We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grat place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grat place to stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Me & my 2 colleagues had 5 great nights here! After working hard all day in challenging weather it was nice to come back to a warm & cozy place with friendly staff, look forward to staying soon, brent , Andy & John.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
The weather has been challenging for sure but we are thrilled that you all managed to have a great time and found the hotel warm and cosy! Thank you for taking the time to give a wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    660
    265
    131
    50
See reviews for
337
1,168
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

One of the nicest hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Lovely staff who went out of their way to help with anything they could, well-equipped gym and spa, and great food. Exactly what we were looking for.

Our only negative comment would be that the bedrooms were incredibly hot at all times, even throughout the night. Seemingly, even turning the radiator off at the dial did nothing to reduce the heat. That being said, all we needed to do was open the doors out onto the balcony amd this cooled the room down fine.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallrat1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are just so happy that you had a wonderful experience and thank you for your kind review. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked for a weekend via booking.com. Staff attitude is great, very positive and helpful.
Food is fantastic - fresh and also good value.
We used the pool and spa and dined in both the restaurant and bar.
One minor criticism - food service was a bit slow because they were very busy.
Also had to wait 10/15 minutes to be seated at breakfast on the Sunday morning - they just couldn't seem to cope with the numbers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilTandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. Sorry that the food service was slower then you expected, we do make everything fresh from scratch which tends to take a little longer to cook and plate up, but is very much worth the wait. Sunday breakfasts are always a busy time for us and really depends if our guests decent at the same time, but we are constantly reviewing this to come up with a better solution. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great poached eggs! would be better in the summer, but plenty to do in the area. Charles town is not too far away and an interesting place to visit.

The Jaccuzzi in the Spa isn't all that hot or bubbly, but I think that is intentional.

Generally a really nice trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JehanShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and delighted that you enjoyed the poached eggs! Our whirlpool is only a few degrees warmer than our infinity pool which is intentional as this uses fewer chemicals than a hot tub or Jacuzzi and much better for your skin. There is a dial by the whirlpool which increases the ‘bubble’ settings which users can adjust. Hopefully we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Our whole experience when eating here was poor.
We went out to celebrate a friends birthday, who had also provisionally booked the venue for her wedding reception.
On arrival, we were shown into the meetings room,which had had a few dining tables.It was an early booking, and we had made the reservation a few weeks earlier.There weren't many other diners the whole time we were there, so not quite sure why we were sat in a room which felt like the children's room of a pub.
The food was mediocre, and the service not good. One of our group ordered a medium rare steak, which arrived at the table overcooked.When this was pointed out, the meal was returned to the kitchen, only to be brought back to the table, sliced up, by the manager claiming that "chef says this is a medium steak".Well that might be, but this was not what was ordered!!And to confront a diner who is not happy with their meal in that way, is to my mind totally inappropriate.The fact that the meal was not quite right was pointed out in a polite, and friendly manner
My friend then had to wait whilst another meal was cooked, and so ended up eating her meal, whilst we ate our dessert.
As soon as we had finished our meal, we decided to leave, and not one staff member said thank you, nor said goodbye.
For a venue which has such a poor reputation with locals, probably the most rapid of staff turnovers ever, and is practically giving rooms away, to try to tempt people , we were amazed at the general managers indifference!
We have suggested to our friend, that she reconsiders her choice of reception venue.After all, a chef that is unable to cook a fillet steak correctly, probably is not the most talented.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Piri-Piri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Firstly please accept my sincere apologies as it was never my intention to portray such a negative and indifference attitude. We do care about our guests and customers here at The Cornwall and sometimes we do get things wrong. I have to say that our staff turnover is considerably down and is in line with industry norms, the hotel and catering trade is a transient business in terms of employment. Our prices reflect our quiet months and we think are great value for money, as many of our guests positively comment on. Sorry that we were not up to our usual standards but thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I really needed a place to stay after a busy day travelling to Cornwall for a meeting and booked it via booking.com as the price/area were ideal. What an absolute treat - this hotel has an absolute eye for detail. Every member of staff without exception was amazing and so, so helpful from finding me a bowl of crisps with my glass of wine, because i was peckish upon arrival to explaining each of the courses in the a la carte restaurant beatifully and accurately. The restaurant menu was truly special and i have to say i've not eaten anywhere quite as good for sometime and the prices are very reasonable too. Breakfast too was great and local high quality produce used.

My room was fabulous with a huge bath in the en-suite. I also used the spa facilities and pool which were great too. Cant recommend the hotel enough - will definately be going back to this gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for a great review about The Cornwall, we were delighted that you found us especially after a busy day of travelling. Please do come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed at The Cornwall on one of their special offer 2 x day B & B breaks inc dinner. Super room, enormous bed, good view of the grounds. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food in Restaurant excellent. Superb choice for breakfast with a selection of fruit juices, cereals, fresh & prepared fruit. Hot dishes cooked to order by the chef. Had the full Cornish breakfast on the first morning which was delicious. On the second day chose scrambled eggs & smoked salmon. My wife had smoked haddock & poached eggs. All cooked to perfection. Free use of the Clearing Spa in the grounds ( Pool, Steam Room, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Gym) which is accessed via a gravel path from the accommodation block. Spa treatments seem quite expensive. Pool beautifully warm and uncrowded when we visited at 6.30pm before dinner. A wonderful few days. The only niggle - understandably very limited parking close to reception and the main car park, although close by, was also full of cars and there was difficulty finding somewhere to park.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are in the modern extension at the rear overlooking the White House & linked b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friendlyforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review about The Cornwall. Apologies that our car parks were full and not close to the hotel, however we do have a drop off point so that we can bring in your luggage. It’s great value for our 2 night Cornwall Mini Break with dinner on one evening and full Cornish breakfast daily – it’s been a popular offer. We look forward to seeing you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing