We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous meals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polgooth Inn

Polgooth Inn
Ranked #2 of 142 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Award winning cosy Cornish pub situated in a beautiful valley near St Austell and the Eden Project serving great food, wine,ale, and coffee.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed near St Austell and visited the Polgooth Inn. What a great pub and the meals were fabulous, lots on your plate, we all ate different meals on the 2 occasions we ate there. Absolutely brilliant value for money and I wish we stayed nearer to enjoy this pub more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harnan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review, hope to see you again next time your on holiday - check out our website for great local accomadation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    806
    307
    72
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A surprise find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Polgooth Inn is located in Polgooth, near St. Austell. We were staying at a B&B nearby and the owners recommended we eat there. It was so good that we went back the next evening. The food is very good and very filling - don't indulge in a cream tea in the afternoon if you want to do justice to your meal at the Polgooth Inn in the evening! The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonFleet_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Really pleased you enjoy your time in Cornwall & at The Polgooth inn
Thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bute
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good for allergies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food was excellent and there was even a special 'gluten free menu' to make choosing the dishes even easier. Service was very good and a very reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Our ' free from ' menu has been very popular. We only produced it at the beginning of the summer so am really pleased to hear to was helpful to you
Thank you for taking the time to review our pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good quality restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

we had Sunday lunch and found the restaurant friendly, good value for money, with good quality food and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. Also provided meals in the bar where well behaved dogs are welcome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank freda_baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
So pleased to read that you had an enjoyed lunch with us, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

been going to the polgooth for years the best bar food in st Austell very very good value for money all home cooked, management and staff fantastic nothing to much trouble very helpful great pub with open fires burning in the winter would recommend any body going to the st Austell area to try this pub very popular !!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
WOW !
I should have you as my advertising manager
Thank you so much for your kind comments they are much appreicated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing