We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Princess pamper day great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Princess pamper day great value”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Had a princess pamper day for my little girl here. They had a fabulous day. Lovely long swim, great fun in the hot tub. The treatments were good, nails and make up done, they thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, the girl was lovely, Becky I think she was called. Really friendly and didnt rush them through.

Then they had lunch with "flamingo cocktails" I deduct a point for this as they were neither flamingoey - if thats a word - or cocktaily. Rather just a tumbler of what looked like Tizer. A straw, umbrella and pink sugar around the rim of the glass wouldnt go amiss, and would then be seen as a "cocktail" Possibly a stirrer with a flamingo on the end! Not sure why they were called that as it just didnt seem to fit. Only a little complaint but would have made all the difference, the girls were dissappointed. Lunch however was lovely, sandwiches were nice and fresh, nice quality ham. Also came with crisps and a smal side salad.

The chocolate fondue was gorgeous and really nicely presented.

To conclude, a fab treat for your princesses, great value for money, very plush spotlessly clean manor.
Just the cocktail let it down. But apart from that a very pleasant experience.
Would definitely do again and have already recommended to others, pleasant staff and surroundings

Oooo one more thing no red carpet down either!

Room Tip: I have only seen the Rebecca room and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_CCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    139
    47
    22
    12
See reviews for
104
416
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed two nights at Boscundle Manor in March and were extremely pleased with our choice. Our room, Elizabeth, was very comfortable if a little dark but was very spacious with a balcony door which led via steps to the front terrace so you could go out without going through the hotel. The welcome was warm with the offer of tea and cake. We declined the cake but had tea on the terrace as it was so warm. The restaurant was closed on the first night which was not a problem. We ate in the restaurant on the second night and had a really lovely meal. The scallops were superb as were the breakfasts. We didn't use the leisure facilities as we ran out of time. All in all this hotel was a real gem and we hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Arrived to a busy reception, but bucks fizz and pastries in the lounge while we waited to join our bags that were already taken to the cottage just started off the relaxation even earlier. The lady owner talked us through our spa weekend and made us all feel very relaxed and welcome.

A beautiful house in lovely grounds, you would never know you were yards away from a main road.

Swim and then lunch in our robes in the conservatory was very relaxed before we all sat in the sunshine waiting for our treatments. An unavoidable issue with spa staff meant timings had to be rejigged but this was explained to us and a new schedule put in place. I think how well an establishment deals with things not going to plan can be very telling and Boscundle Manor ensured our guest experience was not reduced.

The evening meal was delicious, as was all the food throughout our stay. Although the only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is I felt it was a little on the expensive side. The wine list seemed overly extensive given the items in the menu and unfortunately the gentleman who was running the restaurant that evening seemed to have a very over inflated sense of his on self importance and was not welcoming at all, a distinct contrast to all the other service we received. As a group of women relaxing and enjoying ourselves, and who dine out a lot, we were more amused by his attitude than anything else, but it could be off putting.

On the whole a wonderful stay. Little touches really make you feel welcome, fruit in the cottage, real milk in the fridge, even an overflowing box of teas and coffees in the room so, as in many hotels, you don't feel like you're rationed.

Perfect place for escaping the everyday and feeling relaxed and at ease.

Room Tip: We had the whole of the cottage and it was perfect for a girly group. Bit steep but the whole weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Went to Boscundle last Monday with my daughter and daughter-in-law for a pamper day. Had the most wonderful day swimming in the pool, lounging in the jacuzzi and most of all the first class treatments that we all had. we had our lunch in the conservatory with a glass of bubbly!! Stayed most of the day and would thoroughly recommend this hotel for their price!!, service and hospitality. Thankyou very much.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv15261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

After regularly attending Boscundle Manor of 4 years, as a local, on a regular basis with a good number of friends, I have now experienced a very bad time with Boscundle. A number of things have let this place down and can only start from the beginning.

Firstly, as stated I have been attending Boscundle Manor with a large group of friends on a regular basis for Pampering sessions, which we have all thouroughly enjoyed up until recently. Our first pampering session of this year was in Feb 2012 and the second being March 2012 and both times on booking the actual pampering party was what seemed a bit like it was too much effort, several times I had to email them direct to confirm our bookings, as know one had got back to me, where as before this was never an issue.

On the Feb visit, it wasnt too bad apart from the fact they were under staffed again and had a new Manager. Our lunch came out as normal but this time with no crisps (where as previous occasions weve always had crisps), and the Chocolate Fondue was burnt and dissapointing, but we seemed to have heaps of fruit and food to dip in the Fondue, although there was only 3 of us. These may seem like little things, but in the past they have been ignored and now after the final straw so to speak, I feel that these things need to be passed on to be address, as these 'little things' all add up and after all, we pay good money each time we go to Boscundle.

On the second visit in March, I can only say I was completely gob smacked with the way we were all treated!!

We had a party of 7 of us of which 6 paid to do the Pamper package and the 7th person just had lunch and swim as normal. We had 2 therapists on that day, which turned out because they had another party in, in the afternoon. We arrived for 1st treatment to start at 10 that morning and had our treatments and enjoyed the facilities, then came lunch - we all sat down to lunch and our sandwiches were brought over (this time with crisps, which was good) we all tucked in and only to find that one of the girls had a nice black hair in her sandwich, so we spoke to one of the therapists that came out to us and informed her of this, with which she did appologise. I may add also that with the Pamper package you are meant to get a bucks fizz on arrival (and always have) but we didnt get these until we sat down to lunch. After lunch we went back up to the pool area to enjoy some more relaxing time, as this is what we have always done for the past 4 years.

Once we returned to the pool area, within about 15 mins both therapists came up and looked around and then vacated again. Around 10 mins later they returned again and asked that we give up 3 of the loungers to the other party that were coming in, we could not believe the cheek of it, we were physically sat on these loungers and were basically told to vacate them, for the 3 people that were due in and we were given no alternative of seating for the 3 that gave the loungers up, we then all felt very angey and upset and also let down. We felt that we were good enough to give our money for the pamper package but once we had our treatments and lunch, we got treated as if they were trying to kick us out. We did ask the therapist in question if we could have some other chairs (which we felt wasnt an unreasonable request) the girl then turned around with a stinking attitude may I add and said she would speak to the Manager and see what could be arrange but she couldnt promise any guarantees...what?? It was merely a few more chairs for us to sit on and again, it appeared too much hassle for them, needless to say we never saw the therapists re-appear again, nor the Manager. We shouldnt have even had to ask, they should have just been polite in the first instance and offered this. She also informed us that the package was only ever for 1/2 day and that this was all in their terms and conditions, we went straight onto their website and it doesnt say that anywhere on there.

The other party were then seated on the other loungers and at that point we were all very annoyed, so we vacated outside to the hot tub, as we felt this appropriate for discussions, as we didnt want to ruin the other parties atmosphere with us moaning etc. After about 20 mins the owner Dave walked passed, so we stopped him and discussed our situation and he turned around and told us that we only booked a Pamper morning...again what? News to us, we have always endured pretty much a whole day there every time weve been. We were told that we obviously made an assumption that it was for all day, we were all confused as this has NEVER been an issue in the passed and have never been treated like this and spoken to so rudely. We explained to Dave what had happened, we also explained about the lunch and the hair, we also stated we had asked one of the therapists for a drinks order in the morning and she said she would return to take it and she never did. We explained all of this to Dave and asked for more seats, which he managed to accomodate 2 for us, which was a start. He then argued and said that all the details of what the Pamper package is, is on the website, we went on there and not anywhere does it say its half a day only, we suggested that maybe he should make it clear, to save any confusion and dissapoint any one in the future. We also said that we felt in general Boscundle had gone down hill, he not once offered any kind of appology or re-assurance to this and took no responsibility for any of it, as far as we felt it was our fault for assuming. May I also add that one of the party was heavily pregnant, so again even more disgusting that we had limited seating. We then went on to add that we probably wouldnt return again because of the poor response we had.

After about an hour we all decided to leave, so we vacated the pool area and went to reception to pay and complain to the Manager. On arrival to reception my friend informed the Manager of the situation with the sandwich and he then said he didnt know anything about it, so he wondered off and then re-appeared again to say he would not charge the £15 for that persons lunch and swim, which was reasonable. When it came to paying the remainder balance the Manager didnt seem to have a clue who we were, or what we had, so I had to physically point out on the screen the party name, so he could call up our party. We paid and left.

One of the party then decided she would write a letter of complaint - the response we had was absolutely disgusting, the letter implied that we were basically lying about everything we complained about that day. In the letter it actually asked that we produce this 'so called hair' that was found in the sandiwich and then they will look into it. They just seemed to be passing the blame onto us and took no responsibility for anything at all. We did point out to Dave when we were in the hot tub that we didnt want to cause any trouble but as an establishment we felt he should know and take it as constructive critism, but that was obviously not the case, due to the horrid response we had from them in a letter.

I feel, along with the other members of the group that attended, we were treated like we didnt even matter, whats that all about...as for assumptions made by our part, this should be down to Boscundle not even giving those assumptions in the first place, how is that our fault!!! Needless to say because of the principle of this whole situation, we will not be attending again in the future. We have brought other business to Boscundle with taking our parents, having meals there and buying gift vouchers from them, but we have had no thanks for that and the fact we are locals.

Just to add to this, one of the members contacted Boscundle twice to make enquiries about a Wedding to be held there next year but Boscundle appeared not interested, on the last attempt Vicky the therapist said that Sharon was away and she was sure that she would attend to the enquiry on her return (not a great attitude to have) and needless to say there wasnt any contact from Sharon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Blush1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwalldave, Owner at Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
This is simply nasty and vindictive and all because of an incorrect assumption.

This review has come about because, we found ourselves in an awkward situation when another group of ladies arrived for their party package in the afternoon, but when we took them up to the pool, realised that, because this reviewers' party had not left, we did not have enough loungers for everybody (we have 6) and despite polite requests, these clients refused to leave and, instead spread their belongings around all the pool loungers and then proceeded to commandeer the hot tub.

HISTORY
On three previous occasions, this particular party consisted of 8, 8 and 9 clients with treatment times before and after lunch and therefore took the whole day: The issue of being 2/3 loungers short was not a problem then.

On two other occasions, they had a half day/afternoon package which started with lunch, followed by treatments for the rest of the afternoon: How would they have felt, if the morning party had monopolised the loungers and hot tub.

On only one occasion did this party book treatments for the morning only, had lunch and stayed around the pool and hot tub in the afternoon. It was a quiet Sunday afternoon in February, so it was absolutely fine to do so.

NOTHING HAS CHANGED SINCE THIS WAS WRITTEN, OTHER THAN THE ATTITUDE OF THE REVIEWER

What makes this vindictive review worse is they never knew the things we did behind the scenes to accommodate their requirements. For example, we would be provided with a long list of sandwich requests including more expensive choices such as prawns, which we wouldn't normally have in our kitchen, but we still bought them in specially and at no extra charge. And also, one of the party regularly joined them just for a swim and a sandwich. We must have a dozen people a month asking just to use our pool, but we do not allow it, to make sure that it is not crowded, but in the case of this group we let it go.

WHAT WE HAVE LEARNT
We don't like rules, but when situations like this come back and bite you, it has made us think twice about not having them and we are now rather more assertive in informing spa clients about what they can and can't do and when.

THE "HAIR"
It can happen and we sincerely apologised, but we knew nothing about the hair until after the party had finished and all the sandwiches had been eaten and this is why we asked either for it or a description of it, but neither was forthcoming at the time. Despite this, we refunded the total cost of the sandwich and chocolate fondue lunch. In our experience it is best to alert the establishment IMMEDIATELY, should there be something in your food that shouldn't be there because it gives them a chance to do something about it right there and then.

THE "WEDDING REQUESTS"
This reviewer asked us if we would hold a civil ceremony ONLY on a Saturday in April 2013. We only ever have one wedding on a weekend and would not strike out a possible large wedding weekend for a ceremony only with no food and no drink. The answer was no as this is not something we do. There then followed numerous requests both by email and telephone, she simply didn't seem to accept no as being no, and it was most embarrassing.

ABOUT OUR PARTY PACKAGES
Our party package is fantastic and that isn't just us saying so, that is hundreds of clients telling us so, including this reviewer, who wrote "We thoroughly enjoyed our Spa Day at Boscundle Manor, we come here on a regular basis and always find the service, food, facilities and staff exceptional and very good value for money. I would highly recommend Boscundle Manor for a nice relaxing day out for any occasion".

At £40.00, it is the best value package in town and consists of a red carpet welcome, welcome sign and buck's fizz. Robes and towels are issued, consultation forms filled in and, following a tour of the pool and hot tub, the first client is ushered into the treatment room whilst the others enjoy the facilities. After all the clients have had their treatments, they get to enjoy a sandwich and chocolate fondue lunch in the conservatory and leave, typically having been with us for up to 4 hours. It is important to point out that the pool and hot tub are not offered exclusively, but quite often the pool and hot tub are unused during the day, when our resident guests are out and about.

Each client has a 1/2 hour treatment and there is a 5-10 minute gap between each treatment to allow the room to be refreshed between guests.

The party package is not for any particular time as this is completely dependant upon the number of clients and varies between 3 and 10. Typically guests either arrive in the morning and finish off with lunch or arrive around lunch time with treatments after, fishing off at around 5.00pm.

Thank you for reading to the end!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My friends and I used to regularly use this hotel for our pamper spa days. Up until now we have had good service and so kept going back, although our recent visit was very unsatisfactory. Shortly after we arrived it felt like we were on a 'conveyer belt' to have our treatments, whereas usually we have time to relax beforehand. Lunch was poor, with a hair found in one of the sandwiches, the bannanas were black and bruised. We asked for a drinks order which never arrived. Whilst relaxing on the sun loungers by the pool we were rudely told to get off them to allow other guests to use them. When we complained to the proprietor we were told that the Spa day was not a day and in fact only a half day, although this is not stipulated in the terms and conditions, we raised the fact that our drinks order had not been taken and he didn't even offer to take our order. Very disappointed with the total lack of customer service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed with my husband last week on a KGB deal but we upgraded the room by £30. The room by itself (Louisa) was beautiful but there was very little storage space; what I found very strange was the fact the supposedly en suite bathroom was separated from the bedroom by a fire exit passage and 2 steps. We could lock our bedroom door but not the bathroom one which had to be bolted from inside. There were very few staying-in guests and therefore I did not understand why we were given such room, especially as we had upgraded our stay. We had dinner one evening; there was only one other table with 3 people. The dining room was beautifully decorated, the food was good, the waitress very friendly and helpful but the meal was rather rushed. We had to ask to be served coffee 10 minutes after we finished our meal. It did arrived exactly 10 minutes later, not one second longer. The other table who had arrived after us had already left. No napkin of any kind at breakfast on Tuesday morning was also disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Albatros747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,559 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.2 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
370 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,363 reviews
23.0 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Property: Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Address: Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#5 Family Hotel in St Austell
#7 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one mile from Cornwall's famous Eden project and set in 5 acres of its own private, quiet grounds, Boscundle Manor truly is a wonderful oasis in which to relax and unwind. The first thing you notice is that the building really is as pretty as it looks in the pictures and the welcome you get from the staff right through to the complimentary pot of tea and slice of cake, puts you instantly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant St Austell
Boscundle Manor St Austell
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant And Spa St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing