We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kingswood just gets better and better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingswood Bar & Restaurant

Kingswood Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 142 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An informal bistro style dining experience on the outskirts of St austell, serving amazingly fresh local fish & shell fish, meltingly tender Cornish steaks and interesting European dishes. We look forward to welcoming you...
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Kingswood just gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a meeting of the clan last Sunday 7 July; despite increasing the number from the orginal 9 up to 13 and a late arrival the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. With ages ranging 2 to 92 the waiting staff never stopped smiling and despite a packed restaurant the food was excellent.

Between us all we must have tried the whole of the lunch menu - starters included mushroom soup, squid, crab, goats cheese and smoked salmon. The main courses included sea bass, roast beef, roast chicken, vegtable targine and steak.

All local produce, all beautifully cooked and served with style.

It is great to see a local couple doing so well, the excellent service and high quality food are great value for money. So good we booked to come back on the Wednesday!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kernowirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    179
    63
    31
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Brilliant meal out!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My partner and I visited the restaurant tonight and absolutely loved it! The food was brilliant, couldn't fault a thing. The staff were all welcoming and polite, such a great location! Would well recommend this restaurant, will definitely be going back:-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank melissajones0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a wonderful dining experience celebrating friends anniversary . As such our expectations where high, but was more than met! Having a drink in a quite corner browsing the impressive menu and waiting to be seated when the starter was ready, was just such a good start. We were all after the scallops which were absolutely divine. What we also appreciate, was the chef's flexibility to cater for special requests which were not even on the menu. All in all , this was one of the best dining experiences we had in the UK and definitely the best in Cornwall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This really is a stunning restaurant with great staff and amazing food ! Really couldnt fault it!
The prices may be slightly higher than some restaurants but all I can say it is more than worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becsder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

had a brilliant meal, cooked perfectly, the service was second to none, we've been to the other restaurants that have scored higher on trip advisor, but think Kingswood should be number 1.. It's probably because they don't ask you to go on the site, where the other ones do,,,, we were there on Wednesday evening and it was packed, ( never seen the top1 and 2 that busy).. says it all.. Well done Kingswood

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingswood Bar & Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Kingswood Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing