We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still hooked on Bosinver!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bosinver Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Our third trip to Bosinver (staying in Trerose) was again exceptional. Excellent cottage, garden, parking, play barn, playgrounds, new enclosed trampoline, animal feeding, egg collecting, waks in wonderful countryside and loads more. We took mother in law this time and now she's hooked too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarFlower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 350 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is the second time we've been to Bosinver and if anything, I think we got even more out of it this time. We've looked at (and stayed in) many other self-catering properties and if you're travelling with a family you will not find better. Our kids fed animals, joined in the wild kids club, rode ponies, swam in the outdoor pool, zipwired, bounced on the trampoline, used the playbarn and played in the playground. When we could prise them away we were well placed for beaches, restaurants, the Eden project and many towns (trips to Fowey, Padstow etc).

The accommodation is great and well thought out but it is the lengths that these lovely people go to to ensure you have a great holiday that will amaze you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit to Bosinver and, as with the previous two, it was simply fabulous. The site itself is beautiful, well laid out and full of things to do. For example the pool is warm and conveniently located, there is an idyllic lake and the play barn (soft play area) and other play equipment is imaginatively set up and well maintained.

However, brilliant as all that is, it the animal feeding, pony riding and outdoor activities which lift Bosinver above the very good to the excellent. "Farmer Dave" who runs these (and who quite rightly had his own fan club on facebook) is absolutely excellent with the children and the morning ritual (as it became) of going to the farm yard was the absolute highlight of our 2 and a half year (and our) holiday. Simple as it sounds it is so good in its execution that it was a daily joy to behold.

As for the accommodation, it is very comfortable and well thought through. Pretty but not chintzy and really rather stylish.

The on-site amenities are very good as well: a free DVD library, buggies and barbecues which can be borrowed and a freezer full of delicious goodies to buy when you can't be bothered to cook.

Finally, of course, is the brilliant location. Pretty towns like Fowey and Mevagissey are less than 25 minutes away. Heligan and Eden are also within easy striking distance. And watergate bay, our favourite uk beach, is only an easy 30 minute drive. If you want to leave the car pentewan can be cycled to along the valley trail or could even be walked with older children we reckon.

We can give no higher recommendation than this: we shall be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickdlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSmith01, Owner at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thanks for the lovely review. We're really glad you had such a great time and we'll look forward to welcoming you back to Bosinver next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed at the Lowen for the May Bank holiday weekend. There were eight of us and not a lot of places offer decent accommodations with our size! When we arrived after a long drive from London, we were gobsmacked! We found the cottage to be absolutely stunning! The kitchen was modern and provided just what we need to cook a few dinners and breakfasts, the bedrooms were gorgeous although we had to combine twin beds together in one room as all of us were couples. The design and set up was very quirky with the cottage's original features being highlighted, at the same time modern twist and colourful accents were all over the place.There was also a hot tub and a place to hang out outside for bbqs. Unfortunately it was too cold for us to do that!

In the mornings we find ducks, horses and other farm animals that really enamoured us "townies" !! I would highly recommend this place as it was also very ideal to visit other places within a 45 minute to an hour's drive. From our visit to St Ives and Padstow, it was wonderful to see that some of the furnishings of our cottage were from local artists / designers and that local community / support is advocated in this property. This is a wonderful cottage that we'd like to go back again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babydoll_Nexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Having initially chosen Bosinver for the charming Coliza cottage we were extremely happy with the complex overall. We have 7 month old twins who are too young for most of the activities but not too young for the heated swimming pool which went down a treat. We will be returning when our kids are a little bit older and are able to appreciate all that happens. We have already been recommending Bosinver to friends who have seen our photo's.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_m__852012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

If you've got kids, this is a fantastic place to stay. If you haven't, it might still be worth a look, although it's definitely geared towards families.

There are a number of cottages on the complex, which is no longer a working farm. There's a decent sized playbarn, an outdoor playground, a games room with pool, table football, table tennis and darts for older kids (and dads!). There's an outdoor swimming pool and sauna. There are meadows aplenty, and a lake at the bottom of the farm in the woods.

There are animal feeding sessions every morning with Farmer Dave, who is a very lovely fellow. They are great fun - a chance to get close up with some very tame ducks, chickens, sheep, goats and lamb. There is also a pony ride once a week.

Other facilities include a room with PC and internet, laundry, and a library of books/DVDs to borrow.

As long as you've got a car, it's handily located. It's close to a small village, Polgooth, which has got a lovely pub and a village shop and post office. Lovely little Mevagissey is only five miles away, Fowey about half an hour, St Ives an hour, Padstow and St.Mawes 45 minutes. Close to the Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan. Surrounded by idyllic villages, lovely walking country, great beer!

We stayed in Cherry Cottage, which is all on one level. Three bedrooms, one en suite, open plan kitchen/diner/living room. Not huge, but well located, and would happily accommodate six.
It looks onto a meadow where rabbits frolic and jump, and ducks waddle down on their way to the pond.

Bosinver does a lot of repeat business, and it's no surprise. We'll definitely be back again. I can't recommend it enough.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank pswnio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSmith01, Owner at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely comments - in fact we almost feel like Pop and Ma Larkin! Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just back from a holiday in Bosinver for the third year in a row. As always it didn't disappoint. Even though the weather was wet there are still plenty of ways to have fun. The kids love the well-equipped playbarn, feeding the animals with Farmer Dave is always a hit and the 'Wild Kids' forest adventure where they got to help build a fire and toast marshmallows was really good fun.

We've been to Bosinver many times over the years, both pre and post children, and stayed in a number of different cottages. They all have a luxurious feel, and stunning views. It's the perfect place to relax and unwind from the stresses of city living.

We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WicklowSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
13.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,225 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,594 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
3.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosinver Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosinver Farm Cottages

Address: April Cottage Bosinver Lane | Cornwall, St Austell PL26 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in St Austell
Price Range: $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosinver Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland's first ever national Family Friendly Accommodation of the Year Award 2017, Gold award for best self catering in England 2015, South West Tourism Excellence Awards and Cornwall Tourism Awards 2014/5. Individual detached cottages sleeping 4-12 in a peaceful secluded valley near the sea, the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. Excellent facilities for families including indoor swimming pool heated by solar energy, sauna, gym, therapy room, play barn, adventure playground, zip wire, tennis court and fishing lake, woodland trails and friendly farm animals. Wild Kids Forest School sessions for outdoor play including den building and campfire marshmallow toasting. Award winning village pub and shop only a short stroll away. Mumsnet Best UK Self Catering. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bosinver Farm Cottages St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing