We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one thing Frankie and Benny's do well....”
Review of Frankie & Benny's

Frankie & Benny's
Ranked #93 of 147 Restaurants in St Austell
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The one thing Frankie and Benny's do well....”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

...is when they mess up they sort it without you having to say anything! The food is fine, reasonably priced (if you go for the specials) but having been quite a few times to various different ones the one thing they do well is correct mistakes OK, so maybe they shouldn't have happened in the first place, certainly the one occasion in Weston super Mare when we waited so long for our food, whilst we could see it sitting on the counter, that was cold on arrival (and I'm not talking cool, I'm talking cold) - when we got the bill it was FOC.. In St Austell we didn't book (with hindsight a foolish thing to do on a Friday night) and were told 20 mins wait. 45 mins later we were seated with a little disc giving us 20% off. Excellent! The other thing about Frankie and Benny's is if you have an allergy you can go on their website and see exactly what dishes contain what - you can search by allergy. OK a bit of a chore, but better than relying on the waiter. Also having a dairy intolerance they were more than happy to slightly change one dish to remove the cheese. Not too bad all in all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kythe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    98
    77
    54
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I often come here to eat with my boyfriend and it never fails to disappoint! Fabulous quick service by extremely polite staff, and food which is always of a high quality and good portions!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornishgirl_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what it says on the can”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

St Austell is more dead than alive on a Thursday evening in June - A Frankie and Benny's should be reasonably priced and reliable place to eat before a trip to the cinema next door. So we thought -we were SOOH wrong!
It started badly - we were seated in a section a couple of tables away from a really noisy kids party - I mean kids - probably a ten year olds birthday party. We were immediatley served drinks - that plastic beer that is Boddingtons - and in short measure - and overcharged when the bill came ( my wife does not drink pints of cider). That sort of locked us into the place. We seriously contemplated paying for the drinks and looking elsehwere - foolishly we just opted for a change of table.
The starter was reasonable - not cheap for a skewer of four king prawns but good enough. I opted for steak and got a medium sirloin not the pink in the middle medium-rare I had ordered and chips rather than the jacket potato I had ordered. With a cinema visit looming I was not in the business of waiting whilst they redid the meal.
Dessert was simply expensive for what is a cheap option - waffles - obviously out of the freezer and into the microwave judging by the hard lumps in places - very poor value at £5.25.
Don't start me on the wine - the Montepuliciano. At £16.55 a bottle it compared poorly with £4.50 bottles of the same in the supermarket - a restaurant mark up is fair enough but this took it too far. Two nights before we had eaten in another chain restaurant and paid £13.99 for a better wine and had it discounted by a fiver on a food/wine deal - making it a £9 bottle.
In Frankie and Benny's we ended up with a meal for two for £75 - which should never have been more than £50 and would still have been a poor deal at that.
Don't bother with this place if you have the slightest interest in what you eat and drink.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible food quality”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Service was relatively poor, and we had to ask to order drinks after being seated. Staff have very little knowledge on the food and the ingredients in regards to allergies, and aren't very polite about it either, which made us feel unwelcome. We ordered a chicken calzone and a chicken salad. Both dishes the chicken was dry, bland and inedible. The chicken in the chicken salad was incredibly fishy tasting which was absolutely revolting. For the price we paid for this meal, it was totally unacceptable. Would not eat at Frankie & Benny's again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xXLaurenzoXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value food.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good food, generous portions, plenty of variety, fast and friendly service. Good decor with a warm friendly atmosphere. They do a good all day breakfast if you want basic fare or offer a variety of interesting dishes which are fairly reasonably priced. We would use again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank giacosa999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Benny's also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 
St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Frankie & Benny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing