We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative, Fun, Interesting. Fantastic.”
Review of St Austell Brewery

St Austell Brewery
Ranked #3 of 43 things to do in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the newly refurbished St Austell Brewery Visitor Centre and Hicks Bar. Our Visit England accredited Visitor Centre reveals the secrets behind our award-winning brewing process. Submerge yourself in more than 160 years of brewing excellence and discover the heritage of this proudly independent family brewery. Our Hicks Bar is open 9.00am to 6.00pm. So, whether you are popping in for a coffee and a cake, a tasty pub meal or just a pint of your favourite beer, we will be happy to satisfy your appetite! And don't forget to pay a visit to the St Austell Brewery shop. With the full range of delicious St Austell bottled and canned beers (including some exclusive beers from our Small Batch Brewery) and branded gifts and clothing plus finest Walter Hicks wines, there's a drink or gift for every occasion. Plus lots of beer of course! Please note dogs are welcome in the outside decking area and shop downstairs. Only guide dogs are allowed in the Hicks Bar and museum.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Newbury, Berkshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Informative, Fun, Interesting. Fantastic.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I visited this brewery with my family after finding information about it on Trip Advisor. I certainly wasn't disappointed. After booking in advance (which is advisable), we arrived a few minutes late. This didn't seem to phase anyone and, very kindly, the tour waited for us. Grant was our tour guide who was very welcoming and knew pretty much everything there was to know about the place.

We got to see and hear about how the beer is brewed, how the machines are used, how the old machines were used and what they expect for the future.

We then got to go and look at the bottling of the beer.

The tour ended up at the bar where we got to try some different beers and lagers. We also got two vouchers enabling us to have a pint (two half pints) of any drink from the bar.

We sampled the food in the restaurant which was delicious!

Overall, fantastic.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank the1techi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    104
    9
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have been to the brewery a few time now, each time the tour is better than before. The work that has been completed over the last year has enhanced the trip, adding a modern v old history, and increase production at the same time, can't be bad! Will be back again no doubt. Cheers to Anne (our tour guide)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An interesting visit”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked this in advance, following other reviews on trip advisor, as tour group numbers are limited. We went on a Sunday afternoon and so the brewery wasnt actually in production, which I wish I had known as it would have been better to see it in action. However, there was still alot to see and smell and it was interesting and my husband, who's choice of visit it was, loved it.
The tour guide was knowledgeable, but a little bit too full of self serving jokes and went on a bit, causing the tour to over run and we had to rush the tasting at the end as they closed at 4pm. The entrance price allows small tasters of several ales and 2 half pints of your choice, as I was driving, I asked if I could exchange my 2 tokens for a bottle to take away, which was fine. Children get a soft drink of their choice (seems a bit pricey for children as they dont get all the beer to taste and probably wouldnt choose this visit.) All in all, worth a visit if you like real ales.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeshireBots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I really enjoyed the tour of the Brewery. It was great value for money (£6 for students - I imagine slightly higher for adults). Included in this price was a tour, tasting a few ales and also vouchers for two half pints in the bar. The tour itself was really interesting and you got to see around the real working brewery. My partner had been to another brewery and said it was like being shown round a museum - this one is different, you get to see where all the work goes on. The tasting of the ales was great, very generous amounts given! Also the two vouchers for the half pints meant we got to try 4 out of their ales - all of which were a great standard. The shop is also good value - I was expecting it to be a bit overpriced, but the prices were very reasonable and we went home this lots of ale :)
I wouldn't really recommend this to famillies with young children as there was a few kids there who looked extremely bored - obviously not old enough to know how good ale is!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michaela_P86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battersea,London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit even if you don't prefer ale”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We arrived having not booked the brewery tour. Unfortunately the tours that day (a Sunday) were fully booked, however, we were encouraged to visit the museum and the bar & shop. We discovered lots about the brewery & brewing and saw the brewery through the viewing glass.

The brewery doesn't brew on weekends so we wouldn't have seen it in action even if we could have joined the tour.

We were well looked after in the bar and encouraged to try tasters of as many ales & larger we wished. We were treated to knowledgable info on each and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, even though the majority of our group were both female and not ale drinkers.

Well worth a visit, book a tour during the week & enjoy wonderful hospitality.

Helpful?
Thank Chris&Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Austell Brewery also viewed

 

Been to St Austell Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing