We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great 4 day stay - combined 2 packages and had a great deal. s part of the deals, dined in brasserie 1 night and restaurant another. Enjoyed the food so when daughter joined us for some catch up time, we dined in brasserie again. Accommodation very design led - restful colours. Big balcony and views over parkland with lots of rabbits munching away. Lovely infinity pool. Staff very friendly and helpful. Seemed to be good teamwork.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LymeLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,512 - 1,518 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in a self catering lodge at the Cornwall Hotel and Spa. The break was excellent. We stayed with friends in a 2 bedroom lodge, to celebrate a 60th birthday. The estate is well located just outside St Austell. The accommodation was spotless and had every facility. We had 2 dogs with us which we paid extra for, the estate is very dog friendly. We did not eat at the hotel, we prepared our own meals in a superb kitchen. There are some excellent walks and trails nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivjen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I must admit the hotel is beautiful; with a charming drive, beautiful woodland around and a nice architecture it does make a great first impression.

The ladies at the reception were friendly and polite - both check-in and check-out were quick and trouble-free.

The spa area is amazing and the infinity pool overlooking the gardens (and often wandering pheasants) great.

The room itself was spacious and comfortable with a big bath (yes!) and a adequate wardrobe space.

Food (both breakfast and dinner) was delicious with a big selection of meat but also vegetarian dishes (and no mushroom risotto or onion tart in sight, thanks God!!! :-)).

The tall bald manager should be complemented - he was working during breakfast and later helping people with their suitcases like a man possessed (never seen anybody working so hard!).

I can truly recommend the place and I can't wait to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've seen this place in passing many times, including before it became a hotel. This break came up on offer through secret escapes, we needed to be in the area, so we gave it a try. As its still quite new, it is very smart and tidy, the grounds are superbly kept, it such a shame it's not further away from the roads. You need to have this in mind if you want total peace and quiet, or are willing to sacrifice this a little for the convenient location.
If you have mobility problems at all, ask for a room on floor one. The upper floors do not have lift access, due to the way the hotel rooms are arranged on the hillside. The room we had was a bit odd. Nicely decorated and clean, but the bath was in the same room as the bedroom. I'm not sure if this is true of all rooms (hope not, unless you are very close friends with your fellow guest!). The bed was enormous and very comfortable. There was a fridge in the room and all the other usual gadgets.
The balcony had a good view, but there was little privacy between yours and your neighbours.
The spa was attractively designed and I would return for a spa weekend with friends, the spa days are quite reasonable.
The food was delicious. The best Moroccan style lamb I've had, including in Morocco. The staff were courteous and eager to help. The first morning we came down to breakfast along with, it seems, all the other hotel guests! The staff coped admirably. They have a make to order service for breakfast as well as the buffet, for some strange reason they pre cook fried eggs and you order scrambled, they might like to consider swapping this over, as it works better the other way in most hotels I've stayed in.
The restaurant is obviously very popular, so pre booking before you arrive is recommended. They do a nice looking afternoon tea too.

Room Tip: If you are with a friend not a partner, make sure you have a separate bathroom! If you have bad kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polarbearonthinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Rooms with traditional bathrooms and big balconies are great to unwind.. and are close to the Spa and have their own quick access door to the car park! A good base for touring in Cornwall and this hotel often has good offers available. The team at breakfast were great - but the poor chef had to deal with 130 people for breakfast in 2 hours - the poor man tried his best but needs additional help. Food at breakfast is great and the evening meal in the Brasserie is also good - but is still pretty much the same menu as the last time we visited over a year ago and could do with changing. We visited just before the early May Bank Holiday and one waiter and a manager in the Brasserie was just not enough to provide a good service. The Chef is good and the night we were there, there seemed to be a seperate menu for the SAGA guests with different food choices (which looked great). Come on chef - let the rest of your guests experience your full range of meals!

Overall this is a great hotel with great food. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms with traditional seperate bathroom and balconies are great for our taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilts_observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed recently at The Cornwall for a four-day break on a very good deal. We found the hotel excellent in all respects. Our room was super: large, well-appointed, luxurious bathroom, very clean. The food arrangements were equally good with a choice of two types of restaurant - we ate in both - catering for all tastes and prices. The a la carte restaurant was very good indeed and the brasserie also provided a wide range of tasty dishes at competitive prices. The daily changing fish options were particularly outstanding. Above all the staff were really efficient, courteous and friendly. Visitors can ignore any previous reviews about frosty reception and variable staff; this is simply not the case. All staff were superb from arrival to departure and really contributed to the high quality of our stay. In conclusion, the hotel is very quiet - not a noise at night - and is ideally located for access to all parts of Cornwall by car. In short, highly recommended. Do go!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jappal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Probably the best ever stay in a hotel in the UK. Facilities superb (stand fast sink!) but most of all the staff. Who ever is in charge of training the team should be very proud of their efforts! With nearly 40 years experience in front of house service and working currently alongside a 3 x Michelin Star Chef I know when I'm being well looked after!

The team from the General Manager (Nigel) backed up with hands on operations Managers (Greg) down are keen to engage with their clients and ensure you have a wonderful experience. Particularly impressive the young front of house team in Acorns (Kate exceptional). Already looking forward to our next visit and looking forward to a sink that wins on practicality over design! Or just happy to grow a beard and enjoy the experience all over again.

Room Tip: Second floor appears a good place to be 235
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $91 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing