We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Hotspot”

Watermargin Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 144 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Holiday Hotspot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Visited this restaurant a couple of times whilst on holiday in St Austell and it lived up to the reviews, pleasant surroundings, fairly good menu and good quality food. Staff were very attentive and the manageress was especially chatty after most of the other customers had departed.
Will definitely visit again if in the area. If your on holiday in the area and fancy a Chinese or a takeaway your not going to go far wrong here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    69
    26
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Private dining experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had dinner here this week with my family and we were the only people in the place! To be fair it was Halloween so a lot of people were otherwise engaged. So, private dining and very attentive service from the owner and the waitress.
The food was all really hot and tasty...we had mixed hors d'oeuvres to start and then a selection of beef, chicken and pork dishes with noodles and rice etc. Even managed apple fritters for dessert which were really good (hadn't had them for about 30 years and they were worth waiting for!).
The only thing that was noticeable since the place was empty (apart from us) was the room itself which is a bit boring...could do with some more interesting things to look at and give it more of an authentic vibe? Good value for money and as I mentioned, we couldn't have had more attentive service. Will be back next time we are visiting the family.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndianaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Probably the worse experience in a chinese restaurant. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I will keep it short as there is not much to say.

Food > pitifully small portion, unimaginative and expensive.

We spent almost £60 for a family of 3 without any alcoholic drinks and we came out still feeling hungry. Had to wait 10mins when ordered additional rice and there were only 2 other tables being served.

Helpful?
1 Thank JustinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly , clean , fresh & tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our second visit the first being in 2012 & both times the lady ( I assume is the owner ) has been lovely really friendly and spent lots of time giving us tips & recommendations of places to eat & visit whilst staying in Cornwall , the food was lovely and fresh with lots of flavour and staff are attentive, we went with our three children and had a wonderful evening . We will certainly be putting the watermargin on our places to visit again list .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Italymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Very tasty Chinese food in pleasant surroundings. Staff were very attentive and friendly with the children. Worth going to the eat all you like banquet on a Wednesday.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watermargin Chinese Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Watermargin Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing