We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent child friendly farm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bosinver Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent child friendly farm”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Absolutely fantastic- what more can be said. Farmer Dave, Pat and Helen really have thought of everything.
Wild Kids was brilliant- Tatum the leader was great. Get a chance to get messy build fairy houses and light a fire for yiur marshmallows!!! You can find the Gruffalo on the 'Gruffalo Trail, do the wellie nature walk, whizz down the tube slide or zip down the zip wire. Animal feeds are a must then collect your egg for breakfast.
Cottages are clean and very well equipped and modern. We stayed in Hillside which has lovely views out from the conservatory over the fields where you can see varied wildlife and get visits from the ducks and 2 shire horses in your back garden!!!!
The scenery around the farm are breathtaking and so safe for the children, you can let them be free whilst you relax and enjoy a lovely family holiday together. This is a must holiday!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
272
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our second visit to Bosinver & we had another wonderful holiday. Our two boys aged 6 & 10 love the animal feeding, pony rides & Wild Kids but the addition of the new indoor pool proved to be a huge hit with them. No matter what we were doing each day they wanted to have some pool time.

What I love about Bosinver is that our boys don't touch the TV for the whole holiday. They play with the toys in the cottage or the ones they've brought with them, they play in the games room or the other play areas or they sit & watch the rabbits in the fields. No electronic gadgets required!!

The farm is such a relaxing place, easy going & carefree. If you are new to Cornwall Dave & Pat have a wealth of knowledge about where to visit - much better than Google! One of Dave's favourites, the speed boat at Padstow, was brilliant fun we all loved it.
The cottages are all lovely, clean & have everything you need. BBQ's are available to use, we had 2 this year as the weather was so lovely. If you want great meat for a BBQ then Kittow's butchers next to Tesco is brilliant, they're really friendly and meat is excellent quality. We ordered our food on the way to the beach & picked it up on the way back.

The magic at Bosinver will stay with you, so book early or you'll miss out! Needless to say we've already booked for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelF1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I cannot recommend bosinver highly enough. We stayed in Polclay; a charming little cottage, like a home from home. The animal feeding every morning is wonderful. All the staff and of course Farmer Dave, are very friendly and helpful. There's lots to do on the farm but its location is fantastic with beaches etc only a short drive away. Bosinver is a wonderful place to holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

great holiday for families with young kids. good access into st. austell with easy travelling to either north or south coast beaches. on-site indoor pool a real bonus for unwinding after a hot day on the beach, or to while away a rainy day. feed the farm animals every day and an easy walk to the local pub, serving excellent local food and beers. highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashwoodham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballywalter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having just returned from a wonderfully sunny holiday in Cornwall I don't think I can add much more to all the great recommendations for Bosinver, but I will try! Pear cottage was quiet and and had all the facilities we needed. The only minor issue is a very small bathroom but that only added to its charm. We ate breakfast outside on our veranda every morning before heading off for the day. A few places we went to were:
Day trip to St Ives, St Michael's Mount and Land's End. Brilliant and not too far. In St Ives we hired a speed boat for 15 mins for £15 which was just long enough to entertain a 5 and 3 year old. St Michalel's mount was great as we had free entry with Nat Trust cards. Ferry boat across does charge a small fee but we were able to walk back as tide was out. Children's trail was fun and age appropriate and our kids received a special medal at the end much to their delight!
Charming towns such as Padstow, St Mawes and Fowey were lovely and a good place to have a wander and an ice cream. We ate a meal in the King of Prussia in Padstow and enjoyed listening to a brass band playing on the quayside.
Lappa Valley Trains were great for the kids. Tip: go for 2pm and get £10 off family pass. 3 hours there is plenty of time.
Beaches: Gorran Haven and Porthcurrnick were both close by, the latter being our favourite with The Hidden Hut ( from Caroline Qurentin's ITV programme)serving delicious sea food!
Healey's Cyder Farm was also a treat- free entry but pay for tractor ride arounfd orchards- kids under 6 free!
I would not recommend The Eden Project to people with children under 8- I had exchanged Tesco vouchers in advance to avoid paying £50+ entrance, so didn't waste our money but did waste our time- it really was just a hot long walk with nothing to do for our 3 and 5 year olds. Paid £5 for the children's activity book but still too advanced.
Inside our cottage Bosinver had compiled a brochure full of recommendations for places to visit, beaches and places to eat. This was invaluable and I brought it with me on days out. The guest book was also useful as previous visitors comments definitely helped us decide what we would like to do.
In the laundry room there was a DVD and book library, which we made use of.
Lastly a trip to Bosinver is not complete without a walk to the Polgooth Inn and our cottage was beside the lane that led to it. We went there 3 nights and the food was great and welcome always warm.
Have already had a look at next year's availability!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uglybettyCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSmith01, Owner at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your first visit to Bosinver so much and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon. We are already brimming with ideas for next year to make it even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fabulous place for families with young children. Some of the things ours loved were: animal feeding every day, zip-wire, HUGE trampoline right outside our cottage, lovely swimming pool, pony rides, Wild Kids club, tennis, swings and slides also outside our cottage, lovely play barn (for younger children), chickens and ducks roaming around the farm. Looking at the list it is hard to believe we had time to explore all the lovely town and beaches around!

The cottages are lovely and everything at Bosinver is done to a very high standard. Farmer Dave said that when they do something they want it to be the best it can be - wherever you look at Bosinver this rings true. Not only is there lots to do there, the owners have really thought of everything. There are wellies, barbecues, beach equipment, games, DVDs, high chairs, bed guards and anything else you could think of there for you to borrow!

I highly recommend Bosinver as a holiday destination for families with young children, we all LOVED it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just got back from a stay at Ploclay, having discovered Bosinver last year when we stayed at Buddlleia. We are already trying to book our time off next year with a view to returning then.
Our son is nearly 2, and absolutely loved the experience, be it feeding the animals with Farmer Dave, pony riding, burning energy in the play barn or outdoor play facilities, cooling off in the pool, exploring the woods and lake, or just sitting in the window watching the world (well, mainly chickens!) go by.
We were blessed with fantastic weather all week so spent a lot of time away from the site at the beach or exploring the area (he loved the green man at Heligan, the model railway museum and fish and chips from either chippy at Mevagissey, and any ice cream anywhere...).
The great thing about Bosinver is that even if the weather is more typically variable, there is plenty for young children to do on site, and plenty to do/ visit nearby. We met several other families who are repeat vistors too, the general consensus being the children loved it there.
Pat, Dave and their staff were all friendly and helpful, we had a great time, and would thoroughly recommend Bosinver to anyone with young children.
Thanks for another great holiday

Room Tip: The only thing we would recommend considering is booking a single floored house if you have very sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
1.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
9.9 mi away
Retallack Resort and Spa
Retallack Resort and Spa
#1 of 3 in St Columb Major
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosinver Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosinver Farm Cottages

Property: Bosinver Farm Cottages
Address: April Cottage Bosinver Lane | Cornwall, St Austell PL26 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosinver Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland's first ever national Family Friendly Accommodation of the Year Award 2017, Gold award for best self catering in England 2015, South West Tourism Excellence Awards and Cornwall Tourism Awards 2014/5. Individual detached cottages sleeping 4-12 in a peaceful secluded valley near the sea, the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. Excellent facilities for families including indoor swimming pool heated by solar energy, sauna, gym, therapy room, play barn, adventure playground, zip wire, tennis court and fishing lake, woodland trails and friendly farm animals. Wild Kids Forest School sessions for outdoor play including den building and campfire marshmallow toasting. Award winning village pub and shop only a short stroll away. Mumsnet Best UK Self Catering 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bosinver Farm Cottages St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing