We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Stay...and still great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second Stay...and still great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in May 2011 and absolutley loved this Hotel, we have just returned from our second visit and had another lovely stay! We booked the "Autumn 2 Night Special Offer" and everything from Check-In to Breakfast was as good as we remember. We had a Woodland Room wth views overlooking the Hotel Entrance and a Balcony with Out-Side Furniture which was a lovely bonus. The Beds are still as huge and comfortable as when the Hotel first opened and the Bathrooms are just as generous (loved the Complimentary Toiletries and Robes!).

The Pool with it's views into the Gardens was beautiful...especially at 7:00am when it's lit up from the bottom of the pool, the Changing Facilities are clean and spacious but could benefit from a few more Individual Changing Cubicles.

Breakfast was a lot less chaotic this time around, the food was lovely and the service even more so. A nice touch was that the Operations Manager remembered it was my Birthday and made a point of coming to the table to wish me a Happy Birthday.

Will be back, thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    643
    255
    118
    47
See reviews for
321
1,130
24
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jungle Reserve
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

It's the staff that make a hotel, and the staff of the Cornwall could not have been more pleasant, accommodating, attentive and sympathetic. We felt welcome and valued throughout our 3 nights stay.
The location is extremely convenient: within easy walking distance of St Austell Rail and Bus Station, and yet located in acres of woodland and open green space a secluded distance from the road; equidistant (5 miles) from the Eden Project and the Lost (and now thankfully Regained) Gardens of Heligan, both of which are well served by local buses.
The beds were very comfortable, the room spacious and well furnished (we particularly appreciated the empty fridge and the complimentary bottles of still and sparkling water each day), the bathroom exceptionally well equipped with superb fittings and large, ceiling-mounted shower-head.
The spa area was excellent, with a pool large enough and long enough to have a separately roped-off area for length swimmers to exercise without depriving the bobbers and splashers of any of their fun.
The food and wine were both fairly priced in our opinion for the quality on offer, and we appreciated the hotel's support of local producers in their sourcing of excellent cheeses, yoghurt and pastries (we're vegetarian, so cannot comment on the quality of the meat and fish!).
But we come back to the staff. The staff make or break your stay, and for us they made it a really memorable experience for all the right reasons. We have stayed in hotels around the world, and recommend this one without reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaceseeker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Having previously stayed in the hotel on a spa break with girlfriends, I brought my family down for three nights and chose a Woodland Lodge. With three pre-teen boys the lodge proved to be the perfect accommodation. We were in a three bed lodge which had plenty of space for us all. My husband and I decided to take the smaller, non-en-suite double room because it had a bigger bed (two singles joined together, covered by a massive duvet) and then we had 'sole' use of the family bathroom with a walk-in shower. The main double was small by comparison and the en-suite only had a shower over the bath.

The Lodge had ample amounts of plates, glasses, pots and pans but missed some items that would have made the stay a little more elegant - I had to use a plastic measuring jug for wate on the table, there were no placemats or napkins. The was a thoughtful arrival pack of bread, butter, jam, milk and some coffee/tea sachets. There were at least two vases but no fruit bowl, and there were six cake tins of various sizes, not sure what they were ALL for, but ended up as fruit bowl, bread tin etc.

The tennis court and pool were big hits with the whole family. We ended up playing tennis 2/3 times a day. There was no booking system and a court seemed to be available everytime we wanted to play. The pool and spa were clean and tidy. Clean towels for each of us upon arrival by helpful, courteous staff. The pool rules are easy to follow but worth being aware of before booking a treatment as you are not allowed to be in the pool without an adult under 16 because there is no life guard. Having three boys who are very proficient at swimming this was quite a tie, but understandable. We treated ourselves to a couple of treatments which proved to be very relaxing. They were given by obviously experience therapists who had charming manners and made us feel very pampered and special.

On our last night we had a disappointing meal in the Arboretum restaurant. When we arrived no-one noticed and eventually my husband went to the bar to order drinks, they never arrived so he went to see where they were and they were just sitting on the bar! When we went through to the restaurant we were greeted and taken to our table by a slightly flustered and obviously very busy manager who informed us that a member of staff hadn't shown up for work. We had quite a considerable wait after or order was taken, no bread came but there was clearly chilled butter on the table. We had ordered a bottle of sparkling water which I had to remind him to serve which initially arrived as a jug of tap water. The first we heard of any bread was when I was offered more when my started arrived. The Gravalax was delicious but the prawns were tasteless and watery and only saved but the dressing. My husband had a delicious crab linguini. I then had pheasant with puy lentils and a very 'savoury' sauce/gravy and the smallest smear of butternut squash and fennel purée. Sadly my husband's bass was spoilt with far too much salt in the stir-fried vegetables. It was such a shame because my previous visit to the restaurant had been amazing and we were both very much looking forward to our dinner.

Having said all of that, our trip was a huge success overall and we would consider booking a lodge or into the hotel again. The lady on reception was a total delight. Thank you for a great break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent three nights at one of the hotel's three bedroom lodges. They are fantastic value for money (off-season at least), built only in 2010 and in great shape. The spa is great -- our kids loved it -- and the staff are good. The hotel restaurants serves good food, though over-priced in our view (turns out there is a decent Thai takeaway in St Austell that delivers to the lodges). You can walk to the nearest beach, a nice 1.5 hour hike through the woods.

Room Tip: Lodges have two-three bedrooms, are very spacious and were built just two years ago. Highly recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Look out for deals which are great value. Hotel is decent 4 star. Pool is nice. Gym is small and a bit gloomy but treatment rooms are nice. Easy drive to Fowey and easy bike hire for good cycle paths.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked for the weekend after previously visiting for afternoon tea which was very nice. The room was very spacious although we had occasional noise from the resident staying in the room above (but I just like it to be quiet). Breakfast was a good selection and service was always prompt. I had the venison wellington (as recommended) one evening which was better than Rules in London, this alone made the weekend for me, although we were left speechless to find out that the ice cream on offer was Carte D'or, so we had a chat with the Operations Manager who had already explained he had been brought in by the hotel to improve issues like this. His attention to detail, service and and focus on how to improve the hotel is exactly what is needed to give the hotel that little boost. The walk to Mevagissey was great but maybe the map from reception could be a little more detailed as the track paths weren't all signposted. Digital TV signal in our room (133) kept breaking up. All in all, staff great, hotel clean & tidy, spa facilities very good, Operations Manager is the way forward.

Room Tip: Choose room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMRT1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I had a weekend away. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and attentive. Our room was very comfortable and the meal we had in the restaurant was superb. Breakfasts were delicious and we especially loved using the swimming pool. While staying here we were only a short drive from wonderful villages including Mevagissey and Fowey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maugi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
17.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing