We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food & great service”

Kingswood Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 143 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An informal bistro style dining experience on the outskirts of St austell, serving amazingly fresh local fish & shell fish, meltingly tender Cornish steaks and interesting European dishes. We look forward to welcoming you...
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food & great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

After seeing the reviews we decided to give the Kingswood a try on the Steak & Shellfish night and only just managed to get a table as we didn't book. The restaurant is spotlessly clean and a lovely place to eat and chat. The food was cooked perfectly, the only slight negative was the food being over seasoned. I'd be happy to return but would ask for less seasoning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HighlandWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    181
    68
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a amazing evening, on arrival we had a nice greeting by a friendly member of staff made us feel very welcome. Lots of selection on the menu to choose from , the service and food exceeded all expectations I had ! Will 100% be returning to the kingswood :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greenarmy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite a disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My mother and I decided to go for lunch, after having read excellent reviews on this site. Unfortunately, this restaurant did not live up to our expectations. The food was rather salty, and seemed too basic for a restaurant with such good reviews. The only redeeming thing about our meal was the coffee we had, which was significantly better than the food served. The staff and atmosphere were average, needless to say we will not be going there again. Pity, because it seems to be ranked quite highly overall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Any excuse to return to this restaurant, it never fails me and was with a really good friend who happens to be a top chef from out of county, so felt that I was under scrunity as well. He thought the food was superb and said he would definetly come back. Dont think that there's much more to say.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyldesley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening and an enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked a table for four for the last night of our holiday as we had intended visiting earlier but the restaurant does not open on Sunday Monday or Tuesday evenings out of peak holiday season. The restaurant is cosy and welcoming and enjoys very good patronage, as it was full for most of our visit. The menu selection has a good choice to suit most tastesand they do cater for gluten free requirements (just ask). The service was quick and friendly and the food was very good and well presented and the price was not too expensive either. Would we go there again, a definite yes to that question.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aweighandappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingswood Bar & Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Kingswood Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing