We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in a nut shell!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bosinver Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Have just returned from a weekend at Bosinver....this was to celebrate my Mum's 60th birthday. There were 12 of us and we stayed in the Farm House. I would recommend Bosinver to anyone!!!! It was idyllic and perfect to relax and chill away from the hustle of living in Bristol!

Every detail is thought through, nothing is too much trouble for the owners, its just brilliant!!

The FarmHouse is stunning, each room is decorated beautifully and is like a home from home! Everything is thought of from games for the children even to a garlic press in the kitchen!!

Families would not be disappointed either!!

Bosinver is ideal for all types looking for a relaxing break...highly recommended!!

Thank you Bosinver!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katielou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 351 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

we have been here at bosinver farm cottages for nearly a week now and i love love love it we are staying in lowen the Eco cottage which is truly amazing. the photos and comments just don't do it justice. farmer daves trip to feed the animals and ride the ponies is lovely the children love it and dont want to go they would stay all day. finding the gruffalo in the woods and playing on the zip line were our boys highlight. everything here is set out so you dont do everything at once and you can do somthing each day. the play park the play barn swim gruffalo trail games room tennis its just perfect. trips to the beach are even catered for with a shed full of equipment to borrow. i highly recomend bosinver to everyone. BUT there is 1 big problem you just dont want to go home ................ thats a bonus. the hetheringtons march 2012
thank you pat dave and all at bosinver xxxx

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We have stayed at Bosinver four times now and we all (Mum, Dad, Son aged 9 and daughter aged 7) absolutely love it there. It is so relaxing but what really makes the place special are the owners and Helen who take the time to talk to every guest without ever rushing away. We left it nearly three years between our last two visits but still felt completely at home the minute we got there. The cottages are well equipped, the land is meticulously cared for, the children love the animal feeding each morning which happens come rain or shine and the other facilities are great. We first went when our children were 3 and 1, then 4 and 2, then 6 and 4 and finally 9 and 7. We have all loved it every time and as far as we and our children are concerned, we cannot imagine staying anywhere else as to us Bosinver IS Cornwall! If you want a wellies, mud, beach and fresh air kind of holiday with some luxuries thrown in, then this is the place for you. We can't imagine there is anywhere better in Cornwall. We LOVE Bosinver!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keenandfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We couldn't decide where to go with our 4 yr old and 18mth old during February half term. Having looked at winter sun holidays and the possibility of skiing we were recommended Bosinver by a school friend and had no real preconceptions other than that there was ritual daily feeding of the animals.

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted very warmly by Pat and Fiona then led to our cottage (Trerose) which was completely stunning inside, like being in a 5* hotel but completely your own. White company bed linen and designers guild fabrics everywhere it was beautiful. We stayed during the ridiculously cold weather and the cottage was so warm as well which was a relief with 2 young children. There is a log burning fire which we didn't end up using but nice touch.

The daily animal feeding with Farmer Dave and Helen was the highlight of the boys day and a really lovely routine for the adults as it was a stroll from the cottage and built in entertainment for the children and a generally sociable event meeting the other families staying at Bosinver. Our eldest loved being able to eat the eggs he had collected the next morning.

We only used the play barn once as the weather was pretty sunny but the facility is fantastic. The playground was an unexpected bonus with huge play combine harvester, tractor and sandpit, swings etc which was a 20 metre walk from the cottage so we would migrate there after animal feeding armed with hot chocolate and biscuits we grabbed from the cottage on the way past.

We went out for lunch a few times down at Sam's down at Polkerris which is a really cool place and also went to the Eden Project which is only 10 mins drive from Bosinver. There is lots to do on the doorstep if you want to and Pat will give you all the info you need.

Basically, we find life pretty busy and going to Bosinver completely broke our pace and we went back to basics and spent loads of time together as a family in relaxed surroundings with surprisingly high quality accommodation. I would recommend this place to anyone, especially Trerose cottage. I know a few people said they enjoyed going there more out of season as it can sting a bit to pay the premium to go in peak summer months then get rubbish weather but I guess that is the nature of the great British holiday!

Great place, we'll go back.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages could be a bit noisy due to being near the A390 but you don't notice it ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfamilyrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We've been as a family to Bosinver twice and are booked to go again this year. Its family heaven...the kids feed the animals every morning with Farmer Dave, so its fresh eggs for breakie everyday!

If you then wish to stay on the farm there is plenty to do (tennis, swimming, playgrounds, fishing, zip wires, gym, walking etc) or if you wish to travel to the beaches or towns its a great launch point. Theres also a good local family friendly pub in walking distance if you want to eat out.

The cottages are specced to a high standard and the owners obviously take a great deal of pride in the fit out and maintenance. The only way to improve it would be to control the Cornish weather somehow....

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jedismaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

After a long drive down to cornwall we were very happy to arrive at Bosinver looking forward to our weeks stay (having read all the +ve reviews). We were shown to our cottage which was up some steps and were really pleased by the decor and the cleanliness.

Our daughter loved feeding the ducks which work round the cottages every day as well as going to feed the chickens, lambs and other animals that are fed once a day with the farmer.

There are preprepared meals available from the freezer in reception which were excellent. Either book them before hand and they are put into your freezer in the cottage or buy them as and when! One of the major supermarkets also delivers to make your life easy.

Trelowth is only round the corner from several lovely beaches and the Lost gardens of heligan, and a little further away from the Eden Project, Camel Valley Vineyards (well worth a visit!!!) and Fifteen (Jamie Olivers restaurant) on the north coast.

Room Tip: Look at the map on the website to chose a house which is appropriate to your group size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_Anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in Hydrangea Cottage at Bosinver for 2 weeks over Christmas and had the best time. When we arrived after a long day travelling, the cottage was toasty warm and there were mince pies, chocolate and wine left out for us - a sight for sore eyes! The cottage was well equipped, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Everything at Bosinver is of good quality and there are nice touches such as dvds, books and games available to borrow and a printer in the internet room that guests can use. Staying at Bosinver made Christmas very special for us, especially as we could bring our dog (who also rates the stay 5 stars!). The location is great for the Eden project and Pentewan beach and trail walk are only 5 minutes away by car. St Austell is also just up the road and has plently of shops and several supermarkets. We cannot recommend Bosinver highly enough, it was fab!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
13.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,256 reviews
1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Gwel an Mor
Gwel an Mor
#1 of 2 in Portreath
720 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Valley
The Valley
#1 of 4 in Carnon Downs
222 reviews
6.2 mi away
Green Acres Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosinver Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosinver Farm Cottages

Address: April Cottage Bosinver Lane | Cornwall, St Austell PL26 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in St Austell
Price Range: $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosinver Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland's first ever national Family Friendly Accommodation of the Year Award 2017, Gold award for best self catering in England 2015, South West Tourism Excellence Awards and Cornwall Tourism Awards 2014/5. Individual detached cottages sleeping 4-12 in a peaceful secluded valley near the sea, the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. Excellent facilities for families including indoor swimming pool heated by solar energy, sauna, gym, therapy room, play barn, adventure playground, zip wire, tennis court and fishing lake, woodland trails and friendly farm animals. Wild Kids Forest School sessions for outdoor play including den building and campfire marshmallow toasting. Award winning village pub and shop only a short stroll away. Mumsnet Best UK Self Catering. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bosinver Farm Cottages St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing