We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem of a site!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a gem of a site!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This site was just right for us. We visited in early July 2012, with a touring caravan, for 8 nights. A well maintained site with good facilities. A fairly small site but this was an advantage, not a disadvantage. The swimming pool is a bonus, something you wouldn't normally find on a site of this size, and there is no charge to use it. Toilet facilities and washing up area are top notch. Pitches are a good size but choose an outside pitch when booking. It's also worth booking a larger pitch. Although near the road, noise wasn't constant so didn't spoil the holiday. Our only negative comment is the children's play area - fine if your children are over 5. Our daughter couldn't get up to the slide and there wasn't a swing. The site is perfectly located for days out. Pentewan Sands is 5 minutes drive down the road, where there is no charge to park and the beach is the best anywhere. There is a large commercial campsite there with an indoor swimming pool (charge) and a soft play suite (free). You can also use their bar facilities and get a nice lunch/evening meal there too. Well worth a day out without the traffic headaches. St Austell, 5 mins away, is a good size town with several of the larger stores and there is an Asda and Tesco within easy drive of the site. We visited Dairyland and Eden Project. Both worth a visit. Staff are very friendly and helpful, even putting a blackboard up with 'things to do' out & about, on a daily basis. No shop on site but a very useful shop opposite site entrance, sells provisions and newspapers. We will definately go back again next year, as didn't get around to hiring a bike from the site and cycling to Pentewan!

Room Tip: Look at site plan and request a pitch no. when booking. They will do there best to accommodate. Look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneillsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    27
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
98
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband, three year old daughter and myself choose the best week to go gorgious sunshine all week.
Biggish square all weather pitch with grass around it. The centre pitches do not have much privacy as the hedges are not established.
Very good facilities though with planty of very hot water!, clean and well maintained. A pool which looked lovely but as the weather was good we didnt use as was at the beach. Indoor games room, again not used. only a couple of washers which was fine but in the height of summer might get busy.
Lovely play areas for the children, which we sat for ages in the sun and watched them all play together. lots of dogs here which was fine all were well under control. It was mentioned by someone that on the dog walk along the stream that dog poos were not picked up and there was no bin for dog waste.
At night you could hear the owls which was amazing, our criticizism was the road noise. Which seemed quite loud, busy road going from St Austell to Megavissey. It didnt quiet down until 9-10pm each night. some people were not bothered by this though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChapelA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 and had a fabulous time. The site is very well maintained and has plenty of things to keep children interested. The swimming pool was ideal for our two children (2 and 4) - always clean, big enough for them and warm enough too. The staff at the site are really helpful - making recommendations for beaches to visit, places to go in the wet weather and places to eat. The staff we met were all local to the area and when they recommended something you could tell it was because they loved it. They were also honest enough to tell you when something wasn't very good (normally polite enough to say 'we've had mixed reviews'). We'd certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StreetDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We went to The River Valley in August 2012 for a week camping.
The site is family run and is in a good location and not far from our favourite beach in Gorran Haven.
We pitched our tent on hard standing, which is a first for me with a tent ! Bent alot of pegs, so take spares.
It was a good spot at the back of the park and backed onto the Pentewan trial which is a country walk to Pentewan village.
To the left of our pitch was a caravan storage location with a ramp, which the family also do.
We had 2 days of decent weather , but then it just rained, rained and rained!
Our Outwell Montana tent stood up well to it , however the ground gig that saturated , we had a most around the tent and eventually had a pond under the tent!
We had to leave after 5 days. I feel that the ramp from the caravan storage location allows the rain from the higher level to flow down to where the tents are pitched and this then ruins your pitch in the far left corner!
A bad design.
If booking and unsure on the weather , try and get a pitch away from the far corner !
I would stay again !
The shower facilitys were good, although only 3 showers in the gents. Powerful showers!
Games room, swimming pool are good!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GorranHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in a static at river valley and had a fantastic weekend. The caravans were immaculate in every way. The pool was clean and lovely. The park was brilliant for the kids. We loved the animals and the children did too. The staff were all really friendly, helpful and made us feel extremely welcome. We recommend this holiday park to everyone looking for a lovely peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanannawilby-Lopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We are staying at this site in what is the wettest week of the summer and having the best time . The caravan is spotless and the owner welcomed us with a big smile and tea and biscuits awaited us in the caravan . The whole site is clean and tidy and perfectly situated. The pool is warm even on the coldest wettest morning. We love this place and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourpetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We recently stayed at River Valley. We were more than happy with the static caravan it was immaculate as were the grounds and gardens. It was a peacful and tranquil and I would HIGHLY recomend this park to anyone considering using St Austell as their base. It is the hub of the wheel to explore Cornwall. Its location is ideal. I have stayed at the other two main caravan parks on London Prentice rd. But River Valley by far is THE BEST hoilday park in my experience and opinion. You will not be dissapointed in booking your hard earned hoilday here. I will certainly stay there again without hesitation. Friendly and helpfull owners who couldnt do enough to make our stay a happy one. WELL DONE and thankyou very much. Mr Kerry Colson from Pembrokeshire Sth West Wales. A+++

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryPembrokeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
13.3 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
2.8 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Valley Holiday Park

Property: River Valley Holiday Park
Address: Mevagissey Road | London Apprentice, St Austell PL26 7AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in St Austell
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
River Valley Holiday Park St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing