We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing Treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Having had a less than favourable experience on our first visit to The Cornwall for dinner, we gave it a second chance and were extremely glad we did! We spent our wedding anniversary there in a Superior room with open plan bathroom (except WC) and lovely balcony overlooking the grounds. I had been concerned that having an open plan bathroom may make the room steamy when using the bath/shower, but to my surprise it didn't! The shower was lovely and the bed and bedding comfortable. We had a nice swim in the infinity pool and relaxed in the whirlpool. The only critisicm (if you can call it that) is that it would have been nice to have directions to the Spa in the room. We had to ask the lady servicing the rooms for directions. Perhaps a little plan on the back of the door might help? The staff in the restaurant were attentive and most professional and we throughly enjoyed our meal. Breakfast was a little chaotic. When we arrived, we were told that there were no tables available at the moment, but that we were welcome to have juice etc, so we took our glasses onto the terrace and enjoyed a few minutes in the sunshine. We then were found a table quite quickly, but it wasn't really clear if it was table service or self service - so we served ourselves. The fact that the sun shone and we could sit on the balcony and enjoy the view was an added bonus to a lovely overnight break. Luckily for us, we only live a stones throw from The Cornwall and we will be back!

Room Tip: Superior Rooms with open plan bathroom are large and spacious with lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    643
    255
    118
    47
See reviews for
321
1,131
24
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

What a great place to stay, the staff are courteous, polite and always happy to help, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very luxurious and cosy with fantastic views of their 40+ acre estate. The scenery and walks compliment the hotel and the Spa just makes this location a delightful and luxury place to stay for any special occasion. I chose to get engaged there and I couldn’t think of a nicer place to do this, everything was perfect and we would go back today if we could.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyg3701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights here at the end of June. Despite the weather that we're experiencing here this year we had a lovely time both at the hotel and in the area. Staff very friendly and helpful especially the General Manager and his PA when we had trouble with our safe, nothing was too much trouble. We ate in both restaurants and the food was lovely at dinner and breakfast. We made use of the spa (although not any treatments) and on both occasions it was fairly empty.
Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking the grounds, it was just a shame we didn't get the opportunity to use it. Rooms are spacious and the bed very comfortable. As well as the hotel there are 2 and 3 bed houses to let which would be ideal for larger groups holidaying together. We took a look around the show home before we left and the accommodation was very well equipped with the living space upstairs.
We were only a few miles away from the Lost Gardens of Heligan which we thoroughly enjoyed and in all it's a great location for exploring this part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

A few weeks agao my wife and I left the kids with the in-laws and spent Saturday afternoon, night and most of Sunday at the hotel. The food was excellent, the service attentive, friendly but not overbearing and the spa pool surprisingly empty. Our room was a Superior Woodland room and had nice views, a balcony, lovely bath and powerful shower and a gigantic bed. Perfect for that night away without the kids.You have to walk outside to get to the spa, but as long as you're prepared for that, it's not an issue. Overall, a really good break, very relaxing and we'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor rooms in the 'new' extension as I imagine the ones downstairs might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just spent our 40 th Wedding Aniverseary at the Cornwall Hotel, Nice rooms, Good food, Staff friendly only wish we could have spent more time there.
View from room was good and the Hotel is just far enough away from the road not to hear the traffic. Wish we could go back this week.

Room Tip: I think they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIke186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a great stay here - we had a lovely room with open plan bath behind the bed and a great balcony. We had great service in the restaurant and the food is highly recommendedwith 2 separate menus to choose from. I had a swim in the swimming pool which was great [if not very deep] and the jacuzzi was lovely. All members of staff were a credit to their employer. This hotel has been open a mere 2 years now and is certainly going places!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Last weekend was our second time at this hotel,(the first being last Christmas when we stayed in a beautiful suite in the main hotel). This trip we had our dog, and the allocated room was lovely and spacious with balcony and views over the beautiful grounds.

The staff were very well mannered,attentive and helpful ,and plenty of them, particularly at breakfast, which offered a good choice of buffet and from the menu.

Our dog loved the space the gardens provided and the woodland walks are not to be missed.

We didn't dine in the hotel this trip but can recommend a Christmas stay, as last years was very welcoming,with a choir and a carol evening etc and the food and drink was typical of a Christmas at home, plentiful!
We were all together as a family and it couldn't have been better.

An excellent and relaxing hotel ,and we hope to visit The Cornwall many more times.

Andy and Judith

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARH262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
17.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing