We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We did not have a clue what to expect having not holidayed like this before. There was my husband our daughter, 2 other friends and their 2 children in an 8 sleeper caravan. We booked direct with sun valley who were very efficient. The caravan was well equipped with plenty of storage and seating for us and 2 bathrooms! shower was a nice size too. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening entertainment was great for the kids, the pool was lovely and warm and very clean, the whole site was well kept and it is all lovely and close by. Mevigissey is just down the road by car and well worth a visit. We all really loved this holiday from start to finish, fantastic! Note: actually on the site the reception for mobile phones and the t.v signal is not great which can be an advantage! we were down in the valley, perhaps a more elevated position of caravan would have more signal if required. We travelled out to visit places most days and had plenty of reception once off the campsite. Also there is an asda just down the road which we found handy to top up on food when required :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are really glad you had a lovely holiday and hope you choose sunvalley in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    48
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
115
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a lovely park to stay at!! We have just come home from spending a lovely week at Sun Valley and I cannot fault the park and its staff. I would like to give a special mention to Ange and Abbie who are the kindest, loveliest people and helped us endlessly in a mix up with our booking. Both Ange and Abbie and the Manager couldn't do enough to help us, They were brilliant!!! My children loved the park, pool, amusements and soft play area within the park and spent all the time they could in the pool, which was lovely and warm. The clubhouse was lovely and the food was good. We will be visiting again and I recommend the park to friends and family. See you next year :))

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
many thanks for the lovely review,very gratefully received and we hope to see you all again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Found this holiday at the last minute through Hoeseaons. We booked a static caravan to sleep four for the week commencing 3rd August 2013.
The caravan was clean and beds were already made for our arrival.
The site is situated in a lovely place with beautiful surroundings. The Pool was well kept and clean. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Although not having a huge amount on the site, we found it adequate and it has a very relaxed atmosphere. There is a bar with entertainment (twice a week) . We did not visit the bar but it all looked ok. The shop was small and has some basic supplies but you are only a couple of miles from the supermarkets.
We tried the take away on the last night and this was also ok.
We had a caravan that was towards the top of the site and you had to walk a short way up a hill to access it. So would recommend asking for a caravan on the level ground if you have any disabilities.
Overall this was a good value for money site. If you like a quiet relaxing site then this is for you.
We will be returning. Thank You Sun Valley....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
many thanks for the kind words
look forward to greeting you all again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have been staying at Sun Valley for about 20 yrs at least once a year, but we have missed the last couple of years. So this year as there was 7 of us ages ranging from 3 to 78, instead of booking a couple of caravans (which we have always found to be of a high standard) we decided to book the bungalow, it far exceeded are expectation, could not fault a thing, is decorated and furnished to outdo a five star hotel, I really can't express how good it is. The site itself is quiet, there is a small adventure park, tennis courts, and table tennis outside, restaurant and well kept indoor pool and small toddler pool. All the staff that we met were all very friendly and helpful, and I am already thinking about saving up to go again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
many thanks for your lovely review and we look forward to greeting you all for another 20 years!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

would definitely recomend this place, good for all ages. Beautiful surroundings. Near to all facilities.Staff very friendly.Club house very nicr and welcoming. Indoor pool clean too. Lovely site... easy to find. Asda and Tesco nearby and a huge indoor market. St Austell town had lots of lovely shops too. Parking very good on site too. We were there with relatives, our ages varied from mid fiftied to mid eighties.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flookie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
many thanks for the lovely review
we hope to greet you all again at sunvalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a static for half term. Caravan was well appointed and the location was good. Had one problem with the hot water but this was sorted very soon. (Thanks Gary!). Clubhouse was clean, beer and food were also good. Kids, 7&4 loved the indoor play area, safe green and rabbits. All in all a good holiday. The only thing that I would say is that, whilst at the moment everything is fine, the park is on the cusp of needing investment to ensure it continues to provide good times ahead.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank testinggorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
many thanks for your positive review, we hope to see you at sunvalley again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I phoned this site long before we arrived and asked when all amenities were open and I was told, everything would be open between Easter and October.

Well My family and I arrived on 4th May 2013 (between Easter and October) The swimming pool was open........and that was it, no food in the restaurant, take away closed, no entertainment and the kids club was shocking, even the 2 resident Donkeys must have got bored and left too as they were nowhere to be seen.

Yes the site was quiet, maybe 3/4 other families where there, I have to ask why was the site even open, if it couldnt offer anything to the families. I felt so sorry for my 3 kids who had been looking forward to this holiday all year, the site just does not cater for kids at all. Its a good job they get on well together or the holiday would have been a nightmare.

There was a arcade for the kids, which was locked with a sign on the door that says 'go to the reception for the key', that was all well and good but if you got to the arcade after 4.30pm you were screwed as reception was closed by then.

The site is shocking for a phone signal which i know is not the owners fault etc but I was happy to find out that the site had wifi......until I tried to pay for the wifi with 3 different credit cards and it just wouldn't work. Even the pay phones looked like they had been vandalised.

We decided to leave the site 1 day early as the kids were so bored we couldnt take any more.

The site was very very clean (maybe because there were no customers) and the pool was awesome for the kids, right depth all around but there is only so many times you can go swimming in a day.

There is no light on the main sign coming into the site, so if you didnt know were it was at night, you would probably never find it.

When you save all year for a family holiday, you expect to have fun, My poor kids were gutted

If you cant offer all amenities, dont open the site simple!

My family and I will not be returning!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Public Relations Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Many thanks for your reveiw,we appreciate all comments so they can be addressed and/or improved upon which is why i would like to reply to some of your comments which I feel in some part unfair,also as more and more people base their holiday choice on reveiws like your own I feel the need to address them
Firstly there was food available,as always,from the clubhouse and bar which is also available to takeaway.You are correct there was no entertainment /kids disco during your stay as these are only available during childrens school holidays and is advertised as such.
To say `the site does not cater for kids at all` is a little unfair as we do have goats, rabbits,tennis courts,table tennis,indoor pools,indoor play area and outdoor adventure park all available during your stay.
Outside of school holidays many of our customers use us a base to explore the many gorgeous attractions in the surrounding area`s,and indeed there were numerous parties doing so that week.
we don’t and never have pretended to be a big chain holiday venue and the lack of clubhouse based entertainment is very very much reflected in our charges, outside of school holidays and in comparison to our nearest competitors.
I cannot comment upon your problems with wi-fi as it is managed by a third party company but I would have been happy to call on your behalf if you felt the phone boxes were not appropriate.
With regard to the lack of lighting at the entrance,I absolutely agree and we are looking into it now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
1.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.4 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
485 reviews
2.3 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
179 reviews
13.8 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Valley Holiday Park

Property: Sun Valley Holiday Park
Address: Pentewan Road, St Austell PL26 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Specialty Lodging in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Valley Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Austell in Cornwall is host to this Quality in Tourism 4star Holiday Park and AA 5 pennant Campsite. With landscaped grounds, indoor heated swimming pool, well equipped caravans and campsite, bar and Restaurant.Set in a stunning valley location close to all major sights in Cornwall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Sun Valley Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Valley Holiday Park St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing