We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice- Will be returning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice- Will be returning”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We booked a two night stay through "Secret Escapes" which meant that we saved about 50% off the normal price. This included breakfast and one night fine dining. All of the food was fantastic, the fine dining comes off a set menu which was a bit limited but you can choose off the a la carte menu as well with a couple of extra pounds supplement.

The staff were brilliant, very helpful and always with a smile on their faces, also more than happy to have a chat. At dinner, we did have to wait for some service (not too long) this was mainly due to the ratio of guests to waiters.

The room was lovely, it has its shower room open to the bedroom which was fine for couples who aren't too prudish about their shower activities!!! I'm sure there are other styles of rooms for those who are, and for those groups going on a guys/girls trip away.

Views were spectacular, especially from the balcony which I believe every room has.

The spa was very nice with the infinity pool being a nice touch. It is a good size pool with a lane for those who wish to do some proper lengths. We came in the off-season so it was quiet but I can imagine, in the peak season, could be quite crowded.

The only reason we gave this hotel 4/5 rather than the full 5 is that the drinks are quite pricey. £10 for a pint and a small glass of wine is bit excessive.

Room Tip: If travelling with friends double check the room has an enclosed bathroom!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for a very kind review about our hotel and we are thrilled that you both enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again, remember that we always have some great value offers on our website as we would love to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    664
    269
    134
    51
See reviews for
345
1,174
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked a two night stay. The deal included a 3 course dinner on one of the nights and breakfast on both mornings. The superior room was spacious and had all that we would have expected plus a balcony. The staff were friendly and helpful. The quality of food in the restaurants was good and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnson3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked a lodge for my husbands birthday for 7 people. The lodge was spotless and just perfect it had everything we needed and more. The food in the restaurant was first class as was the service. The spa was lovely but unfortunately the treatments were all booked, my fault for not pre booking. I would have liked the pool to be a bit warmer.
The staff were fantastic and every request was met with a smile and they did everything possible to answer our requests.
As for value for money - amazingly so!!
Thank you so much for a fantastic short break we will definitely be back x

Room Tip: Sorry the only tip I can give is to just go and you will not regret it - enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I loved your room tip – brought a smile to my face. Our self-catering Woodland Homes are great value for groups and certainly a bonus that you can use The Clearing Spa facilities free of charge. Look out for our Girls Night In packages – you don’t all have to be girls of course but the prices are great. Thank you for a great review and no doubt we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for 2 nights but our experience of the hotel was perfect. After reading other reviews on trip adviser we were trying to find fault but we could not ! In fact everything about this hotel was extremely good. We arrived after a long journey from Oxford and we're greeted with a smile and lovely welcome. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was emaculate clean and beautifully decorated. We tried the spar facilities which were excellent, food was really good overall rating of whole stay was excellent. So a big thank you to all the staff for making our weekend perfect.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are just happy that we provided you both with a wonderful week end break. As a team we try our utmost in providing great customer service to all of our guests, sometimes we do not hit the mark but 99% of the time we do. Thank you for your great comments and the team will be delighted that all their hard work and effort has paid off. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had an amazing 2 night stay at the hotel with breakfast and we had both our evening meals at the restaurant. Our room was luxourious and and the staff couldnt have been more helpful and attentive. The Spa is really lovely with a good sized pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Couldnt have asked for more and will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: We had a Superior room but from what I could tell they all have balconies and a lovely style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahishere_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We didn’t want you to leave either! Thanks for the great feedback, it has made our day! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had a wonderful and relaxing break at the Cornwall Hotel and Spa. We were pampered throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Food was excellent and many choices on offer for dinner. Booked option of 2 night B&B with fine dining evening meal for 1 night included and the selection was very varied.2nd night we dined from Brassiere menu 3 courses for £20 again excellent value for money. Our room was in the newer section with balcony overlooking grounds and if weather had been drier would have sat outside. But the crowning glory was the indoor infinity pool and spa area. We were given lovely towels for our use and as we used facilities late in the afternoon the lighting was low and very relaxing the Sauna and Steam room within the pool area were an extra bonus. Would definitely return again perhaps in the Summer next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenHSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Wow, what a lovely review and thank you for taking the time and effort to express this on TripAdvisor. The Spa with its infinity pool, in my opinion is the best in the South West, but then again I am biased. We would love to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here for a week in one of the woodland homes. They are great for self catering holidays in Cornwall and provide pretty much everything you would need at your own home right down to the dishwasher tablets and tablets for the washing machine. One point to note is that if like me you have a baby there isnt really anywhere to change/dress them, apart from this the lodges are a perfect base for your holiday.
However we were dissapointed with the service in the main building. We felt mostly forgotten about whenever visiting. One night we decided to go for cocktails. 3 of us ordering different ones. The first 2 cocktails came out together. One not served with strawberry as detailed on the drinks menu. Not a buggy but when you are paying around £8 for a drink you expect It to be correct. The third cocktail came out around 20 minutes after these with no explanaton As to why. Another night on returning to the hotel we noticed that the light to the main road signs were not light making the entrance invisible I you didn't know where it was. We advised reception who told us that they were waiting for a phone call about it. This was the general response to any question or enquiry. Not all meme era of staff wore name badges which made it hard to give praise or criticism to specific people.
The estate is in a great location for exploring the local area and the lodges are real home from homes. If the staff in the main hotel building could brush up on customer service it would be perfect. We did have a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank till_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and helpful critique within your review. We were disappointed that we missed the mark in terms of good customer service and please be assured that I have brought your comments to the departments concerned so that remedial training can be provided in order that we sharpen our focus and service on our valued guests. I do hope that this has not put you off and would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,364 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing