We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Happy to stay again”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here on business trip for two separate nights - reception was excellent on both occasions and rooms are maintained to a good standard and very clean. could not get my TV to work and reception sent a porter within a couple of minutes to sort out - really good and pleasant service. Would like to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolpack7299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your really kind comments and review about our hotel. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay whilst on business and please do come back again for a short break to relax and unwind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    651
    262
    129
    50
See reviews for
334
1,154
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have never stayed at the Hotel as we have friends who have a house near by, but we have visited on several occassions for lunch and drinks. The staff are so helpful and friendly and the food is always lovely and very reasonably priced. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your really kind comments and review about our hotel. We were pleased that you had lunch with us and hopefully it will not be too long before we see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights for our 10th Wedding Anniversary. The rooms were huge compared to other hotels and very clean and tidy. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. It is expensive (hence the four stars) and there are the usual minor issues but nothing that should put you off staying here. It was a truly fabulous week.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank articularslinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We were just thrilled to read your review and thank you for your really kind words of praise. The team do try and make an effort for all of our guests and it was greatly appreciated by the team members who were given a special mention. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I've stayed here a few times before, the hotel is clean and in a pleasant surrounding. The internet access was good for my laptop, but not a great signal on the tablet. Just as well as I worked from my room. I did think about having room service but the £6 room charge put me off!!!! There were some young lads in the resteraunt/bar, and the sevice lacked, but the chap who eventually served me and took my order was good and attentive. Bed was very good, although the walls are a bit thin and you can here a lot if noise from the surrounding rooms, however the guests were more of an elderly nature so not too much of a problem for me. It was the first time that I had manged to park close to the entrance, normally have to trail up through the gardens. Overall pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us and thank you for your kind and honest review. Please be assured that we are re-addressing the areas where we were not quite on the mark. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotel reminds me of the chalets in dirty dancing,The gardens are in need of a gardener,The carpark was too far away,The breakfast was nearly cold and the staff don`t know the differance between tea and coffee,The view of the air conditioning on roof was only partly blocked by the over grown weeds,the room was adequate but the plug in the bath did not work.. Over priced could do much better!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion. Whilst our car parks are not right in front of the hotel, as we do not wish to spoil the views from the bedrooms or restaurants, we do have a drop off and pick up point just by reception. There is certainly no excuse for breakfast and this has been brought to the food and beverage teams’ attention where remedial training has been carried out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

arrived a little early but were welcomed and and went to our large airy room looking over the gardens, We then made our way up to the Clearing spa sat on the patio had a glass of wine then had some treatments the girls are very friendly and helpful on advise on treatments, great food in the Acorns

Room Tip: top fllor beautiful views but to be fair all rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your really kind words and review. It makes all our hard work and effort worthwhile to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us at The Cornwall. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here before and must certainly recommend. The hotel is fantastic and if you can get past some of the snobby receptionists the rest of the staff are great. The room we had this time was of a similar standard to that before but had a great view over the front of the hotel. My wife and I had treatments in the spa which I can seriously recommend to help unwind. The food in the restaurant was exquisite and the wine list is fantastic. Breakfast was a little disappointing with standard full English that you could get at a local café. However, overall a great place and we will be back next year.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MPT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your really kind review, we were pleased that you had a relaxing time with us and it was great to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
836 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
17.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing