We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Heaven....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bosinver Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family Heaven....”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We've been as a family to Bosinver twice and are booked to go again this year. Its family heaven...the kids feed the animals every morning with Farmer Dave, so its fresh eggs for breakie everyday!

If you then wish to stay on the farm there is plenty to do (tennis, swimming, playgrounds, fishing, zip wires, gym, walking etc) or if you wish to travel to the beaches or towns its a great launch point. Theres also a good local family friendly pub in walking distance if you want to eat out.

The cottages are specced to a high standard and the owners obviously take a great deal of pride in the fit out and maintenance. The only way to improve it would be to control the Cornish weather somehow....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jedismaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
279
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

After a long drive down to cornwall we were very happy to arrive at Bosinver looking forward to our weeks stay (having read all the +ve reviews). We were shown to our cottage which was up some steps and were really pleased by the decor and the cleanliness.

Our daughter loved feeding the ducks which work round the cottages every day as well as going to feed the chickens, lambs and other animals that are fed once a day with the farmer.

There are preprepared meals available from the freezer in reception which were excellent. Either book them before hand and they are put into your freezer in the cottage or buy them as and when! One of the major supermarkets also delivers to make your life easy.

Trelowth is only round the corner from several lovely beaches and the Lost gardens of heligan, and a little further away from the Eden Project, Camel Valley Vineyards (well worth a visit!!!) and Fifteen (Jamie Olivers restaurant) on the north coast.

Room Tip: Look at the map on the website to chose a house which is appropriate to your group size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_Anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in Hydrangea Cottage at Bosinver for 2 weeks over Christmas and had the best time. When we arrived after a long day travelling, the cottage was toasty warm and there were mince pies, chocolate and wine left out for us - a sight for sore eyes! The cottage was well equipped, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Everything at Bosinver is of good quality and there are nice touches such as dvds, books and games available to borrow and a printer in the internet room that guests can use. Staying at Bosinver made Christmas very special for us, especially as we could bring our dog (who also rates the stay 5 stars!). The location is great for the Eden project and Pentewan beach and trail walk are only 5 minutes away by car. St Austell is also just up the road and has plently of shops and several supermarkets. We cannot recommend Bosinver highly enough, it was fab!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed in Lowen Cottage over the New Year, and I really can't speak highly enough of both the property and its owners. It was perfect in every way, and one of my most memorable holidays. Would recommend Bosinver Farm Cottages without reservation!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim_hague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed with 7 of my friends at the Eco House "Lowen" - part of the Bosinver holiday complex this weekend & had the most amazing time. We have stayed at many quality establishments over the years for our "girls weekends away" but this Eco house exceeded our expectations. The attention to detail is second to none; beautiful local artwork & quirky handmade furniture, luxurious quality bedding & superb kitchen - Pat & Dave really have thought of everything & we particularly loved the open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area as it was so sociable for a group such as ours. A thoroughly enjoyable weekend & can't wait to go back with my family next time to share this special place with them.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebBigBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We have stayed at Bosinver so many times now! Our children just want to keep going back as there is so much to do, they love it and feel at home straight away. There is always something new to look at and do and although there is lots on the site, Bosinver is a really peaceful and special place. The cottages have everything you need so that makes for a relaxing time for the parents. We have stayed at Bosinver for Christmas and New Year and everything is laid on, decorations, Christmas tree, wine and chocolates on arrival, it is really a magical experience. Would not hesitate to recommend Bosinver to anyone. Lots of familes go but it's not just for families as there really is something for everyone there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Had a fantastic half-term week at Bosinver - our boys (aged 6,5 and 17 months) loved every single minute - onfact our 6 year old was in tears as we left! From the daily animal feeding - great fun even in the pouring rain, to the outdoor play areas, woodland walk, playbarn, games room - everything is well thought out, and beautifully looked after. We even braved a dip in the outdoor pool!! We also loved the extra activities (wild Kids and Pumpkin party!) The cottage was lovely and cosy (Polclay) and had everything we needed for a family of 5 - the fact that our back door opened on to the playground was an added bonus meaning our children could have that bit of freedom they can't get at home. All in all a fantastic holiday in beautiful surrondings, with loads of things to do outside your door, and the friendliness of Dave, Pat and Helen was the added extra that takes this to a definate must-return holiday spot - we'll be back next year!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katylou32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
13.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,178 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
12.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
7.9 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
661 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosinver Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosinver Farm Cottages

Property: Bosinver Farm Cottages
Address: April Cottage Bosinver Lane | Cornwall, St Austell PL26 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosinver Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland's first ever national Family Friendly Accommodation of the Year Award 2017, Gold award for best self catering in England 2015, South West Tourism Excellence Awards and Cornwall Tourism Awards 2014/5. Individual detached cottages sleeping 4-12 in a peaceful secluded valley near the sea, the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. Excellent facilities for families including indoor swimming pool heated by solar energy, sauna, gym, therapy room, play barn, adventure playground, zip wire, tennis court and fishing lake, woodland trails and friendly farm animals. Wild Kids Forest School sessions for outdoor play including den building and campfire marshmallow toasting. Award winning village pub and shop only a short stroll away. Mumsnet Best UK Self Catering 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bosinver Farm Cottages St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing