We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, immaculate campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Fabulous campsite in lovely peaceful location. Amenities are spotless and quaint. Stayed in one of the static caravans which was spotless, very spacious - much more than we expected with 3 bedrooms, a bathroom and another separate WC. Beautiful location right next to the river with walks down to the beach. Great park area for children and lovely swimming pool.Will definitely be coming back!
Only comment worth noting is that the single beds are quite narrow in the static caravans.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellablue516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for River Valley Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 220 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just spent four nights at this park and thought it was lovely, quiet, well maintained and friendly. The static caravan we stayed in although small (we could have booked a larger one) was well equipped, comfortable, clean and tidy with parking near by. Neighbours were quiet and the pool was lovely. Would stay here again and recommend it highly to friends and family.

My only reservation is that it was difficult to find out about the static caravans on their website, the info was there, but well hidden.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I used to visit this site as a little girl with my parents so decided to return now I'm in my mid twenties as I always remembered it being lovely. We were greeted by Allison Clemo who is lovely and friendly and has a really sweet little cat called Marbles who roams around the reception. The site is small but not cramped small, comfortable and quiet. The caravan we stayed in my immaculately clean and had a tray of tea, milk and biscuits waiting for us. There is alot to do around the site, a pets corner with animals to meet, a swimming pool and lots of nice river walks. The reception sells fresh eggs and ice creams and there is a shop across the road for anything else. It is less than a 2 mile walk to St Austell and the pubs surrounding are great. One of the great things about this whole place is it feels so safe.I had a lovely holiday and cannot wait to come back here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katenorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is our forth time at River Valley, cant say anything that hasn't already been said, we had caravan number 13 this time, unlucky for some but luck doesn't come into it at River Valley, you know its going to be great.
Biscuits, tea and milk in the caravan on arrival, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Alison Clemo was as helpful and courteous as ever as were all the other staff we came into contact with.
Swimming pool was lovely, the grounds were in perfect condition and the location is beautiful.
No camp shop but nice little store across the road for papers, milk and any other essentials.
No club house which is a blessing but there is a nice little pub 5 minutes away called the Polgooth Inn, smashing place.
Lovely little stream runs along side the park and on the other side a lovely walk down to Pentewan.
Asda and Tesco are 5 minutes away in St Austell so shopping is not a problem, nice little chippy opposite Tesco as well, their cod and chips are great.
Mevagissy a few miles away where there is another fantastic chippy as well as a beautiful working harbour.
Cant really say much more except that River Vally is in our opinion the best holiday park in Cornwall and we have been holidaying in Cornwall for over 20 years, we wish we had found this site earlier.
Well done to the Clemo family and thank you for making our holidays with you something toremember.

Room Tip: All the caravans are spotless so all you have to do is pick any one, you wont be disappointed
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommytorets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed at River Valley from 2nd September to 6th September. A lovely site, caravan was immaculate, nice helpful staff and good Facilities. Site is in a great location with most places being less than an hours drive. Will Return and certainly Recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 525Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have literally just got back home from our week away at River Valley, it is a gorgeous site, spotlessly clean, well maintained, and really friendly people who run it. On arrival we had milk, tea and biscuits waiting for us in our caravan, which was very welcome after a very long journey down. Caravan was immaculate, enough space for two adults and two kids. Kids loved the pool and had great fun playing football on the grass, the weather has been fantastic the whole time we've been there, so very lucky indeed. Some great cycle paths along the river, really handy for me as I am training for the Bupa Great North Run I used them to do my training/running. Everyday there was a chalk board outside reception letting you know about the tides, days out and what the weather was going to be like, great idea as when we arrived we wasn't sure where to head off first but ended up going to Fowey regatta and seeing a spectacular fireworks display at the end of the night. There's a great little shop just outside the campsite, selling enough to get you by, Asda is not far from the campsite but boy!! be prepared it is busy beyond belief, if you do need to do a shop do a massive one so you don't have to go back. A night you do hear the owls, amazing and with little light pollution great for budding astronomers. All in all you can't go wrong coming here for a holiday, it's just lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryH-Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here 8 times August 2002-2009 inclusive, then had 3 summers in France and returned here this August as we love River Valley so much. To be honest I just need to echo the sentiments of most other reviewers -
Fab clean new vans - we stayed in Beechwood Super.
Great site and cars not allowed on grass so safe for children although some guests obviously cannot read the 'Do not park on the grass' signs that they park next to!!!!
Barrier entry so no 'uninvited guests'.
Lovely and peaceful - no entertainment.
Fantastic owners and staff.
Great locality for attractions/beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
3.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.7 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#4 of 78 in Newquay
415 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sun Valley Holiday Park
Sun Valley Holiday Park
#13 of 37 in St Austell
184 reviews
9.5 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Valley Holiday Park

Address: Mevagissey Road | London Apprentice, St Austell PL26 7AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in St Austell
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
River Valley Holiday Park St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing