We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal”
Review of Polgooth Inn

Polgooth Inn
Ranked #1 of 147 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning cosy Cornish pub situated in a beautiful valley near St Austell and the Eden Project serving great food, wine,ale, and coffee.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed another lovely meal . Fish and chips, vegetable lasagne and jacket potato all got top marks- thank you

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us top marks on our food in this lovely review, we appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    858
    324
    76
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We visited this pub while staying nearby at the Meadows campsite. We'd heard about the "sunday sessions" with live music and a bbq on a sunday afternoon which sounded fab.
We arrived to a lovely beer garden, fab weather, great music, and a superb food menu. Actually, the menu looked so good we didn't have the barbecue in the end, but all the food looked fab! Lovely range of main courses, including veggie options, great staff, and nice atmosphere. Atmosphere looked nice inside too if it wasn't sowarm.
They seemed to have thought of everything, from jugs of water on the bar to help yourself too, to 2/3 pint size glasses, and blankets if you got cold. It was dog friendly which was great for us,and they even gave us some ice to take back with us in exchange for a donation to the RNLI.
Husband is still raving about the Polgooth Inn so we'll definitely be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EllenBranagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for finding the time to write this lovely review, we try and meet our customer's needs where ever possible and are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your day. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The pub and its surroundings are in a very nice village called Polgooth.
The staff are very helpful and friendly. Food portions are excellent if you are not too hungry you can order a half portion or a full portion. Beer is excellent too. Booking is advisable as it gets very busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments! Our half portions are very popular with people with smaller appetites and the staff and I appreciate your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic inn”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our first meal here so much we went back three more times. My favourite night had to be the Tuesday Tapas and Quiz night. Great combinations and big portions to share. The staff and customers were all charming and chatty. This place really made our holiday special. Can be very busy so best to book in the evening if you don't want to be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank antoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed your visits with us, our Tuesday Tapas and quiz nights are extremely popular, myself and my staff really apreciate your feedback and the fact that we made your holiday special. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just as good three years later”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

In this day and age it is rare to find somewhere that is just as good three years after our first visit. Excellent atmosphere and brilliant staff help to make this one of our favourite restaurants. The food is very good and way above the usual pub standard. I ordered their steak pie and was not disappointed. At 350 miles, it is too far away for a normal night out - shame!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thanks for your review - you'll just have to visit Cornwall more often !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing