also a hot drink pack and kettle. The bathroom was clean with a very powerful shower and plenty of towels.
I phoned to request an ironing board and wine glasses which they were pleased to send up, albeit slowly.
The overall cleanliness of the room was very good although the top of the light switches next to the bed were very dusty.
I felt the room description was a little misleading in relation to the views, ours was still inland facing and the view was not of the gardens but instead was of the road outside and the hotel opposite.

We went for dinner in the Bay restaurant and as other reviewers have mentioned, there is a dress code. A minimum of trousers and shirt for men. Ties are preferred but not compulsory. The restaurant was lovely, great atmosphere, clean well laid tables and we had a spacious table for the two of us close to the window. The service was outstanding. We quickly had our drinks order taken by a dedicated wine waiter, we were offered bread and our orders were taken and food and drinks were delivered promptly. There is the table d'hote menu which we ordered from as this was included, there was the option to order from the a la carte menu but you only got about £2 discount on the items compared to non dinner inclusive guests.
The food was delivered with lovely presentation, we were offered sauces and this was served for us and we promptly had our wine glasses topped up as needed. The food was delicious, well presented and bursting with flavours. Between courses a waiter, came and scraped the food from our table. We have never had such outstanding service anywhere.

Breakfast the following day was equally delicious, we were placed at the same table which was nice, there is a buffet hot breakfast but this is served to you and the food was hot, the bacon and hash browns crisp and there was a choice of eggs and also hogs pudding on offer. There was a limited selection of pastries and some cheeses and meats plus cereal, yoghurt and fruit.

The hotel was not full as it was the weekend before Christmas and the guests coming for the festive period were arriving 23 December which was the day we were leaving. This was to our benefit because we used the spa on the Saturday and had sole use. A lovely hot jacuzzi, good size swimming pool, sauna and steam room, hot beds and experience shower which is in fact just several shower heads in one cubicle. I had a beauty treatment which was quality, professional and delightful so highly recommended. The changing rooms were very well equipped too.

We ordered sandwiches to our room for lunch at a cost of £8.95 each. This came with some lovely tasting chips, a deliciously dressed salad and quality rare beef slices.
At this point of the trip I would have rated the hotel as 5 stars, even with the shortfalls of the rooms views, everything else more than made up for it.

Unfortunately, our second night was more of a disappointment, we dressed smartly for dinner again and went down to be told our meal would be in the other restaurant. We weren't told why but it was clear that this was due to a private function in the Bay View Restaurant. The other restaurant is less formal but still very nice inside. However, all attention must have been focused on the function because the service was appalling, first our drink order was taken and never came, we had missing cutlery for our starter. We had to ask three people about our drink and in the end had to go and pinch our starter cutlery from another empty table. Our starter arrived and we had no cutlery or drinks. When the drink arrived it was not what was ordered.
When our main course came, we had no cutlery in the vegetable dish as we did the night before, we were not offered more water or wine despite having empty glasses and had to flag someone down for this. We had been told to order dessert after main but noone came to request this, when we flagged someone down they were a little sarcastic about why we had not ordered this at the beginning despite being told not to.
The food was still delicious and well presented though, it was just such a let down compared to the first night.

On the second day for breakfast we were placed at a different table because they had rearranged tables ready for the Christmas arrivals. This wasn't a huge problem but we were placed on a tiny table which couldn't fit all of our food and coffee/tea which was ridiculous as there was only one more group taking breakfast in the restaurant and we had a waitress folding napkins right next to us.
At this point I just felt that preparation was being made for the Christmas arrivals but they had forgotten about the guests who were still there.
If I knew I could be guaranteed the service from the first night, I would definitely stay again and would get one of the sea facing deluxe rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iluvsumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews