We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last week with my family. The rooms were very well maintained and the balcony and fan were nice little touches, with all the hot weather there has been recently!
It was incredibly easy to book spa treatments and the receptionists were very pleasant.
In terms of location, this hotel is two miles away from Porth Pean beach and many other towns popular with tourists, such as Megavissey. I found the hotel was well equipped with leaflets regarding 'things to do' whilst on holiday.
The Breakfast was perfectly adequate and organised. At night the bar staff were a little different: it was obvious they were busy, and it took half an hour before a member of my group asked to be served. When we did get served though, the staff were lovely about it.
In terms of sleep quality, this hotel is excellent. The comfortable beds and french windows on the balcony made for a peaceful night for all!
The only issue is that I felt certain staff in the Breakfast and the Reception were ignoring my teenage sister and I in favour of our parents, as if we were less of a guest. For example, my sister and I went for a walk around the grounds and cleaners could be heard 'stressing out' about the staff shortages on that particular day, and did not stop discussing this when we walked past. A little rude!
It would have been nice if staff could give all the family eye contact and a warm smile, instead of appearing cold towards younger members of the family.
Other than this, I would certainly return to The Cornwall, because the excellent spa facilities, beautiful grounds and prime location meant that my holiday was a memorable one!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are more likely to be adapted for disabled access e.g: a lower sink
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyandVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback and especially in terms of a family review. We certainly welcome your comments and as a team we will review our interaction with family members. I know we do make a fuss over young toddlers and children but as you quite rightly point out you and your sister are just as important, if not even more so as you are our future guests. The staff really shouldn't air the day to day issues and challenges that we have, it’s not professional. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,062)
There are newer reviews for The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,393 - 1,399 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in stunning grounds with a real unique feel. Check in was smooth & thanks to Emily on reception who efficiently managed our room change. We opted for a superior room with the open plan bathroom. The rooms are spacious & modern with fabulous balconies with panoramic views. We visited during the July heatwave & the hotel let it self down by not having air conditioning. We had a fan on constantly overnight & the room was still uncomfortably hot. The fridge was also barely functional & when we queried this with reception we were advised that they just don't get cold - not ideal!

We ate in the brasserie & the food was of a good standard. Breakfast was also of a good quality.

We enjoyed the spa but felt it was a shame that the doors on the infinity pool were closed despite the warm temperatures. We were also asked to leave at 19.50 so the staff could close up despite being advised that the pool was open until 20.00. The jacuzzi was completely broken which was a real disappointment.

Despite some small issues, this is a fabulous hotel in a stunning location & we can't wait to return.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jess U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Sorry that we just missed the mark but we are grateful for your comments. With the exceptional heat the bedrooms do get warm and as much as we would love to have air conditioning we have to rely on fans, which we have placed into every room. The fridges are mini bar fridges and therefore are not really used to store food, but even these are struggling with the heat, not wishing to complain about good weather now that it is here. On the whole the windows have been opened up for the infinity pool but I am rather annoyed that the Spa staff asked you to leave early, so I will take this up with the head of department. Thank for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend! The hotel is very nice and the spa is very good too. There were 6 of us staying the breakfast was excellent! The only bad thing was the restaurant it is far from fine dining, they had things listed on the menu that didn't come with the dish like alternatives had been used, it was very very slow service. It wouldn't put me off staying at the hotel as there are plenty of really good places to eat not to far away!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

My apologies that the dining experience in the restaurant didn’t quite deliver; we anticipated a fairly quiet evening only to be suddenly hit with an influx of diners in both restaurants. We did sell out of dishes and provided alternatives but we were caught short hence a slow service in comparison to our usual standards. Sorry! However, thank you for a kind review and we would love to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner last night.Everything was great.Lovely well appointed room,beautiful hotel,stunning grounds & fantastic staff.
It was a perfect overnight stay,great breakfast too.
Will definitely be back,thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Assassin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

From “Simply Superb” to simply thank you! We do get a buzz when our guests love us and thank you for your wonderful review. Looking forward to seeing you gain, remember to check out our special offers on our website – always great deals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I booked this hotel based on a recommendation that said "it's fabulous" and they were right , the staff were polite and there when you wanted them. The hotel was lovely , the room was huge with its own balcony which was a pleasant surprise. The spa was brilliant and the pool looking out over the garden was perfect, it gave me the perfect chance and Ambiance to get down on one knee and propose to my partner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Congratulations once again on your anniversary! We were just honoured to share your happy day and of course look forward to seeing you both again on your honeymoon, but hopefully sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A lovely old Georgian House turned into a lovely modern Hotel and Spa.
The spa is situated in the old stable block with a modern infinity pool overlooking a pleasant garden. On a beautifully hot summer day, the full length glass windows were open to the fresh air. Sitting in the jacuzzi, watching the swifts wheel about the sky.so relaxing!
The Spa staff were great, really helpful and the treatments we had were just SO good. Nice to have a relaxing room with coffee and teas and water to chill out after your treatment.

Lunch can be had in the Spa or in the restaurant. We had very nice steak and onion marmalade baguette...one with chips and one with green salad....the small version came with crisps and salad...maybe the large one should too? Or more options for a less carb heavy version?

The hotel has holiday lodges which are for rent or to buy, they are well designed and the show house is very desirable. But at the same price as the average house in the SouthWest without being able to live there as a permanent resident...personally , a day in the Spa suits me!

It was good value because we got vouchers...a special birthday treat!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We are just delighted that you enjoyed your birthday treat and that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. We are currently in the middle of reviewing our lunch time menu, so watch this space! Thank you for taking the time and effort to rate us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Booked this last minute deal via Secret Escapes to surprise my wife. Overall excellent service and room comfort. Restaurants are all good from The Bistro to Fine dining. Staff in general were attentive (Remembered room No: and drink order the folowing lunch time) Food was excellent & good portions. some junior staff were clearly training but all very polite (And Smiling) Spa was wonderfull, great pool and sun beds on terrace. Will we go again? Oh yes booking soon for a longer stay, what more can I say.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary once again and thank you for choosing The Cornwall Hotel Spa & Estate. Thank you for your kind review and we too look forward to your return for longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,577 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
893 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
505 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $108 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing