We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Having driven past on the way to Mevagissey previously, we decided to visit the Website. We were very lucky to stumble across a May Special Offer. For £99.00 (reduced from £250.00) we booked ourselves a 1 Night Stay in a Deluxe Woodland Room. The Room was pure luxury, very spacious and modern! The larger than King-Size Bed was the most comfortable Bed I've ever slept in and the Balcony with superb views was an added surprise. The Bathroom was just as lovely with a large Bath and Rain Shower.
The absolute creme de la creme for us were the Leisure Facilities, although these were not mentioned on check-in we did get full use included and we certainly made the most of them. It was fairly quiet in the Pool but this suited us. The only few negative comments (if any) were that Breakfast in The Acorns Room didn't really seem suitable for the amount of guests, a few had to queue for a Table and service was a bit chaotic...the food however was fabulous. Also, as the hotel opened last year, there are a few things that need to completed on site to just make it that little bit better.

The standard rate is maybe a little out of our Price Range but we will certainly be keeping our eye out for Special Offers in the future

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you for choosing The Cornwall for your stay, we will take your feedback on board so that we can continue to improve the experience that our guests receive when they stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,957 - 1,963 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

My wife and I visited the Cornwall Hotel and Spa for three nights for our honeymoon. The hotel itself is set in a fantastic estate and the two of us stayed in the Junior Suite which was absolutely wonderful. I had arranged for flowers in the room on arrival which looked amazing when we walked in, and had also arranged to eat in the hotel restaurant on our first evening. We both found the food and service very good. I had arranged for a bottle of champagne to be served with our meal which was all fine although I had to keep our glasses topped up myself - more attention from the restaurant staff to ensure thast our glasses were topped up would have been appreciated.

The spa facilities are great and we both made use of the swimming pool and also had a treatment each on our last morning.

The staff were generally very helpful; taking our bags to our room, providing an iron and irnoning board when requested, giving good restaurant recomendations for stays on our other nights, booking taxis etc.

The only other point to mention is that generally the breakfasts were very good. The first two mornings were great, however on our final morning we felt a little let down by the service and quality. I think the restaurant may have been under staffed and as a result we had to wait quite a long time for our breakfasts and sadly they no where near as good as the previous day's!

All in all we had a great stay at the Cornwall, and with some more attention to detail the hotel could be really excellent.

Room Tip: Junior suite has better views than the main suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonflemming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

We are delighted you chose The Cornwall for your honeymoon and thank you for your feedback. I hope we can welcome you back in the future so you can experience our progress towards exceeding our clients expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night for my birthday treat. The Hotel is absolutely beautiful the decor is top class and you can tell that a lot of though has been put into the refurb to make this into a stunning boutique spa hotel.

When we arrived at the hotel we were very impressed with the grand entrance driving up through the grounds it is lovely location one of the best we have ever stayed at.

We had a slight problem on check in as I had emailed the hotel a couple of months before to book a table in the Arboretum Restaurant for our stay I had booked this for 8pm in order to make sure we had plenty of time to use the facilites before dinner. I received a confirmation of my dinner booking from one of the reception staff shortly after emailing. When checking in I asked to check the reservation time and the reception advised me that there was no booking and that there was no space in the restaurant for us at that time. No apology was made we were just asked if we could rearrange our schedule to make dinner for 7pm. We agreed however I felt that this was overlooked as a minor problem however to us it did make us have to rush using the facitlities.

The spa is gorgeous and really relaxing we loved our time spent in the pool, steam room and sauna. The changing rooms are equally as luxorious.

We were over the moon with the deluxe woodland room, it was exceptional standard and the nicest room I have ever stayed in. The bath/shower and sink was in the main room which was a lovely touch and all the little touches made our stay extra special. The bed was amazing!! So comfortable! And the balcony overlooking the grounds was perfect and was lovely enjoying a glass of wine out there once we had settled into the room.

We also took full advantage of the lawn games such as badminton and croquet which was one of our highlights of the stay as the setting is beautiful and was lovely spending time outside.

We felt that the main let down of this hotel which really puts us off staying again is the staff! Which is such a shame as you can see the time and money put into this hotel to make it top quality however the customer service was terrible.

A lot of the staff were starting that day which is fine we understand that everyone has a 1st day at work so there will be minor glitches however the new starters were thrown in the deep end by management and left to there own devices with no training on the bar or restaurant so hadnt a clue where menus etc were when asked. I felt a bit sorry for the new staff as you could see they were embarrassed that they were unable to help etc and struggled to find other members of staff to help. The management did not seem very friendly and we werent made to feel especially welcome which was a shame as we had been looking forward to this stay for a long time.

Another major let down for me was the restaurant. There was only another couple and us in the restaurant at 7pm and this didnt change until we left at 8.30pm! Which shocked us as we were told we couldnt eat in there at 8pm as they were fully booked. They did have a function of 30 people eating in a room near reception however I did not understand why this should stop them serving hotel guests as well?? How would they cope with a wedding party function? would none of the hotel guests be able to eat in the restaurant!

After reading several rave reviews I had high expectations but felt we were completely ripped off in terms of what we received. The food was average and the portions were so tiny - I understand that this is fine dining and eat regularly at fine dining restaurants however to charge the prices that they charge the food should be exceptional.
We were very disappointed. If we did stay again we would definately try the Acorns restaurant upstairs as this may be better value for money. My partner was so hungry after the meal which cost approx £100 for the 2 of us with a bottle of wine, that he had to order a snack from room service as soon as we returned to the room.

The problem we had was after the meal we went to the terrace bar for a cocktail as we had been told by a waitress that this is where they are served. We asked the guy behind the bar for the cocktail menu he informed us that he didnt have one to hand and was unsure of what they serve as he was new and hadnt been trained in cocktails. He did try to find a senior member of staff to help us however he said they were all busy at the time. After getting no further after 10 minutes of waiting, we gave in and ordered a standard drink instead. The drinks prices were extortionate!

This hotel has amazing positives - (rooms, spa, location) however the negatives outway them!!

We may visit again as it is a stunning hotel, however we will wait a couple of years so hopefully within that time the staff will be properly trained and the hotel may become better value for money!

I would recommend the hotel. But would advise them of what to expect in terms of the negatives!

We have friends who stayed here a few weeks before us and they also came away with the exact review of positives and negatives as we did.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSimeone14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Thank you for choosing to come to The Cornwall to celebrate your birthday but I am sorry to hear that it was such a mixed experience. You are right, we had a number of new restaurant staff starting as this is the beginning of the Summer season but this doesn’t excuse poor service and I’m sorry that this was your experience. Having looked at our restaurant orders for the evening of your stay we had 20 covers at the time you were dining and we had decided that to ensure our hotel guests were not affected, we ceased taking reservations from 8-8.30pm, which with hindsight may have been too cautious.

Thank you for the compliments about our Woodland Room and our Spa, we are very proud of the look and design of our hotel but it is the small details that count and make a hotel a cut above the rest. We are working hard on our staff training and our recent recruitment drive means we have some wonderful staff in our team, the majority of whom are local as we are very proud to support the local community.

Customer feedback is very important to us and I am sorry we didn’t get the chance to talk when you were staying. Perhaps if you have a few moments we could speak over the phone about your experience in more detail so I can ensure we put right what went wrong with enhanced staff training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Gorgeous bedroom, one of the deluxe ones. Great bed, top quality linen, clean balcony with two good armchairs and amazing bath in bedroom, so excited but this and the rain shower than I was nearly late using both Breakfast was very good too and as I said I was runnng an bit late and wasn't sure I would have time they promised immediate service and I got it! Very happy and making plans to come back again..

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe its worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSandAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Perhaps if you have more time next time you can indulge yourself at the Spa – they have the drench showers too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful few days, staying in a very comfortable 'lodge' on the estate. The spa is excellent and the new tennis courts really good! The food in the Arboretum was delicious - and the staff all very friendly and helpful. We really look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. The new tennis courts are proving a real hit with the guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We didn't stay here but took advantage of the Leisurely Lunch deal the sunday before Easter.
We had a lovely swim in the wonderful Spa infinity pool, then a drink on the sunny Terrace while we chose from the menu.
The food, the service and the location were all fabulous. We asked to have a look at the rooms as we plan a weeknd break here soon and all were amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to post your experience, we would love to welcome you back. Take a look at our website for some of the weekend packages we have on offer at the moment as they represent excellent value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary for two nights. The room was well equipped with a very comfortable bed and efficient shower - servicing of room took place early afternoon which seemed odd as hotel not full and room service trays were not cleared in corridor.

Dinner on both nights was poor - the food itself, when it arrived was of good quality but clearly no management on duty to ensure service was adequate. On both nights two courses took two hours + and other customers around us equally dissatisfied. Breakfast no better.

Spa run by young team and no referral at all to questionnaire completed during
Spa ritual. Little attention to detail during visit.

We complained at the time and manager gave us the benefit of his time - we then decided to write re our experiences and only received a response when we wrote a week later asking for a response .

All in all a long way of other spa hotels in Cornwall and management need to be more
hands on rather than non existent when staff clearly need guidance.

In truth we should have insisted we were refunded the food element of our bill as this was totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruceBrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Following our conversation on your departure about your stay, I have been working with the team to address the problems you encountered. Customer feedback is extremely important to us and we have been working hard to address the issues you raised. We have recently had a local recruitment drive and together with training we are building a team to be proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,611 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
926 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: $83 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing