We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T'Gallants Guest House
Ranked #40 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay and can recommend T'Gallants. Our bed was large and comfortable, the breakfasts were excellent. The accommodation was clean and well looked after. Only the size of the bathroom failed to meet our expectations - perhaps in other rooms they are bigger. Our hosts were welcoming and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarpa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 73 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had thought that by late September it would be easy to get accomodation in or around the Lost Gardens of Heligan, and also Eden. Big error of judgement. Moving out from st. Austel centre and trying every B&B en route we were finally directed to the village of Charlestown. Then, by now around 9.30 p.m. we found deliverance in T'Gallants. Ah the warm welcome as we took the last room in the house. The comfort of our well equipt double room, a decent size bed. Tea coffee as usual but the promise of fresh milk if we would prefer. Enough space for comfort, An elegant eldery building with a great presence. More than adequate breakfasts on the two mornings we stayed. A good choice of foods of good quality. All with the added benefit of a host who genuinly helped us throughout - good recomendations etc.

Room Tip: No idea, we were on the second floor and slept peacefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_S1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We did a beautiful three-day walking holiday and TGallants was our B & B after our first day of walking. The owners were very welcoming--they had taken our bags up to our room already, which was so appreciated. The room was perfectly fine; the two windows opened on to the harbour view and I found myself sitting there, watching the people stroll by. If you are staying in Charlestown, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lee3nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Had an amazing stay here - coming to St Austell for a wedding. Lots of the reviews commented on the small size of the beds - they appeared to be normal double bed size to me. Really cute rooms - sea view, lovely breakfast. Would highly recommend the Pier Restaurant on the seafront as well as Charlies coffee shop.

Room Tip: Room 7 was great - sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

For our annual pilgrimage to Cornwall for the Eden Sessions we decided to stay at
T' Gallants Guest House inj Charlestown, a stone's throw (and a bit more) from Eden.
T'Gallants is a property we had seen on many previous visits but never stayed.
Whilst not the cheapest accommodation in the area it is well worth the extra to stay in this nicely situated property. The room was comfortable with plenty of storage space. The shower room however was very compact and for a big bloke like me at 6"3" it was a little "tight"
Breakfast was excellent, taken in a small but pleasant dining room.
Overall this was a much better experience than our previous visits to St Austell's guest houses and as Charlestown has everything you need: A decent Pub, restaurants (Wreckers is good), a museum, tall ships, "Charlies", the excellent coffee shop, the seaside and an ice cream parlour. Why would you need to look further?

Room Tip: A lovely room at the front of the building but a small shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indicara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Brilliant views,friendly, spotless, great breakfast, great nearby restaurants especially Wreckers, everything you need for a great break, thank you, Carol & Pete

Room Tip: We had the four poster room definitely best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canalletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We had stayed in Charlestown for a week at a holiday cottage but decided we would like another night away. We knocked on the door of this guest house and asked if they had a room, luckily it was out of season so we managed to get one.
The rooms were clean and a good size, they had an en suite and the whole place looked like it had recently been redecorated.
Breakfast was very good, if not served a little early, and I felt it was very good value for money at £60 for a double room as another local hotel is over £100 for bed and breakfast.

Thank you for letting us stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
14.8 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
532 reviews
15.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rashleigh Arms
Rashleigh Arms
#15 of 97 in St Austell
317 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chain Locker
Chain Locker
#34 of 82 in Falmouth
10 reviews
0 mi away
Havener's
Havener's
#11 of 25 in Fowey
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'Gallants Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'Gallants Guest House

Address: 6 Charlestown Road | Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $97 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
T'Gallants Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing