We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people great food great location”
Review of Polgooth Inn

Polgooth Inn
Ranked #1 of 147 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning cosy Cornish pub situated in a beautiful valley near St Austell and the Eden Project serving great food, wine,ale, and coffee.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great people great food great location”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

This fab pub has ticked all the boxes with an excelkent location top class menu and cosy atmosphere. Well done polgooth never fails to impress.

Helpful?
Thank Allywatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
This is lovely to read and very much appreciated, I am glad we ticked all of your boxes and you found our menu 'top class'! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    858
    324
    76
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Garry”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Best meal we had in the week we stayed in Mevagissey. Wish we found it sooner. Fantastic service and very good value for money . Kids portions were good size.

Helpful?
1 Thank Garry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for this kind review Garry, let's hope you get the time to visit us more often next time you are down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gave it another go and bit of a fail”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Haven't returned to Polgooth inn for some time following a poor Sunday lunch. Decided to give it another go & shouldn't have bothered. First meal returned as luke warm & by time replacement arrived my guest had finished theirs. Food was ok, service lacking as wasn't asked if any sauces etc required. It wasn't busy in the pub so really no excuses - May be a very long time before I review them again, if ever.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Andy Y

Thank tou for your review, i'm very sorry to hear you have had another bad experience at the Polgooth Inn. It does concern me that you have been disatified on two ocassions as we generally get good comments and feed back at the time of visit. Regarding your first visit we have changed our sunday roast and we are getting very good responses to it.

On your latest visit you mentioned it was quiet which leads me to believe that you may have come in the afternoon. We do full table service and all the staff are trained to do check backs and also get the customer anything they require, i am sorry and dissapointed that you obviously did not get this on your visit, as we pride ourselves on offering a service of a higher standard. I will certainley bring this up with our staff.

I do hope you will return again to do a review as i am dissappointed that you believe our pub is average.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips Ever !”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We visited this restaurant following reviews on Trip Advisor and they were not wrong. It is very busy but they always find you a table within 30 mins and the bar is very comfortable. The first time we went there we had the fish pie which was recommended by the barman and was very good. The second time I had the cod and chips which was huge and the best piece of fish I have ever tasted. Would definitely recommend. Good value too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We do pride ourselves on our tasty batter and get a lot of positive comment's about our Cod and Chips, I am pleased you enjoyed yours. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect country pub.”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were recommended to eat here by the lady who owned the bed and breakfast we stayed in. We wanted some good pub grub, and this did not disappoint. The menu has loads to choose from, I had the fish stew which was delicious! The atmosphere is good as well. We chose to eat outside because the views were lovely and then went in the cosy and comfy bar for a few too many wines. Perfect place to go if you're after a country pub that serves quality grub.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natthompson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Being described as the perfect country pub is very much appreciated! - Thank you. I am glad that our food did not disapoint and that you had plenty to choose from. We are lucky enough to have stunning views from our garden and I am pleased that the weather was good enough for you to eat outside. Our fish stew has been particularly popular of late and I am glad you enjoyed it, please come and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing