We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and home from home break.”
Review of Langdale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale House
Ranked #22 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 28, 2013

As a party of 3, we booked this B&B at a very last minute based on there being availability and on the trip advisors reviews we had read. We weren't disappointed! My husband and I stayed in the Valley View room and my mother has the Gold room. Both rooms had powerful drench showers, enough room to move around and very clean. The bathroom products were a lovely touch - which we weren't even expecting for a B&B! Breakfast was a delight each morning, very filling, and Chris made sure we were taken care of and well informed throughout our stay. Having stayed at some top hotels around the world, staying at Langdale House was on par with these! Excellent service, high comfort levels and wonderful home cooked food was just what we needed for our short break to go and see the Eden Project. We would recommend this to our family and friends and if ever if the area again would not hesitate to stay back at Langdale House!

Room Tip: The Gold Room has a larger bathroom. Valley View has the wonderful sunshine pouring in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 97 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Needing an overnight stay in St. Austell, The Langdale House B&B was recommended and it certainly lived up to its reputation. A great welcome on arrival and a guest room that was absolutely brilliant...

Great room with lovely views; the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in away from home (ranking alongside a stay at the Ritz in Barcelona!) so top that off with the contemporary illuminated power shower and getting up early on a Sunday became well worth the effort!

I would most definitely stay here again! Thank you :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaWatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Checked into Langdale house after a few days camping in Penzance .... Upon recommendations from the met office .... lol !!!!!
We secured the valley view room.
Great room with nice added extra touches ..... Bottled water in the room, comfy bed and a shower to die for !!!!!
St Austell town centre 10 mins walk away in the evenings for dinner.
Chris was the perfect host, his knowledge of the west country is 2nd to none ..... And upon telling him where I planned on going each day, he pulled out his maps and showed me great little hideaways to take in on route.
All in all a fantastic place to base your holiday from.
My only complaint was at breakfast ..... this was because marg was served and not butter. But hey .... There are bigger issues in the world !!!!! ;-)
Go on and give Chris a ring. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southcoastzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

From the minute the door was opened the smile and welcome was fantastic and it got better . We were booked into Valley View a delightful room with all the comforts needed. The bathroom was impeccable . We had a good nights sleep and breakfast was a delight and served with a smile and a friendly chat that wasn't overbearing. We stayed two nights and would definitely recommend staying at Langdale House and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This B&B is in a great location for visiting many parts of Cornwall by car, most places are less than 1 hour away! Our room was beautiful & very comfy, the bathroom even better! The staff are friendly, helpful & knowledgeable without being 'over the top' and they make a great breakfast! I would happily stay here again if visiting Cornwall

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

would recommend to anybody, nicely furnished, clean, comfortable, excellent host, good breakfast. we visited under difficult circumstances and the understanding shown was lovely. we have been lucky enough to have travelled extensively and stayed at some beautiful hotels all around the world and I have to say was doubtful about staying in a b&b, how wrong I was, twas lovely me ansoms give it a try, you wont be disapointed.

Room Tip: we had 2 rooms during our stay. go for "valley View" bigger bedroom but smaller en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We made a last minute booking for an overnight stay after deciding to visit the Eden project. Not only was it exactly what we wanted (clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and close to Eden), but was also a nice surprise. We were welcomed by Chris, who is a friendly and helpful host and our room was lovely.

We were able to walk to the town for dinner and lots of information given on both the pub owned by Chris’s partner (excellent steak and huge portions!), but also other places to eat and visit. The full Cornish breakfast was delicious and certainly set us up for the day!

We had a really comfortable stay and will stay again next time we are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.8 mi away
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Topos Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 97 in St Austell
252 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Chapel Guest House
The Chapel Guest House
#8 of 97 in St Austell
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elms Guest House
The Elms Guest House
#13 of 97 in St Austell
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grange
The Grange
#20 of 97 in St Austell
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gwyndra House
Gwyndra House
#21 of 97 in St Austell
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bradleigh Lodge
Bradleigh Lodge
#18 of 97 in St Austell
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale House

Address: 1A Southbourne Road, St Austell PL25 4RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $96 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Langdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing