We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed for the second time again all good love the pool and sauna area
We had a meal in the bar all very delicious
Breakfast also good and staff friendly
Hotel grounds great for a short walk after your meal
Rooms very clean with all you could ask for in a hotel room

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinjh238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,610 - 1,616 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely week end away at the hotel for two nights. A few comments. I booked via the internet and later became aware of a much better deal being offered by the hotel. They would not have told us about this had I not discovered it! The deal included a set meal, the food and choice were great but there was supplements added when we had already paid £270 and £140 on treatments. I also thought the drinks and bar were overpriced but the pub food in the bar was lovely.

On a positive note, the staff were all lovely and friendly, food and wine excellent. Hannah G was the best in the Spa and sorted very tight shoulders out. Breakfast was very very busy and queues but Matt was calm, friendly and the service excellent and breakfast delicious! There was a steep room change for breakfast in bed also which to me when you are spending such a lot on a week end seems a bit tight!

It would be good to have an undercover but from hotel to spa and water in the spa. Gym equipment great.

All in all we have come back relaxed and would recommend the hotel and spa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went for a two night break after returning from a not so great holiday in Egypt .We were delighted with what we saw when driving into the grounds,so well looked after . We arrived at the reception and I know hotels are all changing to late booking in but it is infuriating when you have driven for five hours only to be told the room is not ready . So remember you cannot get into your room until after three . We went to Charlstown for a trip around a tallship and lunch and returned to the hotel and this time we booked in. Room was very clean and to a very high standard and again the view was lovely. Very modern looking with everything you could wish for. When we booked the room we were advised to book for dinner, we went for the fine dinning restaurant . We had also booked for a Spa treatment ,we did enjoy our treatments but it wasnt the best treatments we have had and the two ladies disapeared before we could say thank you . They missed out on a tip .The first night in the restaurant was lovely ,staff were friendly and they seemed to be working as one. Food was delicious we both enjoyed our meals and the ambience of the dinning room was very relaxing and a fine finish to the day . Breakfast staff were brilliant so in control and looked after you and friendly. There was a good variety of food to chose from again we both enjoyed our meal. The location is great for the Eden Project and for the local coastal villages. We had a very interesting day at the Eden Project and would recommend it. Upon our return to the hotel we went swimming at the Spa pool and then went to the steam room ,sauna and jacuzzi . The pool is amazing and all so well designed .The second night in the fine dinning restaurant was completly different ,different manager who was flying everywhere and getting know where this causing the staff to just not work as a team. Had to wait ages for someone to take our order for drinks ,food again was excellant but with all the rushing about was not such a wonderful experience . We were lucky with the weather and with our trips out and will return to this hotel and hope we get the same restaurant manager as the first night.

Room Tip: Lodges are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrawleyDownWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for one saturday night. Hotel is very nice, rooms spacious and well appointed, leisure complex impressive and food was excellent. However the whole experience was let down by poor service. We were not advised either on booking or at check in that we needed to book a table for dinner, the barman advised us at 5pm that it would be a good idea. The restaurant and duty manager then argued that there were no tables available till 9pm, after much unpleasant discussion he managed to organise something. We did complain to the General Manager who gave a luke warm response. As a result we came away feeling very disappointed for what is supposedly a luxury hotel to have been treated the way we were. We certainly would not stay again, there are better hotels not that far away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docajenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Came for an extended long weekend in early November to celebrate my birthday. This is our second visit to the lodges this year and even the weather was kind for the time of year.

As ever lodge came up to our expectations but do have to agree with comments about service being slow in the fine dining restaurant in the evening. It was fine to for the first two courses as we ate early (there were 4 of us) but it was quite a wait for dessert and we had to enquire as to it's whereabouts. Food was very nice though and bill would have been reasonable for the quality if we hadn't had so much wine!

If you like your own space but want the facilities of a hotel a short walk away then can thoroughly recommend the lodges as a great place to stay. Think they make a great value out of season break for the standard of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Me & my husband arrived for a 5 night stay a few weeks ago & we were mesmorised by the hotel itself! So clean & modern but still very very welcoming. The receptionist Robyn, was very sweet & smiley which was lovely to come into from the rain. Our first morning we went to breakfast, there was an amazing variety of cole & hot buffet & the staff were amazing, they go above and beyond to make your stay perfect which we really appreciated, a lovely young lady called saurahn (forgive me!) was particularly attentive & Tracy who we remembered from our stay before was just as welcoming as ever! We had 2 treatments in the spa which were lovely & the staff seemed to enjoy themselves as much as us which is always lovely to see!
However & I wish there wasn't a 'however' but the evening staff were a real let down. We dined in the brasserie on our first evening & there was an extremely long wait on food when we were finally seated. The waitress that served us could have been anywhere & had no real desire to know how our day had been, to make small talk or even to take a drinks order. This being said when the food arrived the quality was fantastic, it just seems such a waste that the waitress' weren't at the same standard as the food!
But to bring the review back to a positive the barman Kevin, was absolutely fantastic! What a lovely chap, really brightened up our evening after a disappointing service!
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay & would definitely book again but would avoid eating in the evenings! It was really nice to get to know your staff & enjoy you hotel so thank you very much & we'll see you again soon!
Janet

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just came back from a lovely weekend in the hotel, we paid a bit extra for a luxury room and the room was definitely luxury so worth that little bit extra. After a lovely relaxing swim and steam room we had planned on sitting in the bar before our meal and have a bottle of wine however the prices were very expensive, as expected for a five star hotel. The meal itself was lovely but the service was definitely lacking! The young girl who took our meal order was very uninterested and did not ask how I wanted my steak cooked when we mentioned i would like it medium she thought we meant the fish my husband had ordered. The soup to start was brought out within 5 minutes, it was pleasant if a little cold. The same waitress cleared our bowls without even acknowledging us or asking if we enjoyed it. The wine glasses or our empty glasses were not cleared away. For a five star hotel this attention to detail is what you would expect. After a very long wait we had our main course which was nice but you could get better in restaurant near for a bit cheaper, I was not given a steak knife and had to ask and wait for this. Although these details seem petty you don't expect this from the hotel, if they want to charge 5 star prices the service needs to up to scratch which in my opinion it isn't. When we checked out we were not even asked if we enjoyed our stay!! All in all this is a lovely place to stay and relax, the view is lovely and the rooms are cosy just don't expect great customer service from the reception or restaurant staff. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and the staff were so so lovely.
We would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
903 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
512 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $102 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing