We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Bed Woodland Lodge Plantinum Vista”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Came for an extended long weekend in early November to celebrate my birthday. This is our second visit to the lodges this year and even the weather was kind for the time of year.

As ever lodge came up to our expectations but do have to agree with comments about service being slow in the fine dining restaurant in the evening. It was fine to for the first two courses as we ate early (there were 4 of us) but it was quite a wait for dessert and we had to enquire as to it's whereabouts. Food was very nice though and bill would have been reasonable for the quality if we hadn't had so much wine!

If you like your own space but want the facilities of a hotel a short walk away then can thoroughly recommend the lodges as a great place to stay. Think they make a great value out of season break for the standard of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,067)
There are newer reviews for The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,604 - 1,610 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Me & my husband arrived for a 5 night stay a few weeks ago & we were mesmorised by the hotel itself! So clean & modern but still very very welcoming. The receptionist Robyn, was very sweet & smiley which was lovely to come into from the rain. Our first morning we went to breakfast, there was an amazing variety of cole & hot buffet & the staff were amazing, they go above and beyond to make your stay perfect which we really appreciated, a lovely young lady called saurahn (forgive me!) was particularly attentive & Tracy who we remembered from our stay before was just as welcoming as ever! We had 2 treatments in the spa which were lovely & the staff seemed to enjoy themselves as much as us which is always lovely to see!
However & I wish there wasn't a 'however' but the evening staff were a real let down. We dined in the brasserie on our first evening & there was an extremely long wait on food when we were finally seated. The waitress that served us could have been anywhere & had no real desire to know how our day had been, to make small talk or even to take a drinks order. This being said when the food arrived the quality was fantastic, it just seems such a waste that the waitress' weren't at the same standard as the food!
But to bring the review back to a positive the barman Kevin, was absolutely fantastic! What a lovely chap, really brightened up our evening after a disappointing service!
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay & would definitely book again but would avoid eating in the evenings! It was really nice to get to know your staff & enjoy you hotel so thank you very much & we'll see you again soon!
Janet

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just came back from a lovely weekend in the hotel, we paid a bit extra for a luxury room and the room was definitely luxury so worth that little bit extra. After a lovely relaxing swim and steam room we had planned on sitting in the bar before our meal and have a bottle of wine however the prices were very expensive, as expected for a five star hotel. The meal itself was lovely but the service was definitely lacking! The young girl who took our meal order was very uninterested and did not ask how I wanted my steak cooked when we mentioned i would like it medium she thought we meant the fish my husband had ordered. The soup to start was brought out within 5 minutes, it was pleasant if a little cold. The same waitress cleared our bowls without even acknowledging us or asking if we enjoyed it. The wine glasses or our empty glasses were not cleared away. For a five star hotel this attention to detail is what you would expect. After a very long wait we had our main course which was nice but you could get better in restaurant near for a bit cheaper, I was not given a steak knife and had to ask and wait for this. Although these details seem petty you don't expect this from the hotel, if they want to charge 5 star prices the service needs to up to scratch which in my opinion it isn't. When we checked out we were not even asked if we enjoyed our stay!! All in all this is a lovely place to stay and relax, the view is lovely and the rooms are cosy just don't expect great customer service from the reception or restaurant staff. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and the staff were so so lovely.
We would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked one night in a superior woodland room. The room was fantastic, lovely views over the woodland and grounds. We used the spa for a swim and sauna which was clean and welcoming. We booked to eat at 8pm at the Brasserie. We were shown to our table and there was a long wait then it seemed for everything...to take our order...for drinks to arrive...we ordered some bread and olives to snack on and asked for them before our starters but they all arrived together at about 9.15. It seemed a long wait for an hour and a quarter with not even bread to eat. Other people near us were served starters and had then finished their mains before we even got our starters. Lovely food but slightly ruined by the extremely long service.

Room Tip: Think that deluxe rooms look onto back of hotel and not the grounds
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newlywedPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is a great place to escape to. The rooms are clean, modern, absolutely spacious and very well-decorated. As expected, service was excellent as well. The Clearing Spa was a bonus, with a beautiful infinity pool, steam rooms, and sauna. The Eden Project is also just a 10-minute drive away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deniseacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend here with friends and had a wonderful time we arrived late on a wet and cold Friday evening and despite a very busy function the roaring fire in the bar and friendly staff were a welcome site! On arrival parking was difficult but I don't think this is the norm it was down to the fact they had a large party staying. The rooms were very well equipped and very comfy and modern the bed was huge and so soft we slept very well despite our friends feeling that it was too hot. Breakfast was great lots of choice and nothing was too much trouble for the staff involved. We all had treatments and although the pool and jacuzzi were a little cold I would def recommend it the staff on reception at the spa were very friendly and even swapped my husbands complimentary prosecco for a beer which he preferred! We didn't manage to eat anything other than breakfast in the hotel as they were so busy as a tip if you want to eat in an of the restaurants book well in advance! We stayed on the second floor of the hotel and whilst the walk and several flights of stairs were no issue for older guests getting to and from your room cold become a bit of a mission! Over all a great stay and we would look to go again maybe try one of the lodges. We were particularly impressed at how friendly all the staff were from the Manager to the porter nothing was too much trouble and everyone was ready to say hello.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cashaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in the best room above reception, looking out of the front, which was really lovely for a planned 1 night stop with my wife - leaving the kids with the grandparents.
We used the spa, which was a great quality pool, sauna, steam and jacuzzi and had pedicures and manicures from their therapists. Quality was 'quite good' but have had better.
Restaurant food was excellent, but we were let down by significantly delayed service. The hotel massively made up for it though, buy offering us a 2nd night for free and providing a free dinner the following night. When we did get to sample the food, it was excellent - provided by the executive chef Brett.
Overall, they tried hard, but were struggling to cope with above average number of customers - however as they were all booked in advance, this is a poor excuse.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,581 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
507 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $109 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing