We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food & accommodation but the service was lacking at times...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Four of us descended on this hotel for a 1 night break to celebrate a friend's 40th. We were all arriving on different trains at different times from different parts of the country. Reception accommodated us well and ensured the rooms were available earlier than the standard 3pm check-in time. Our deal included deluxe rooms, a 1/2 treatment each, a 3 course dinner and breakfast the following morning, as well as use of the spa facilities - gym, lovely pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi/whirlpool (which was unfortunately a bit chilly).

We started the weekend by sharing a couple of cream teas in the lounge/bar but only managed to get our 2 extra pots of tea by asking 3 times, by which time we'd finished the delicious scones ladled with scrumptious clotted cream! The treatments (BNS massage & facial) were all good but unfortunately the delay at tea resulted in 2 of the 4 being late for their treatments so not as relaxing as they should've been and the treatments were cut short.

In the evening, we delayed our table reservation in The Arboretum as we were enjoying the pool etc so much and the hotel dealt with this with no problem whatsoever. The choice of food was great and the food itself absolutely fantastic. However, although there were plenty of staff at the beginning of the meal, they seemed to peeter out towards the end. There were a couple of instances at the meal that we could've done without. Firstly my friend asked for the horseradish that came with the mackerel starter to be put on one side - it came with a big dollop on top of the dish! This was returned but it took quite some time for a replacement to arrive, by which time the other 3 of us had almost finished (2 of the starters were hot so we had to go ahead without her). The final straw was my dessert. I chose an ice cream concoction with hot chocolate sauce. It arrived with no hot chocolate sauce. By this stage, it appeared that all the staff had disappeared so no-one was around to rectify the situation. By the time my friend had managed to go and find someone and the sauce arrived, the ice cream had melted and the other 3 had finished their desserts! So that spoilt the meal for me which was extremely unfortunate.

We then decided to finish off the evening on a high note by moving to the bar to enjoy a bottle of wine. We gave up waiting for service after 10 minutes and retreated to our rooms for a nightcap we had brought ourselves!

Breakfast the next morning was fantastic - the Eggs Arlington are a must (think Eggs Benedict but replace the ham with smoked salmon!).

All in all, we still managed to have a great time but we expected a certain level of service from this hotel which we didn't get. We did have a word with the manager before we left who was apologetic and took the cream teas and any supplements from dinner off the final bill as well as promising to take our comments on board. Let's hope that's what does happen as I'd love to bring my boyfriend here for a simlar break next year as a trip to The Lost Gardens of Heligan has been on my wishlist for years!

Room Tip: Try to avoid deluxe rooms 130-133 in order to get the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyFoulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

Hotel was absolutely wonderful, the pool was stunning, the gym well equiped. Our delux room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were only here for 3 days and did not have time to use the Spa for any treatments,or the restaurants for an evening meal, but the breakfasts were delicious and the only fault we could find was that we had to leave!

Room Tip: used booking.com and got our room for half price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janieg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hopefully next time you’ll get to try the wonderful Clearing Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Spent 5 nights at The Cornwall in May, taking advantage of the fabulous value of the Spring Break package plus one night B&B. Check-in was quick, friendly and efficient with help offered for our luggage. We stayed in one of the Woodland Rooms and I think this was the best hotel room I've ever stayed in here in the UK. We travel a lot in the US where value for money tends to be much better than in the UK but this room was up there with the best. The balcony was a real treat and the room was quiet and peaceful, although there did seem to be a very heavyweight insomniac in the room above us who spent much of two of the nights pacing the floor. As these rooms are in a new and very stylish building, I was surprised that the sound travelled as it did. The bed was very comfortable with good linens apart from the pillows, which were awful - synthetic, flat and hard with no life left in them. This should be addressed as a priority as they didn't match the overall quality at all - or am I just fussy about pillows??. We had a separate bathroom (some are integral) which was spacious and smart. Very trendy sink which you can't fill with water was stylish but meant you had to leave the tap running which seemed to be a waste of water - not very 'Green'!

We ate in the Aboretum restaurant on three of our five nights and found the food to be delicious and the service attentive and personable. One tiny gripe would be the claim on the website that menus are changed daily - it was the same throughout our stay but there was sufficient choice for this not to be a problem. Room service is mentioned in the room's information pack but we couldn't find any evidence of it being offered.

Breakfast was also good although cooking all hot food to order with only one chef did cause some delays. It would have been good to have omelette as one of the choices.

The grounds are lovely and will improve as they mature. Overall I thought The Cornwall aquitted itself very well. Yes, there were a few tiny niggles but you can find some fault with most places if you look hard enough. We enjoyed our break and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor if in Woodland Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Thank you for your feedback, we really pride ourselves on listening to all our guest reviews so we can continue to strive for the perfect stay. The Arboretum has reinstated the daily changing menu and we now have the Acorns Brasserie open every evening so hopefully you will return and have the opportunity to try our new menus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I was staying locally with my husband and granddaughter
We booked in for a luxury manicure and pedicure, only to be greeted by confused staff and the wrong booking.
The result was two VERY mediocre treatments and VERY overpriced (£80 for the two of us) with 10% discount because we were staying at a local resort which claimed discount at the hotel
We were'nt offered an apology for their mistake or any recompense
Very disappointed
We then (mistakenly) went on to have tea in the bar. Again overpriced, staff had no idea what they were doing, and despite asking about local discount, were ignored
Wouldn't reccomend going there or using facilities
Shame as it is a lovely setting

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PortsmouthCtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your experience at The Cornwall Hotel. I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you over the phone so that I can ensure that this doesn’t happen again. We welcome guest feedback so we can use it for staff training to make certain that the service we offer continues to exceed our clients expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This was a great hotel for a relaxing weekend break.

The spa facilities and staff at the spa are excellent. Spa changing facilities were immaculate, a well equipped gym, beautiful infinity pool and great to have nice quality spacious loungers at the poolside to allow the full benefits of post exercise or treatment relaxation to sink in. The staff at the spa reception and the therapists were spot on - competent, friendly, professional.

We ate 2 breakfasts, a dinner and a lunch - all of which were absolutely delicious. The staff in the restaurants were excellent at accommodating our gluten free diets. On occasion service felt a little slow and I thought that staff may have been unaware of their responsibilities - in fact I was not always certain of who was serving our table, taking the order etc. Nevertheless all staff were always friendly and attentive when called for. One further niggle (apologies!) - I really wanted to avoid the table by the window for our second breakfast, due to the ketchup/food stain down the base of the voile.

The bedroom (deluxe) was spacious and elegant, with a lovely balcony to take in the fresh air, which is nicely scented by the surrounding greenery and foliage. However in our opinion, there were areas of finishing in the rooms which were not particularly well thought through :

The design of the bathroom sink meant that it was not possible to fill a sink full of water for e.g. shaving purposes.
The door to the bathroom was hung so it opened in the direction of the toilet. Therefore as a couple if your partner were to open the bathroom door whilst the other was sat on the toilet, the door would hit their knees.
Not all pipework in the bathroom was concealed and whilst there was an attempt to make it more elegant with chrome piping, it lacked that seamless finish.
The lighting options in the bedroom were so low that it was not possible to see items e.g. in your case. This could be easily solved with a floor lamp.
There were no cotton balls/make up removal pads/cotton buds provided in the bathroom - this is normally a 'given' for a hotel that is aiming to play at this level.
Coffee sachets provided in the bedroom were standard Nescafe - again, this is the type of coffee you would expect in any hotel, not a hotel that is aiming for a better standard. There were however plenty of milk sachets provided, including a little note offering fresh milk if you preferred - nice touch!.

The lounge area and terrace are beautiful. We had a barbecue lunch on the terrace which was a lovely experience. The lounge does not appear to have waiting staff and I think a lot of sales are being lost, as people are uncertain in they are able to get a coffee at all or in a timely manner. We asked at reception if it was possible to get a coffee in the lounge and again when prompted, the receptionist showed good initiative in not only arranging for our coffees, but also making a check of the lounges and taking further orders. Additional staffing would be the logical step.

The bank holiday rate was really too aspirational but at the standard rates, we believe this hotel represents appropriate value. It certainly delivers on washing away the stresses and delivering a sense of ease and tranquility.

Room Tip: For a view, not overlooking the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wimble21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it’s really helpful for us so we can ensure we continue to improve our service and offering at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Having driven past on the way to Mevagissey previously, we decided to visit the Website. We were very lucky to stumble across a May Special Offer. For £99.00 (reduced from £250.00) we booked ourselves a 1 Night Stay in a Deluxe Woodland Room. The Room was pure luxury, very spacious and modern! The larger than King-Size Bed was the most comfortable Bed I've ever slept in and the Balcony with superb views was an added surprise. The Bathroom was just as lovely with a large Bath and Rain Shower.
The absolute creme de la creme for us were the Leisure Facilities, although these were not mentioned on check-in we did get full use included and we certainly made the most of them. It was fairly quiet in the Pool but this suited us. The only few negative comments (if any) were that Breakfast in The Acorns Room didn't really seem suitable for the amount of guests, a few had to queue for a Table and service was a bit chaotic...the food however was fabulous. Also, as the hotel opened last year, there are a few things that need to completed on site to just make it that little bit better.

The standard rate is maybe a little out of our Price Range but we will certainly be keeping our eye out for Special Offers in the future

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you for choosing The Cornwall for your stay, we will take your feedback on board so that we can continue to improve the experience that our guests receive when they stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

My wife and I visited the Cornwall Hotel and Spa for three nights for our honeymoon. The hotel itself is set in a fantastic estate and the two of us stayed in the Junior Suite which was absolutely wonderful. I had arranged for flowers in the room on arrival which looked amazing when we walked in, and had also arranged to eat in the hotel restaurant on our first evening. We both found the food and service very good. I had arranged for a bottle of champagne to be served with our meal which was all fine although I had to keep our glasses topped up myself - more attention from the restaurant staff to ensure thast our glasses were topped up would have been appreciated.

The spa facilities are great and we both made use of the swimming pool and also had a treatment each on our last morning.

The staff were generally very helpful; taking our bags to our room, providing an iron and irnoning board when requested, giving good restaurant recomendations for stays on our other nights, booking taxis etc.

The only other point to mention is that generally the breakfasts were very good. The first two mornings were great, however on our final morning we felt a little let down by the service and quality. I think the restaurant may have been under staffed and as a result we had to wait quite a long time for our breakfasts and sadly they no where near as good as the previous day's!

All in all we had a great stay at the Cornwall, and with some more attention to detail the hotel could be really excellent.

Room Tip: Junior suite has better views than the main suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonflemming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

We are delighted you chose The Cornwall for your honeymoon and thank you for your feedback. I hope we can welcome you back in the future so you can experience our progress towards exceeding our clients expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,594 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
902 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
511 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $103 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing