We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating tour and good beers!”
Review of St Austell Brewery

St Austell Brewery
Ranked #3 of 48 things to do in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the newly refurbished St Austell Brewery Visitor Centre and Hicks Bar. Our Visit England accredited Visitor Centre reveals the secrets behind our award-winning brewing process. Submerge yourself in more than 160 years of brewing excellence and discover the heritage of this proudly independent family brewery. Our Hicks Bar is open 9.00am to 6.00pm. So, whether you are popping in for a coffee and a cake, a tasty pub meal or just a pint of your favourite beer, we will be happy to satisfy your appetite! And don't forget to pay a visit to the St Austell Brewery shop. With the full range of delicious St Austell bottled and canned beers (including some exclusive beers from our Small Batch Brewery) and branded gifts and clothing plus finest Walter Hicks wines, there's a drink or gift for every occasion. Plus lots of beer of course! Please note dogs are welcome in the outside decking area and shop downstairs. Only guide dogs are allowed in the Hicks Bar and museum.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating tour and good beers!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I had a jolly time at the St. Austell Brewery. The staff were friendly, helpful and made us feel welcome. We had tour guide Mike, who was quite opinionated and very entertaining. The tour itself was engaging and open - we felt we could ask questions and proffer opinions - and I came away knowing a lot more about the beer I was about to sample!

Sampling was a fun and almost theatrical experience with Mike behind his purpose made bar waxing lyrical about the pros and cons of a stout or an IPA. It also made me very enthusiastic about getting into the proper bar and trying the two half pints worth that came with the ticket price. I polished off a 1913 and a Trelawny and they tasted better with Mike's words spinning around my brain.

Couldn't have asked for more for the price we paid and I would love to return by train and make a full day of it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    108
    10
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I booked a tour here for my husband on a weekend away. His favourite pint is tribute and Mike made our tour so memorable a huge thank you for making our tour so interesting

Helpful?
1 Thank Paddlelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“all you need to know about brewing”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

chose to do the brewery visit on a very wet Monday as it was all indoors, but enjoyed the experience immensley. our tour guide nick was a friendly host full of facts and figures, and he included everyone in his discourse. The sampling session proved popular with everyone and bar area is bright and welcoming. if you are looking for an unusual present, you can have a label made up for a variety different beers with your own personal message - excellent!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank raoulthemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Samples, samples, samples!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited this brewery when staying with friends in the south of Cornwall. It was raining heavily at the time, so we went somewhere dry and warm!

Although we weren't able to go on a tour (they were all booked), we found the museum interesting and worth a look around. Amongst the information about the brewing process, we discovered an old invoice for hops that had come from just a few miles away from where we live. This was when large family groups travelled down from London to spend time picking and having a break from the city. Small world.

Although we didn't want any food at the time, an extremely helpful and friendly lady behind the bar (Anne? Apologies if the name is wrong. We were the group of 4 talking to the Australian lady on Monday 17th Feb) asked us if we wanted to try any of the beers. So, of course we said yes, expecting perhaps a small taster of each in a shot glass, maybe. What we actually got was a generous sample for each of the four of us for each beer. This was amazing and probably got any other visitors there thinking we were planning for a lock in. And of course, we bought quite a few in the shop downstairs...

Even if you don't try the beers, the brewery is a great place to visit and recommended. Though of course it would be a shame not to....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank choc4basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent experience for all ages”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Visited late yesterday too late for the tour but a really helpful lady gave us a tour of the museum and an insightful history which she did without requests. She kept the shop open past 5.30 so she ensured our personalised beer labels were printed and applied. Having suggested we visit the bar upstairs, we enjoyed the sampler beers.
This brewery has kept small and friendly at its heart. Amazing experience for grown ups and interesting to keep the little ones happy.
Review from our 6 year old "A real big fat YES".

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Austell Brewery also viewed

 

Been to St Austell Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing