We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year celebrations to remember”
Review of Polgooth Inn

Polgooth Inn
Ranked #3 of 148 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning cosy Cornish pub situated in a beautiful valley near St Austell and the Eden Project serving great food, wine,ale, and coffee.
st austell
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New year celebrations to remember”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had the family staying with us for New Year, took them to the Polgooth Inn to celebrate New Years Eve, What a great night it turned out to be. the 70's theme was an inspired choice, the live music was superb and managed to be inclusive for all age groups.even those of us who knew the words from the 1st time around, though the song 'Living next door to Alice' will never quite be the same again!! Alex and his staff worked their socks off to make it a really great evening, they achieved a real party atmosphere, special thanks to all the waiting staff who managed to deliver our meals to the tables through the crowds of hippies, Punks, Flower Children, and even Elvis... All in All a great night... Polgooth Inn staff take a bow!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    910
    337
    82
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh on sea
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food. Great service.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We always visit the Polgooth Inn when we go and visit Dad in Cornwall. The food is always good quality and plenty of it. A really nice atmosphere and plenty of room between tables. Have to book though as it is always busy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pub in the area”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I go there regularly and it consistently is very good. It has the best beer and wine of any of the pubs around and the food is pretty good though a bit pricey sometimes.

My only real gripe is that with some dishes that have sauces, please use real gravy not pre-fab.

Atmospehre, staff are excellent and service is terrific. Overall really good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank fboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, delicious food and very friendly staff.”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a lovely cosy pub with plenty of atmosphere. The food was delicious and the Fowey mussels were the best I have had in a long time. Wine was also excellent, as was the customer service. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return there and highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trinaharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really lovely Sunday lunch”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Thank goodness the Polgooth Inn take reservations in advance!

Probably now our 4th/5th visit to the pub and yet again, the food was excellent and loads of it too! Very busy Sunday lunch and the place wad buzzing.

As usual, the staff were all really friendly at the bar and impressed how quickly (and hot) the food was served.

My tip: Really like sitting in the horseshoe shape booths as you come in at the bar as usually 5 or 6 of us in our party. Whenever I have rung up in advance to reserve a table and ask for one of these tables, we have always been lucky enough to have got one of these and appreciate having our request granted! Thank you Polgooth Inn, we will be back again!! :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suz_Asbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing