We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat and chill”

Kingswood Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 143 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An informal bistro style dining experience on the outskirts of St austell, serving amazingly fresh local fish & shell fish, meltingly tender Cornish steaks and interesting European dishes. We look forward to welcoming you...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to eat and chill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went here on Friday night - the last night of our hols in Cornwall. Lovely, friendly staff - could not have helped enough and make you feel at ease. Very tasty food and kids meals were nice too. Would highly recommend this place if you want somewhere to relax, chill and be well looked after. Very reasonable price and lovely surroundings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieG1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    181
    68
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just had a brilliant meal at Kingswood, the staff were friendly and relaxed, they didn't look stressed or overworked. The atmosphere was a really nice balance between posh and laid back, not at all pretentious and the food was delicious. The Moroccan Tagine, the goats cheese tart and the chocolate and salt caramel mousse were particularly good! Very good value for money. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandion23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this by locals and can see why. Delicious food, great value and good service-all in all, a lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandTlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just had a great meal at te Kingswood, I went with the Seafood curry as recommended by previous reviews it was fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellersSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food great, service dreadful.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were a party of 4 adults out for an evening meal. We had booked a taxi to drop us at the restaurant at 7.45 and collect at 10pm. We were shown to our table immediately and asked if we wanted drinks, which we declined. Our starters came very quickly, but then we waited for a long time before our mains were served. it was so long that we asked the waiter if we had been forgotten. We had hardly finished that course when we were asked if we wanted the dessert menu. We said we would appreciate a break.We were then left too long again, and had to ask for the menus. We made it known to the waiter that we had only 15 minutes left before the taxi arrived, so we asked for our desserts and the bill at the same time. The gentlemen of the party went to the bar to sort out the bill and in the rush to keep our taxi from waiting one of our friends left his house keys on the table. He didn't realise until we reached home, and he had to ask the taxi to return to the restaurant to collect them, incurring another fare. The food was very good, and the surroundings were pleasant, but the poor service really let the place down and spoilt our evening, especially at the end. There seemed to be no co-ordination between the waiting staff. We note that other customers have commented on this poor service as far back as last year. It is a shame that these comments do not seem to have been taken notice of.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingswood Bar & Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Kingswood Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing