We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect last minute get-away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect last minute get-away!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My sister and I recently stayed in the Cornwall for a couple of nights and we had a delightful stay. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, particularly the waitresses at breakfast who constantly topped us up with toast. The rooms were lovely and spacious and we felt very much at home! It was the perfect place to go for a last minute get-away. I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    660
    265
    131
    50
See reviews for
337
1,168
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

WIth my partner and our 15 month old child we spent Christmas and New Year here. For a few days over Christmas we were in the main hotel, we then moved for a week into a cottage in the grounds.
We arrived early and had to disappear for a couple of hours after a somewhat brusque and somewhat careless greeting - but not really their fault, and the last and only time we could criticise.
The hotel and staff were totally into the Christmas spirit, with themed meals, events and gatherings throughout the week. Without exception everyone was courteous, friendly and helpful - and with a very small child we probably weren't their easiest patrons!
By the way ... although this wasn't especially relevant to us (yet!), the hotel is very child-friendly.
The room we stayed in - I think called the Charlotte Room - was exceptionally comfortable. It was spacious, furnished well and with style and looked out over the grounds.
All hotel meals were great. Standard hotel breakfast, ask the chef to prepare your eggs as you like them.
The cottage was wonderful. I don't think we saw anyone for the rest of the week, it's effectively a self-catering stay in a well-equipped and very comfortable house in the grounds. I didn't see the inside of the other resort apartments - but the old-fashioned look of the cottage appealed to us, I'd recommend it.
Of note: proximity to the Eden Project (wonderful) and about ten minutes drive from the Lost Gardens of Helligan. Don't miss them, and allow the entire day. Even in the midst of winter this was a revelation. And Tintagel, about 45 minutes away and a pleasant drive.
We were so fulfilled by the accommodation and the nearby attractions that we didn't get to use the spa. But it looked great.

Room Tip: The Charlotte room in the main house, and the cottage in the grounds (over the more modern apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I would recommend this hotel. The breakfast is extremely good, accommodation of an extremely high standard. The swimming pool and spa was great and there were a lot of treatments available. Really close to the Eden project.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good. Tip ask for a robe to be delivered to your room, they are very useful at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

My partner stayed here for a weekend just before New Years Eve to celebrate his birthday. We got upgraded (free of charge!) to a deluxe woodland room which was huge and lovely with unspoilt views. We ate a roast sunday lunch which was outstanding and breakfast was v v good too.
The spa is a lovely place to relax with voews across the lawns from the infiniry pool.
Lovely-will def go again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissaley80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My partner and I recently had an evening meal at The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate on our arrival we were greeted by friendly and professional staff shown to a relaxing lounge area to have pre meal drinks and browse through the extensive choice of dishes on the menu. We were then shown to our table which was exquisite . The food was outstanding and cooked to perfection . I can not remember the last time I felt so spoilt .
We would definatley go again the whole evening was amazing . 10/10 superb

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed over Christmas and I must say we had an absolutely fantastic break. We stayed in one of the new build hotel rooms which are all south facing with balconies, We stay in a lot of hotels and this bedroom was by far one of the best - excellent shower, bathrobes, a fridge which was very useful for our own stock of Xmas drinks and an enormous extremely comfortable bed - I don't think I have slept so well. The staff were extremely friendly, discrete and helpful. The food was excellent with so much choice and the leisure facilities helped to provide an extremely relaxing and stress-free break. We used the indoor pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. This was our first time away from home for Christmas and it has set the standard for the future. There is only one very minor point for improvement and that is to provide bath sheets rather than just bath towels. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors of the new build bedroom block do not have lift access but have good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinahSalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Worst spa I have been to over priced and treatments not very good ! A 25 minute eye treatment £30 which the lady did in ten minutes.
No chilled water,had lunch not very good at all a chicken and avocado salad should have avocado in it not guacamole! On the whole very disappointed with the the spa only interested in taking your money please avoid you will be glad u did.
Only good point was Libby the therapist very nice person

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elawton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly, I thank you for your constructive review and in taking the time in providing us with your feedback, you allow us the opportunity to address your concerns experienced during your recent stay with us.

My apologies for the delayed response, due to technical difficulties we have been experiencing, the promptness of our replies have been been hampered.

I have discussed the points you have raised with the Spa Manager, where mostly the feedback related to and they in turn will be internally investigating the customer service details along with any increased training requirements that may be needed within their teams.

We are extremely passionate about our hospitality provided to our guests at The Cornwall Hotel Spa & Estate by not only meeting guest needs but exceeding guest expectations. Investment into the development of our teams is paramount to our future success and ultimately will encourage guest loyalty within a highly competitive market.

Thank you once again for your feedback and your acknowledgement of the therapists customer care. If you would like to discuss anything further with me on a personal note, please call my direct line.

Nigel Walker
General Manager
The Cornwall Hotel Spa & Estate
Tel: 01726 874052 (Direct Dial)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing