We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Cornwall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having stayed there on a regular basis during the last 3 years I am not that overwhelmed anymore and can pay more attention to detail. The state-of-the-art design cannot hide the fact that the builders did a terrible job which is most obvious in the bathrooms. There is also no great deal of sound protection between the rooms, so be careful what you are doing as a couple ;-) However it remains outstanding on many levels and I would still recommend this hotel for both business and leisure trips. The hotel management should not make the mistake and become complacent, new investment is not overdue yet but certainly due.

Room Tip: Check out when there is no one waiting at the desk, otherwise you might end up in a frustrating queu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind and honest review. I fully understand your comments and wish that I could correct the shortfalls immediately; however this will take time and a lot of money to rectify as we are a fairly new business. I am still relieved and chuffed that we still remain your favourite hotel in Cornwall and promised that we will not become complacent as we have many areas to keep improving and to achieve the best. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,344 - 1,350 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just returned from a couple of days stay with my Mum who is disabled and has trouble walking. Nothing was too much trouble for everyone, excellent and very attentive service. Mum had a pedicure and we forgot flit flops so the beautician, embarrassed to say forgotten her name but lives in Par, walked Mum back to our room and put the nail polish on there so it wouldn't get smudged. Delicious food and a very relaxing experience which was the aim. Will be going back again.

Room Tip: We forwent on grab rails over the bath in favour of a balcony and view however the baths are extreme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

I was delighted to read the extra mile one of our Spa Therapists went to with your mum! Thank you for a kind review and we do hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked this last minute and booked it purely as it had a gym.

The rate for the rooms are expenses for the area even with a discount.

However that aside this is a stunning location and hotel. It's clean, warm atmosphere, not chain and stunning gym/pool.

Some of the staff are a little young and lacking in service skills but even that added to the charm of the place. I can't wait to go back to Cornwall and stay.

The hotel has two areas to eat. The normal bar and fine dinning. The bar every time. The food is brilliant and great value. The fine dinning...just slightly not as good and a lot more expensive.... But that might just be a personal view.

The gym is brilliant best I've experienced in Cornwall. Well done to the owners/managers for getting that right as most gyms are a sham.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

We are just thrilled that you had a great time with us on a last minute break. Thank you for your kind review and of course we look forward to seeing you gain soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked this trip through a Secret Escapes offer.
We were not satisfied with the experience at all, reasons being;
The fridge in our room did not work and was blowing out hot air.
There is no air conditioning in the rooms which although they do not advertise is quite unusual for a 5 star hotel, this meant we had to sleep with the patio door open which meant mosquito came in and i wasn't very comfortable with the door open all night long!
The bed was on a slant so your feet were higher than your head.
We paid extra to visit to Arbotetum restaurant, was a mistake as the food was very plain and flavourless, tiny portions and not a good plate of food.
If you do stay here request the 1st floor as we were on the ground floor and the noise coming from people upstairs was really quite noisy.
I reported all these items to the management for improvement.

The hotel gardens we not finished and there was a porter loo right in the entrance, also the feel at breakfast was very corporate, there were lots of business people there (single traveler) so it didn't give a very 'holiday like' feel.

On a positive note the spa was very good and we had treatments that were as good as any spa i've visited, the staff were friendly and attentive.
Do not go here expecting the 5 star's they state on the website as it is more like a 3.5, we weren't blown away and definitely regret paying £400 to stay there for 2 nights!

Room Tip: higher floor, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

We were gutted when we read your review and please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. The hotel is rated at 4 stars, although this does not provide any excuse for your experience. We have on-going gardening work within the 43 acre Estate, where we continue to make improvements as the hotel has only been open since 2010. However, I do note that all was not lost as you enjoyed the Spa but thank you for your review and please be assured that we will take your comments on-board to make further improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Well, what can one say? I`ve never been treated better by a receptionist when entering a hotel. This wonderful woman, (called Robyn, I think), was the most professional, thoughtful and friendly person in the whole place. She took care of all my questions with ease and showed an above average sense of what a customer may require. I sincerely think that having such a brilliant receptionist is the foundation of a successful operation. If The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate hopes to continue drawing in custom, then Robyn should be either promoted to running front of house, or at the very least be given such a large pay rise that she never leaves!

Room Tip: Ask Robyn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank johnnyechoecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Robyn is a real star in our operation and she was grinning beyond belief when she read your review and has asked me to pass on her own personal thanks. From general manager’s points of view these are the comments that I love to see, so thank you for taking the time and effort to let us know. I am sure we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here back in June 2011 as our first official date and we loved it aside from the weather! So we returned for a 3 night stay this weekend as needed a break! Was a little concerned it being school holidays but actually wasn't too bad because the spa had allowances for adult only time and there is a playground and plenty of open space for children and I even spotted a babysitting service advertised.

Our room was overlooking gardens as requested, only downside with the warm weather and seemingly no air-con was that we could hear the coolers working in the main building at night with the balcony door open! It was minor background noise though really! Room well equipped and nothing too much trouble for the staff at front desk when we couldn't get wifi or tv to work it was quickly rectified. Room serviced very promptly and efficiently, even one day done twice!

Restaurants both great, staff very pleasant, friendly and helpful - a tad slow at times but the hotel was fairly full and we have left feedback with them directly. Scones cooked to order for cream tea and some of the best i've ever tasted. Food to a great standard and good value! Breakfast good selection on the buffet and reasonable opening times.

Spa is well laid out with all you could need and therapists for any type of treatment you could want (ladies though beware of any tinting due to the skin test duration). I had lava shells and he had reflexology followed by a morning using steam, sauna, jacuzzi and pool. Gym wasn't used.

Great location for all things Cornwall didn't take us long to get to Lands End and Eden Project and Lost Gardens Heligan very close by with good transport links as well as idyllic surroundings with the parkland.

At checkout we received a voucher for buy 3 get one free so we have already booked to go again later in the year as there's so much to do in Cornwall and we just know we'll have a good time with excellent service, delicious food and one of the comfiest beds I've slept in!

Have always recommended since first visit, a friend really enjoyed the self-catering holiday homes for a week in August too.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lawsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

It brings a big smile to our faces when guests come back time after time and thank you for wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with groupon voucher, nice rooms spacious and clean but very warm at night, had to sleep with patio door open. Breakfast was OK but tables a little cramped felt like a transport cafe. Tried both restaurants and again food was OK but a little pricey. The main problem was with bar service, the barman would tell you to take a seat and he would be with you only to find he had disappeared and returned 15 mins later- a few people we saw actually gave up waiting to be served and left. Spa was nice staff friendly and nice pool.

Room Tip: Our room was nice but top floor with no lift so OK if you are fit and well- superior room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your review and sorry that we did not deliver our usual high standards. It is import to us to learn from our mistakes and your review will help us in doing this although I am disappointed and sorry that we did not deliver this right first time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,613 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
926 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $83 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing