We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a good B&B should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T'Gallants Guest House
Ranked #39 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here in late April 2013 and chose the king-sized room overlooking the harbour. Gorgeous view! We could have sat on the sofa in front of the window for hours, forgetting to actually get out there into the elements! Maybe the sea air helped, but we slept like logs. Very comfortable bed. Immaculately clean room and house. Very hospitable owners and the perfect breakfast! Last but not least, two friendly ginger cats... An excellent base in the St Austell area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kulchershok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 73 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were looking for a B&B in the St. Austell in April 2013 and was directed to "a fishing village down the road". What a surprise as we turned the corner and found that we were at Charlestown Harbor. Two tall ships stood in the harbor along with a Maritime Museum. We tried to get a room at the local Pub and were directed to T'Gallants Guest House. Jeff offered us a nice room with a harbor view with a wonderful full English breakfast in a nice dining room. The room was comfortable and neat. We enjoyed our short visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frmseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we stayed here in Sept 2011 - lovely house, lovely room .great food and really nice people set in a very pretty sea side port - our room looked out at the tall ship in the harbour - highly recommend this one

Room Tip: shower room a little small but perfectly kitted out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBuckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

T'Gallants B&B is one of the most outstanding facilities we ever stayed at. Jeff and his sister Sandra went out of their way to insure we were comfortable and had everything we needed for a perfect stay. Their meals were great. The bedrooms were very clean, the beds very comfortable. I recommend room 5 which has an outstanding view of the bay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very central, charming B&B in the picturesque town of Charlestown. We were fortunate to stay in the four poster room on the top floor with lovely view of the tall ships.
Welcoming hosts, lovely decor, huge bed, very clean, and tasty breakfast.
My only "gripe" would be not only the noise from the pubs etc which of course is not the guesthouse fault, but thin walls in the property meant you heard everything. Once next door were awake in the morning.....so we're you! Being on the top floor meant we didn't get noise from up above but I would imagine any of the floors below would be disturbed by this. It's a shame cause all in all it's a lovely place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou090669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We tried this guest house on recommendation from a friend as we wanted to stay nearby to Eden and The Gardens of Heligan without staying in St. Austell. The town of Charlestown was really picturesque and the rooms were spacious and clean. Our bed was enourmous and we woke up not wanting to leave.

Would definitely recommend this to travellers in the area who want to be close to the local attractions whilst staying somewhere with character.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsty34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Perfectly located, friendly host with great breakfast and a tea room thrown in.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
533 reviews
14.8 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
458 reviews
15.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rashleigh Arms
Rashleigh Arms
#15 of 97 in St Austell
318 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chain Locker
Chain Locker
#36 of 82 in Falmouth
10 reviews
5.5 mi away
Havener's
Havener's
#8 of 25 in Fowey
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'Gallants Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'Gallants Guest House

Address: 6 Charlestown Road | Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $98 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
T'Gallants Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing