We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

spent our wedding night here as it was near to charlestown where we had our wedding reception, very nice! rooms are very modern great views wished we could have stayed longer but we were off to cuba the next day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzaj20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,064)
There are newer reviews for The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,477 - 1,483 of 2,064 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at The Cornwall on a very good 2 night offer from their website, and must say a BIG Thank You for allowing us pets to come along !
Enjoyed our stay and the food was very enjoyable, and all Waiting Staff were particularly helpful and friendly, both in the breakfast room and Restaurant. Unfortunately the Reception Staff who are the face of the hotel didn't even bother to look up (every time) when we came through the door, so our first impression each time we came in was not at all great. Rooms were spacious but lacking the finer detail of a true luxury hotel - quite sterile decor, lack of underlay in carpet (so really hard underfoot), raw tile edges in bathroom (walls and skirting), poor room lighting & no bed valance, so zip & link connections all visible. Our room was lovely and clean and perfectly adequate, just not to the luxury standard the hotel pretends to be. The friendliest person we met was the Manager who interacted with us on one occasion as we passed through reception, so maybe he could enthuse his reception manager and staff a little ! Truly lovely Leisure facilities, although the staff here were mostly very busy and even when their desk was quiet, paid little or no attention to guests passing through. It's a shame these two important areas that all guests go through, let the hotel down - a quick hello or smile costs nothing. Overall an enjoyable stay, however there are many other lovely options locally that I would consider before choosing The Cornwall again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just had a very pleasant 4 night stay. Lovely clean and spacious room. Nice decor, good amount of electrical sockets and lighting options. Comfortable beds. Only criticism is having to walk on uncovered, gravel path to get to Spa facilities, which is not very nice when wearing robes and slippers, especially when cold and wet! Staff were all very efficient and helpful. Good quality breakfast with plenty of choices on the menu.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking gardens are nice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a bargain weekend break in one of the lodges at the end of January.We were really lucky with the weather and had a fantastic stay. The lodge was clean and spacious with everything we needed. We used the spa which was very relaxing but one thing i will say is that the jacuzzi was cold. Bar a bit pricey! Good location for exploring Cornwall. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devoniadumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location is fine but the grounds are uninspiring as they are basically meadows. The construction of the majority of the hotel I guess is timber frame as you can clearly hear all movement from the room above, not so much of a problem until bedtime when the occupants above our room seemed to be walking the floor half the night. The room we were allocated was fully adapted for disabled and whilst I fully support a hotel having such facilities available, the sink in the bathroom was so low that it was difficult to use. Also there were night lights in the main room that were automatically on all night which made it difficult to sleep.

There is no bar as such and therefore drinks can only be served in the lounge area, it is quite nice to be able to sit at the bar or at least have a bar type atmosphere.

The breakfast was excellent and the service overall was good and friendly although I never managed to get my TV remote working despite a porter coming up to the room to assist. The spa and pool were also excellent.

I would probably stay there again for a night or two but would insist on a second floor room that had not been adapted.

Room Tip: second floor to avoid overhead noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel was everything we expected it to be from the reviews we had looked at. The room was lovely with an enormous bed and very modern bathroom. Had the weather been better we would have made full use of the balcony over looking the gardens. Unfortunately the lift was only in the main house & although the stairs weren't a problem for us, I imagine it could pose a problem for the less able. The food and drink were well presented although the lack of a bar area was a bit of a surprise. We ate dinner on the first night and the menu was brought to the lounge area. We were left to peruse the menu and the waitress returned after about 10 minutes to take our order. I was looking forward to the mussels only to be told that the fishmonger hadn't delivered any! We waited another 10 minutes whilst I chose again. Wouldn't it be easier to say what wasn't on the menu at the outset? I would like to have had more fresh fruit at breakfast and some low fat milk & yogurts. We used the pool, which was quite chilly,the sauna & steam room. It was nice to unwind before dinner. We wil hopefully return when the sun is shining!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirtoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay - staff were without exception polite, helpful and friendly. I'm fussy so I was pleased to find our room had a large and fabulously comfy bed and was beautifully clean, lovely balcony with great view over grounds, shower was like standing in a warm torential downpour - fab! The food was great, breakfast was cooked to order and of good quality. We both enjoyed the pool and the lovely view from it, we were blessed with some sunshine and so we enjoyed a good walk through the grounds.

We left Cornwall 18 years ago and so for us it's great to see some serious investment in the county - too many places (like Mevegissy for instance) rely on just being in 'Cornwall' to bring visitors and don't invest properly in their product . We're not great fans of St Austell area but it served as a base to visit family - and for those who love Cornwall full stop - this is a great place to stay as long as you have transport. We'd go back - definately. For us a real positive was the attitude of the staff - okay we didn't ask much of them but they were just friendly and 'nice' - and it makes a huge difference.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryMOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,579 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
894 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
506 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $109 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing