We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lacking in customer service though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel, lacking in customer service though.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just came back from a lovely weekend in the hotel, we paid a bit extra for a luxury room and the room was definitely luxury so worth that little bit extra. After a lovely relaxing swim and steam room we had planned on sitting in the bar before our meal and have a bottle of wine however the prices were very expensive, as expected for a five star hotel. The meal itself was lovely but the service was definitely lacking! The young girl who took our meal order was very uninterested and did not ask how I wanted my steak cooked when we mentioned i would like it medium she thought we meant the fish my husband had ordered. The soup to start was brought out within 5 minutes, it was pleasant if a little cold. The same waitress cleared our bowls without even acknowledging us or asking if we enjoyed it. The wine glasses or our empty glasses were not cleared away. For a five star hotel this attention to detail is what you would expect. After a very long wait we had our main course which was nice but you could get better in restaurant near for a bit cheaper, I was not given a steak knife and had to ask and wait for this. Although these details seem petty you don't expect this from the hotel, if they want to charge 5 star prices the service needs to up to scratch which in my opinion it isn't. When we checked out we were not even asked if we enjoyed our stay!! All in all this is a lovely place to stay and relax, the view is lovely and the rooms are cosy just don't expect great customer service from the reception or restaurant staff. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and the staff were so so lovely.
We would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    648
    257
    121
    47
See reviews for
324
1,140
24
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked one night in a superior woodland room. The room was fantastic, lovely views over the woodland and grounds. We used the spa for a swim and sauna which was clean and welcoming. We booked to eat at 8pm at the Brasserie. We were shown to our table and there was a long wait then it seemed for everything...to take our order...for drinks to arrive...we ordered some bread and olives to snack on and asked for them before our starters but they all arrived together at about 9.15. It seemed a long wait for an hour and a quarter with not even bread to eat. Other people near us were served starters and had then finished their mains before we even got our starters. Lovely food but slightly ruined by the extremely long service.

Room Tip: Think that deluxe rooms look onto back of hotel and not the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newlywedPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is a great place to escape to. The rooms are clean, modern, absolutely spacious and very well-decorated. As expected, service was excellent as well. The Clearing Spa was a bonus, with a beautiful infinity pool, steam rooms, and sauna. The Eden Project is also just a 10-minute drive away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniseacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
197 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend here with friends and had a wonderful time we arrived late on a wet and cold Friday evening and despite a very busy function the roaring fire in the bar and friendly staff were a welcome site! On arrival parking was difficult but I don't think this is the norm it was down to the fact they had a large party staying. The rooms were very well equipped and very comfy and modern the bed was huge and so soft we slept very well despite our friends feeling that it was too hot. Breakfast was great lots of choice and nothing was too much trouble for the staff involved. We all had treatments and although the pool and jacuzzi were a little cold I would def recommend it the staff on reception at the spa were very friendly and even swapped my husbands complimentary prosecco for a beer which he preferred! We didn't manage to eat anything other than breakfast in the hotel as they were so busy as a tip if you want to eat in an of the restaurants book well in advance! We stayed on the second floor of the hotel and whilst the walk and several flights of stairs were no issue for older guests getting to and from your room cold become a bit of a mission! Over all a great stay and we would look to go again maybe try one of the lodges. We were particularly impressed at how friendly all the staff were from the Manager to the porter nothing was too much trouble and everyone was ready to say hello.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in the best room above reception, looking out of the front, which was really lovely for a planned 1 night stop with my wife - leaving the kids with the grandparents.
We used the spa, which was a great quality pool, sauna, steam and jacuzzi and had pedicures and manicures from their therapists. Quality was 'quite good' but have had better.
Restaurant food was excellent, but we were let down by significantly delayed service. The hotel massively made up for it though, buy offering us a 2nd night for free and providing a free dinner the following night. When we did get to sample the food, it was excellent - provided by the executive chef Brett.
Overall, they tried hard, but were struggling to cope with above average number of customers - however as they were all booked in advance, this is a poor excuse.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A friend and I spent a day (courtesy of TravelZoo) at the Clearing Spa. The facilities are very good, infinity pool, steamroom and sauna, everything you could want in the changing rooms. We both had a 50 min. massage which was lovely, and they have a relaxing room with heated beds and everything for making tea afterwards. The Staff were extremely helpful, the lunch was excellent, and a glass of prosecco was included in the price of £49! An excellent day and one of the best spa days we have had.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked a 4 night break (Mon - Fri) in one of the Gold Vista Lodges and were nicely greeted, by the hotel reception staff, where checking-in was both friendly and efficient.
The lodge itself was of a very high standard with 2 spacious bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen fitted with high quality appliances.
The spa area is a lovely place to relax with a warm pool that overlooks the grounds through panoramic windows which was free to use along with the sauna and steam-room. Additional Spa treatments are available at reasonable rates and I had the pleasure of a full body massage with Paula who was excellent.
Throughout our stay the hotel staff were always courtious and nothing was too much trouble. We'll definately be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
17.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing