We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at The Cornwall for a week, checking out on 22nd September. We had one of the woodland homes which gives you the advantage of self catering combined with access to all the hotel facilities.
The home was very well designed and furnished. A welcome pack of bread ,butter ,milk , jam, juice ,tea and coffee were in the kitchen when we arrived. Everything was spotlessly clean and everything worked including very good wi fi, a rarity in UK hotels.
During our stay we had meals in the brasserie restaurant and the more upmarket Arboretum. Both were excellent but the Arboretum stood out and provided excellent food and service at a very reasonable price.
During our stay we used most of the facilities in the woodland home including the washing machine, dishwasher and all the cooking facilities. All worked perfectly. This standard of accommodation enables you to have a very good holiday at a good price since you don't eat out all the time and can prepare meals in convenient surroundings. Large supermarkets and good farm shops are in easy reach .
The hotel is close to The Eden Project, The Lost Gardens and all the scenic attractions of the south coast. We had great days cycling the off road paths and discovering some of the small villages in the area all of which seemed to have good pubs and cafes.
Altogether the best UK holiday we have had for years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnarran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    659
    265
    131
    50
See reviews for
337
1,167
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We'd booked a 5 night break as a present for a birthday.

After a long trip to the hotel (4+ hours by car) check-in was supposed to be at 3pm but we were told to wait for 40 minutes because housekeeping hadn't cleaned all the lodges due to a high number of checkouts. On asking at Reception, we were told to just wait, and this was all shrugged off by staff. Please note that you have to check out by 10am and the housekeeping staff are promptly there to deal with you leaving.

The wifi was supposed to be free, but didn't work initially. The 'entertainment system' was also linked to the internet, and meant the TV stuttered, jumped and froze, thus was difficult to watch. On contacting reception to sort the problem, they had to be chased a number of times to rectify the situation, and were relatively slow at doing so.

We also booked the spa, and a number of treatments between the 3 of us; unfortunately whoever had taken the booking had got the names wrong, and therefore confused all of us, claimed we hadn't got all the treatments booked, and was only what can be described as 'snotty' when dealing with our query.

The lodge itself was well equipped and clean (apart from the grime on the balcony glass), but all the lodges are very close together, so you can hear your neighbours. The worst thing we all found was that the beds weren't that comfortable, but I appreciate that is personal choice.

There's a single track road to the lodges, little lighting when walking between the lodges and the hotel, and a slippery gravel path to walk. It's not ideal for those with limited mobility or children/buggies etc.

The pool on site was clean and pleasant. Dinner in the hotel was good, served promptly, but expensive for what we got.

I won't be visiting again, as for the price we paid, we could have gone abroad - and had some better weather.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We recently went to the Cornwall Hotel for a 3 night break. Well decorated and designed hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff - throughout booking, our stay and after.
We chose to stay on one of their summer offers, 3 nights, a meal in the restaurant, and cream tea. We used the evening meal on the first night, and were given the menu, and had the option of paying a little extra to choose from the full menu, and ate out on the other nights. The service in the restaurant was great, and the food was good for the prices shown. The scones for the cream tea were the most impressive though, and we took the afternoon tea on the veranda of the hotel, looking out into the grounds - such a relaxing way to spend an hour or so.
The room we had was in the main hotel itself, the Maud Smith room shown on the website, and looks exactly as the pictures suggest. Stunning. (Though the TV remote doesn’t properly control the TV as a few others have mentioned). As others have mentioned, the hotel doesn’t have air conditioning, but we were there in the middle of August, and it was hot during the day, we never found the room to hot - especially with the floor to ceiling window, which also had wonderful views of the grounds from the bed.
If we had to give a negative it would be the organisation of breakfast - whist the buffet was well stocked, it appeared that almost every table were having to chase for their tea/coffee and any toast. One morning we didn’t get our coffee by the time we had finished breakfast, so headed back to the room for a drink before we headed out for the day. The serving staff were all very busy, apologetic, and trying their best, but that area of breakfast service appeared to lack organisation. This didn't detract from our stay though, but I hope they manage to sort it for if/when we return.
The location is very handy for Cornwall - not far away from the Eden project, a few minutes away from Mevagissey, and within about half an hour of Newquay if you want to visit.
The spa and pool were very quiet in the mornings, and for about half an hour each day we had the place to ourselves before other guests started to arrive! All very clean and modern, the infinity pool has a great view into the well kept walled garden.
I would recommend The Cornwall to anyone, and we will definitely be checking their offers page next time we want to head down that way, it was a lovely way to spend a few days relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oracus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I made a last minute booking, and was excited to go, and it was good, but overrated - either that or it was just letting itself down in the detail.

Rooms etc.
The room decor showed signs of wear and tear, and the glass fronted balcony was covered in algae / moss, and dead leaves on the floor.
The remote for the TV was fully compatible with the TV (subtitle permanently on!) - but we didn't want to watch it so that wasn't a problem for us - but it might be for you!
It would have been nice to have robes in the rooms (it is a spa destination after all), but there were none, only 2 thin pillows on the double bed....

Spa.
We checked in pretty late, and the pool/sauna etc closes at 7.45pm on Saturday evenings, so we didn't have long to enjoy the facilities. The pool / sauna etc were lovely though.

Eating.
The 'fine dining' restaurant was fully booked so we went to the brasserie instead. The food was pretty standard. Disappointingly, my cornish fish stew largely comprised salmon (unlikely to be local, as it claimed the fish would be), but dessert which was amazing. The waitresses, although friendly enough were not exactly trained or skilled as restaurant level - much more informal service like you'd expect in a cafe on the high street rather than a fancy spa hotel.

I sound like i'm nit picking, but i often stay away at low-end hotels and B&Bs, so when I fork out for a treat, which isn't often, i have high expectations!

it is a lovely place, and i would like to go back, but it could be even better with a bit of extra effort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach8l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have just returned home from Cornwall and all I can say is Fantastic. I would recommend The Cornwall Hotel to anyone who wanted a relaxed break. We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom lodges and we were amazed at how lovely they are when we arrived. From start to finish everything was perfect, staff, accommodation, Spa. I cannot thank The Cornwall enough and we certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just returned from an excellent week at The Cornwall. It was a wonderful and relaxing stay from start to finish, and is a first class resort. All of the staff treated us as though we were royalty, and really went out of their way to make sure everything was as it should be. We stayed in one of the Woodland Lodge Homes, which was beautifully designed, luxuriously furnished and spotlessly clean. Everything thought of, including milk, butter, jam in the fridge and a loaf of farm-baked bread! Exquisite views from the balcony, which was a lovely place to sit in the evening after a day of sightseeing. The spa and pool were top-class, and we enjoyed several spa treatments during our stay. And the food? Fantastic! Breakfasts were hearty and had an excellent choice of items. We had dinner in the hotel's Arboretum Restaurant each night, so were able to sample a wide variety of starters, mains, and desserts and everything was delicious! We certainly will recommend this hotel to our friends, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elementalcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we felt fully at home and comfortable at the Cornwall. All staff were incredibly friendly and polite - Tracy, the food and beverage manageress, was of particular note and a real asset to the business - warm, friendly, nothing was too much for her and she had a wealth of knowledge regarding local beaches and restaurants etc and Becky on reception was friendly and very courteous. The leisure facilities are superb and should be made the most of. Food in the restaurant was lovely and good value. Also ate at the Kingswood restaurant about a mile up the road - superb !!! The grounds are extensive and beautiful - well worth a walk around. The rooms are large, more than comfortable and very clean. Will definitely be back in the future. Stayed for 3 days/nights from 7th to 10th September

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing